We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Spencer Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #84 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location, it suited what we wanted and spent 3 nights here. The free tram round the city is just round the corner, from there it is a short ride to the city centre, market, Harbour town, DFO and the Crown casino. The sky bus is across the road and just down. There is a big supermarket opposite and Spencer st station is only a short walk.
We had a room on the 14th floor with a view across to the stadium and Docklands. The view is slowly diminishing because of new big buildings going up unfortunately, but that's progress. The room was clean and not a bad size. I must admit after reading other reviews I was expecting something small and not so well kept. It was certainly big enough for me and my daughter and all our shopping!!!!
The bathroom was fine not huge but I guess if your build like an elephant you might find it a bit small. I liked that there were bathroom scales in there, we were able to check the weight of our cases before we left.
The room was quiet no noise from inside or outside. The lifts are in the middle so no rooms are against them they are quick so we didn't have to wait for long.
The pool, sauna and gym area was nice and clean.
We had breakfast with our room. This was cereal, toast and there was scrambled eggs and beans. You could have as much as you wanted. The breakfast room was clean and the food was freshly topped up.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, check in and out was very quick and we were able to get into our room early which we really appreciated, all in all a very pleasant stay. Would stay again and recommend it if you are looking for a nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    456
    206
    76
    44
See reviews for
88
429
158
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Good sized room and bathroom.... views towards Etihad Stadium and a very short walk to Southern Cross station as well as reasonably priced. Tram runs from out the front, staff were friendly and capable. What more could you want?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great: Check in, cleanliness & breakfast
Excellent : value & Rooms
Superb: Location & welcoming service
NOTE; l enjoy staying at different locations in melb and so am sometimes disappointed at unrealistic hotel websites etc. This is so NOT the case with the atlantis. Very very nice indeed... Look forward to staying again and will try the suite (if standard room is anything to go by then it will be fab) Booked online...Got checked in early(was willing to just drop off bags)....Gave visa direct debit card as inprint.. and was pleasantly informed that no monies would be taken unless l incur costs personally. NICE. More money for shopping. To the manager and staff. "WELL DONE" Traveller Tip ..Book online for free bfast!

Room Tip: Go high to enjoy views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having stayed here a few times its become my favorite. Beds & pillows very comfy, train bus & tram stops at the front door, personal friendly efficient staff, great view of the Docklands (if you ask for it) Breakfast is the bargain of the century but would be happy to pay a bit more to have some variety, however its fabulous for the price you pay. Conference facilities great too. :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was really surprised at the quality of the service and rooms for the price we paid. On the first morning the shower was only lukewarm so I let the staff know; by the afternoon it had been fixed. Very convenient for the airport bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea Gardens, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The staff were very friendly and the hotel room was clean. Loved the location in regards to transport, was on main tram lines to all parts of the city, so very easy to get around.

Overall a good experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is out of the busiest part of the city but trams are a minutes walk away. Great if you want somewhere a little quieter. Room was clean, but for a weeks stay they could have vacuumed and changed the sheets at least once. Staff were terrific though and very helpful. Easy walk to Docklands, Queen Vic Markets etc. 5 minute tram ride to the centre of everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel

Address: 300 Spencer Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Atlantis Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers into a comfortable atmosphere where you'll feel right at home. Located on Spencer Street and right opposite Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium and easy walking distance to all the marvelous Melbourne has to offer. Connect with comfort in one of our 232 guest rooms, 160 of which were only opened in August 2009 whilst the others have just undergone a complete refurbishment. These contemporary rooms all contain sleek furnishings, flat-panel 32 Inch LCD TVs, a comfortable bed, a generous working desk and some with City or Docklands views. Whether you're in Melbourne on official business or as a citizen of leisure, the Atlantis Hotel is your connection to the heart of the city.Bringing your car? The Atlantis Hotel has car parking available on-site for a nominal charge of $15 per night. Want to keep fit and active whilst at the hotel? Then why not head down to the heated pool for a few laps, jump into the gym for a workout on our LifeFitness® equipment or just relax in the sauna? However should you prefer to relax whilst at the hotel then why not speak to one of our friendly reception staff for some great tips on where to eat or drink in town. We can also arrange tours and offer advice on what to do and see whilst you are in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.