We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location if going to event at Etihad.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Spencer Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #91 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Ideal location if going to event at Etihad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We travelled by train to Melbourne to attend a concert at Etihad Stadium. The Atlantis hotel was located perfectly for this trip. It's across the road from Southern Cross train station and a 5-10 minute walk to Etihad.
Check in was efficient and staff were courteous. This is a four star hotel, so you shouldn't expect some luxuries like a mini-bar, room service etc.
We had a room without a view, and that is no exaggeration, our room looked out onto a brick wall, you couldn't even tell if the sun was shining or not! The size of the room was decent, it comfortably fitted a Queen size bed and a small sofa. The bathroom is very small and the shower looked like it could do with a good clean. The bathroom is poorly designed with no towel rails and only one hook at the back of the door. I also found it odd that there were no facewashers provided.
We had a good night's sleep, the bed was comfortable and it was very quiet. Due to a concert at Etihad the hotel seemed to be full, but when you were in your room you wouldn't know that there was anyone else around, no noise seemed to travel.
If I was coming back to Melbourne for an event at Etihad Stadium, I would definitely consider coming back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    558
    271
    92
    54
See reviews for
118
515
189
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, SA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We are currently here while I write this review. This is not our first time and choose to come back due to location - right across from the sky bus terminal, short stroll to the Queen Victoria Markets and the free city circle tram stops on the corner! Fantastic. We went to a concert last night at Etihad Stadium which was a easy five minute walk away.

The room is clean, relatively large and furnished tastefully.

I have never used the breakfast package here so cannot comment. They don't push it so I'm not too sure they do it?

Unfortunately, on the other side of Spencer St, there is loud construction which started at just before seven this morning. Such a shame. The noise is more demolition at the moment. So if you're looking at a weekday stay in Melbourne and like to sleep past 7, good luck here!

It's not the fault of Atlantis but should certainly be considered when choosing accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I arrived at 11.30am, too early for the 2pm check-in. Rather than just leave our baggage, the friendly Reception staff allowed us to check-in straight away. Our room was neat and comfortable but there was a construction going on across the road. When we brought this to the attention the Reception, we were instantly moved to another comparatively comfortable and neatly presented room. The Reception also gave us useful advice about the city, where to shop, dine out and what to see around CBD.

The Breakfast Room was well attended, & staff are just as friendly! The food was what you paid for, just enough healthy food. As we had a wedding to attend to at the 12.30 pm at Park Hyatt Hotel, the Reception initiated extending our stay to 11.30 a.m., giving us enough time to prepare and stay a bit in the comfort of our room. They organised our taxi cab and gave us a timely, friendly reminder when before it's arrival.

I highly recommend Best Western Atlantis Hotel. The staff are friendly, and service is tailored to customers' needs. I believe if a customer is respectful and appreciative of staff's effort, this positivity generates positive outcome. Communicate well, and you get wonderful service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

But really, the room was a steal, we were there only for one night - it did not matter. Comfy bed, well-equipped bathroom, friendly service, and they were very gracious to look after our bags even days before we arrived.
Good central location to Southern Cross train station and Airport Bus, which was the main reason for staying as we were flying home after several months down under.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel is near Etihad Stadium, Southern Cross Station, airport bus terminal and close to the free shuttle and free tram services and an easy stroll to the city.
Rates were reasonable for the room, with a Queen sized bed but definitely not a 4 star.
Bathroom was a good size, shower only, supplies basic shampoo and conditioner.
Room clean and comfortable with a small fridge in room.
Breakfast over priced for what you can around the area.
No issues with staff, friendly, courteous and helpful.
Would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorrento
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Photo on the web site shows a couch in the family room, I can assure you there isn't one, it wouldn't fit!
Very small rooms, so small in fact the main bedroom door couldn't shut, it hits the suitcase rack!
Couldn't get the TV to work either.

Falsely advertised.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here for the Melbourne Cup (as it is right next to Southern Cross station). It’s a great location for everything in the CBD. Close to the trams and trains so it’s perfect for visiting Melbourne - and great for shopping too! The room was standard really, but had everything you needed. It was clean and tidy and I had no issues with the service. The only moan I’ll do... is that I had breakfast the morning of Cup Day, but wish I hadn’t bothered. They only seemed to have questionable scrambled eggs, beans and white bread for toast in the hot section! It was included in the room price so I didn’t complain – and went for a lovely breakfast the following day elsewhere anyway. Overall, the room was nice, the price was reasonable and the location was great.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the "upgrade to a room with a view"! I paid an extra $30 and got a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel

Address: 300 Spencer Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Atlantis Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers into a comfortable atmosphere where you'll feel right at home. Located on Spencer Street and right opposite Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium and easy walking distance to all the marvelous Melbourne has to offer. Connect with comfort in one of our 232 guest rooms, 160 of which were only opened in August 2009 whilst the others have just undergone a complete refurbishment. These contemporary rooms all contain sleek furnishings, flat-panel 32 Inch LCD TVs, a comfortable bed, a generous working desk and some with City or Docklands views. Whether you're in Melbourne on official business or as a citizen of leisure, the Atlantis Hotel is your connection to the heart of the city.Bringing your car? The Atlantis Hotel has car parking available on-site for a nominal charge of $15 per night. Want to keep fit and active whilst at the hotel? Then why not head down to the heated pool for a few laps, jump into the gym for a workout on our LifeFitness® equipment or just relax in the sauna? However should you prefer to relax whilst at the hotel then why not speak to one of our friendly reception staff for some great tips on where to eat or drink in town. We can also arrange tours and offer advice on what to do and see whilst you are in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.