We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Spencer Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Altantis for 6 nights. We reached the hotel about 10.30am and the room was ready, we were grateful for that. We stayed on the 14th floor and we can see a partial view of Flagstaff garden from our room. The room was clean and comfortable, housekeeping was done everyday. The location is good, it is just opposite the Southern Cross station. Once you are at the airport, just take the Skybus to Southern Cross station and walk to Altanis. The hotel is close to a tram stop with the free city tram. If you want, you can walk through Flagstaff garden to reach Queen Victoria market, it takes about 10minutes.

Room Tip: request fro high floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    497
    241
    83
    47
See reviews for
101
453
175
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The owner was very nice and helpful. Great security with a safe in your room. Walking distance to everything close to Etihad stadium and late 12pm checkout. Clean and staff are very polite. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We felt we were nothing but an irritation to all the staff, from the moment we arrived until the day we checked out 5 days later.

We arrived close to midnight, straight from the airport and >20hrs travel. The man (boy) at the desk cut my greeting short by shouting "passports" at us. He was surly and unhelpful. We enjoyed a similar experience at the hotel reception on every occasion.
The room was poorly lit and had too few electricity sockets. It was acceptably clean.

The exception to our bad experience was Jarrod, who came to fix a tap - friendly, helpful & very pleasant. His colleagues could learn from him.

Overall, I would suggest avoiding this hotel. There are many other choices nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having stayed three times now, I can say that Atlantis is consistently good. We stay in a family room which has 2 bedrooms and find it to be well maintained and housekeeping is good.
Conveniently located in Spencer Street, opposite Southern Cross station and near the tram routes it is easy to get to anywhere in the CBD. Across the road there is a Coles, the Spencer Street DFO and next door a handy restaurant, Il Sole (separate review), all of which makes for a trouble free stay.
Parking is available which is a plus in the city.
All rooms are fairly quiet and insulated against what goes on around about.
Staff are helpful and efficient. 24 hour front desk is a plus.
Wer'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leongatha, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is a short walk from Southern Cross station, with tram stop within half a block. I stayed in a Grandview room with fantastic views over Docklands - although the dirty window made photography difficult. These rooms are on levels 9-18 and very quiet, comfortable and quite spacious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Location for our stay was great and hotel room was good but the front desk staff really need a good lesson in customer service!!! I was extremely disappointed as the staff were very unhelpful and rude. Unfortunately due to the staff at check in I wont be recommending this hotel to anyone and really has left a bad first impression on me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Over priced and over here in Melbourne! The Best Western Atlantis Hotel is a typical example of basic, poorly-designed hotels in China! What is appropriate in PRC falls short in Oz, but when it is the only room available - grab it!
Mercifully the reception staff were all pleasant, courteous young Aussies!
Adequate, clean, but mean when it comes to loo paper! There is no replacement roll unless you call reception BEFORE you need it! This is due to the fact frugal tourists apparently knock them off as fast as the rooms are serviced.
The room was freezing on a typical wet, winters night in 'bleak city'. It requires a trip to the ground floor to get printed instructions on how to get the aircon to warm up the room, because the process is too complicated to.convey verbally.
At $201 a night a starkly furnished room, without even a single drinking glass, in this 3.5 star hotel is expensive. It suits Asian tourists, because they get it at cheap package tour rates, (plus a bonus loo roll) and there is a nice rice warmer provided to enable them to enjoy takeaway in the room.
Another PRC touch was the intimidating, strong chain and big padlock securing the doors to the breakfast room! Very, very unusual for a Best Western!

Room Tip: Book a quiet room. Mine had a view over rooftops, but sleep quality was great! ASK ask for a spare l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel

Address: 300 Spencer Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Atlantis Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers into a comfortable atmosphere where you'll feel right at home. Located on Spencer Street and right opposite Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium and easy walking distance to all the marvelous Melbourne has to offer. Connect with comfort in one of our 232 guest rooms, 160 of which were only opened in August 2009 whilst the others have just undergone a complete refurbishment. These contemporary rooms all contain sleek furnishings, flat-panel 32 Inch LCD TVs, a comfortable bed, a generous working desk and some with City or Docklands views. Whether you're in Melbourne on official business or as a citizen of leisure, the Atlantis Hotel is your connection to the heart of the city.Bringing your car? The Atlantis Hotel has car parking available on-site for a nominal charge of $15 per night. Want to keep fit and active whilst at the hotel? Then why not head down to the heated pool for a few laps, jump into the gym for a workout on our LifeFitness® equipment or just relax in the sauna? However should you prefer to relax whilst at the hotel then why not speak to one of our friendly reception staff for some great tips on where to eat or drink in town. We can also arrange tours and offer advice on what to do and see whilst you are in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.