We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, although not the most updated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #16 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, although not the most updated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband had a business trip, so I tagged along. The hotel is not updated as far as furnishings, carpet, etc, and it hasn't got marble staircases, but it has many plusses that will make it our first choice on a return trip. We were greeted at reception with champagne or water with grapefruit. Bellhops & concierge were very attentive. Turndown service included closing the drapes & chocolates on the pillows. Our room was upgraded to a suite, so we had a living room & a Jacuzzi large enough for 4 (no, we didn't invite his associates in!). We were on the 5th floor & did not hear any street noise or neighbors. To compare - we switched to the cheaper Swanston Mercure at the end of the business trip, and it was on a busy street with trams that ring their bells constantly & noisy people whom we heard from the 12th floor (and internet was more expensive).
Marriott's internet was $20/day, which is about par for Oz. We ended up getting it free because our group couldn't get connected to their company vpn. I had very little trouble with just surfing. I did have to reboot a few times when I lost the connection.
Executive club was nice, but it's the first one I've been to, so can't compare. 1 computer for free internet, TV, coffee, tea & fruit all day. Continental breakfast was very basic. Decent snacks & plenty of booze at happy hour.
Fitness center was acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    337
    81
    27
    11
See reviews for
220
300
67
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

this is the first time I have stayed at this hotel and was greatly disappointed - first the check in staff were rude and unhelpful... Here are the good and bad points - bad first

1. Room was filthy with stained carpets and a bad odour
2. Road noise was terrible - I was on 4 and could hear cars all night
3. TV is from 1985
4. Stained couch and coffee table in the room
5. crazy expensive but poor room service $30 for a 6" pizza !!!!!
6. Expensive Laundry service
7. Cleaning staff do not respect the "Do not disturb sign" and woke me twice
8. boring and unimaginative lobby area
9. Boring and uninteresting menu at the restaurant
10. Air conditioning controls which are neither logical or sensible

I could probably think of more but what the hey - pick somewhere else - I won't stay here again

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

I stayed here in January with my two children aged 7 and 8 years. The hotel is in a great location that allows you to walk to most things or even jump on the free city tram.
Our room was spacious but a little dated. The hotel is in need of a refurbishment.
The staff were very good and helpful especially at the breakfast service.
I would stay here again and recomend it my friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

good:
convenient - city centre
quiet (but see below)

bad:
pool is indoor (but that's the Melbourne weather)
no outside space
top floor air con noise meant we had to change room (but they were most helpful)

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

On arrival we were informed that our booking for 2 doubles that had been made and fully paid for 3 months earlier was impossible to fill as they had no more double rooms left. On my original booking i had requested a 2 x double bed room and followed this up a month later by email and confirmation was made that yes we had a 2 x double room booked
**Copied from email from Mariott -.Thank you for contacting Marriott. We appreciate the opportunity to assist you.

Our records indicate that two double beds were guaranteed for your stay, at the time of booking the reservation.**

The original verbal solution was to be told 'Well try to get something else', nice New years eve in the city, 40+ degrees not the answer one likes to hear.
i will say they did end up sorting out 2 'couch' mattress to be placed on the floor and a offer of free breakfast and we were happy and determined to make the best of it, our room was near the pool area and i did cringe when i saw the location. Our room was nice, a queen and 1 single mattress on the floor, on calling reception they confirmed yes they were bringing another in
A cooling dip in the pool and we headed into town.
That night was possibly the worst sleep i have ever experienced, doors slamming and with the pool open all hours (Nice if you want a late night swim) not so nice for people in rooms near the pool as for reason the door slams each time its opened.
The pipes squeaked and made noises the entire night.
and we woke to a bill for breakfast and parking another call to reception and we were advised that was put under our door in error.
the breakfast was beautiful, very nice spread and good variety of choice.

Our stay was disappointing as even though we got a reasonable price over the internet for New Years Eve it was still very overpriced for what in the end was not what we booked.

having said all that i did find the desk staff pleasant and after the original verbal solution very helpful. On checkout they also waived the parking fee. that was nice but the whole experience was a downer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

It's in a good location - centrally located and close to everything. I walked everywhere. And only took a cab to the harbor area. The staff were really friendly. I probably wouldn't go if it weren't for business. Hotel, in general, very Marriott-generic.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coogee, NSW
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

We had a really perfecr stay in this hotel, a rare experience but true. After an awful flight with the new cheap airline we felt hot and tired, upon arrival we were given a glass of champagne at check in and the staff were just so lovely. I needed them to do something for me and it was not any trouble for them at all. The rooms are that heavy American style, but spacious with very very comfortable beds, which makes such a difference. The bathrooms and wadrobe areas are spacious, and all as you would wish. It in a great location, walking distance to great bars, and restaurants, Chinatown and the exhibition centre and museum (where we went to an exhibition during our stay). We would stay here again, as we haven't found a better hotel on our various stays in Melb.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,424 reviews
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.