We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Concierige was FABULOUS, Hotel only fair..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive $100 credit
Ranked #11 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sanbornville, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great location, Concierige was FABULOUS, Hotel only fair..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Terrific location -- convenient to shopping, free bus and circle trolley. Concierge staff was very helpful and informative. Provided comprehensive suggestions, recommendations and even maps for touring both around Melbourne and beyond. I felt like we were talking to a travel agent! He even told us how to get tickets to the Australian Open!

Hotel itself was nothing special. We stayed only one night using Marriott points. The front desk staff was rather snobby and aloof. Our room was on the same floor as the pool and the entire floor smelled like chlorine! The room itself was fine with a cute little balcony.

- Fitness center was terrible. 1 of the three machines did not work. The TV was stuck on some sports channel with no ability to change (tho I was the only one there).
- Parking was OUTRAGEOUS -- $35 for one night, Around the corner, parking was $10.
- Internet was NOT free, but we found that is common in Australia.
- A local phone call cost $1.25? $1.50? Whatever -- but charging for local calls?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    250
    66
    24
    10
See reviews for
154
224
60
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Got a newly refurbished room which was excellent. Plenty of room, large bed and lounge area. We had requested a cot for our toddler which came promptly.
Friendly staff. Apparently the pool was pretty cold although there is a hot tub. Only complaint is that the bathroom is a little bit shabby (but barely) given the sleekness of the rest of the room. We were also bothered by some banging and drilling during the day but by that point we had been woken up and couldn't be bothered to complain. Check in advance if they are doing any repair/refurbishments before you stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

My partner and I were looking for a 5 star hotel in a handy location in the Melbourne CBD. I read the previous reviews on this site and decided (based on the package offered on another site) that the Marriott was the best choice.
The bed was amazing to sleep on and I slept really well. The service attentive and friendly with no attitude (very refreshing) and the room a good size with everything you need. Whilst the Marriott Melbourne is not as 5 star as some of the other hotels around that area, it was a very enjoyable stay. My only negative was the price of the room service compared with the size of the meal but I guess that is the same with all hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed here for the Australian Open Tennis Tournament. The hotel has a million dollar location for what we needed. It is close to the Exhibition Hall and Garden, Melbourne Meseum. Within walking distance to many great restaurants and shopping. Just a couple of blocks away from China Town, which has many great and cheap places. Rather stay here then the busy old town area. Much quieter and less crowds.

It is close to the free City Circle Tram that runs to many tourist attractions. If walking is no problem, then pretty much anywhere downtown Melbourne is close. We even walked to the Rod Laver Arena for the tennis tournaments. We also walked to the Federation Square and Yarra River walk.

The staff is very attentive. On the 5th night we got a complimentary bottle of syrah, management had to loop up what we had at the Element Bar, because it was exactly that. Very good wine. Last night prior to our departure, management also sent a beautiful fruit platter. We got help from the Concierge just about everyday for day tours, golf tee time, and recommendations to restaurants.

Excellent hotel!! It is under renovation while we were there, we got one of the older rooms, but still in good shape.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

For whatever reason this hotel is rated in the mid range (#79 as of this date) in Melbourne. This hotel is hugely under-rated. A decent value, it has a great staff, wonderful and classy rooms, and a fantastic restaurant. Maybe they have fixed things up or I got lucky, but this is a top 20 pick in Melbourne for sure.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

This is a typical big city Marriott. The lobby was nothing special. Our room with double beds was average sized, with somewhat sparse modern furnishings and a pretty basic bathroom. The indoor pool was supposed to be heated but was quite cold. The best attribute of this hotel is its location. We found it to be within walking distance of many of the attractions we wanted to visit, including Federation Square, Victoria Market and the shopping district, as well as Chinatown and Little Italy. The hotel is also close to public transportation, including the free City Tourist Shuttle and City Circle Tram. Since we spent most of our time out seeing the sights, the Melbourne Marriott was a perfectly fine base from which to coordinate our visit to Melbourne, even if it is pretty average.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

The hotel is strategically located. near to Chinatown. Near to tram station too. Many eating places in Chinatown are within walking distance to the hotel. Room recently renovated. Very new and modern. Cant ask for more. We paid about Aud200 a night. Wifi unfortunately isnt free.

Indonesia

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.