We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #12 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I am a frequent user of hotels for business (but don't write nearly enough reviews!) so I know that sometimes the biggest difference between hotels is not the strength of the shower or the décor, but the instances of outstanding service. We stayed at the Melbourne Marriott using Marriott Rewards points, and at check-in gave the car to the concierge for parking. Lyda, who checked us in, noted that the parking would cost $40 but that if we took a 1-bedroom suite upgrade, that would cost $60 but included the parking. Daniel, who brought our bags up was courteous, chatty and interested. We told him we had to attend a business dinner when we would probably rather just stay in house. Later when we returned to the room from the dinner, Daniel had left a note saying he hoped we had enjoyed the dinner despite it being a business event, and left a bag of chocolates and a bottle of wine with his compliments for us to enjoy. Outstanding service, having remembered the conversation, realised our feelings and then responding without a prompt. We'll be back and we sincerely hope both Lyda and Daniel are there when we come back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Mullah62,
Great to read your review following your recent visit.
We do appreciate receiving feedback as it enables us to see ourselves as others see us. I was pleased that Lyda highlighted options for your stay and Daniel made sure you were made to feel welcome. Your appreciation will be passed on to them both.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    275
    71
    24
    10
See reviews for
166
245
65
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed at the Melbourne Marriott during mid June for 3 nights. The experience has been nothing short of spectacular, centrally located in Melbourne with easy access to cafés and parks. Hotel employees are professional and friendly. Can't wait to fly back during the Australian Open in January 2015. Cheers to services excellence and attention to details!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Yi Z,
We love receiving reviews like yours! Thank you so much for your posting.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
With warm regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed there in July. The rooms were dated and the whole hotel was somewhat dark. I really loved the hotel. Location is very good. Skipped the breakfast Buffett as it was pricey. The cafe had la carte items far lower price and was all tasty. Staff was friendly and courteous. The towels had a musty odor and were showing some wear. It must be a common thing with Marriott and musty towels, during my stay in Basel Switzerland courtyard also I had to deal with towel smell. Overall I liked this place.

Room Tip: Plenty of restaurants in and around within a short walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear FAAMA,
Many thanks for your posting following your visit last month with us at the Melbourne Marriott.
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay but most concerned that you found the towels a little "musty". This is not a problem I have been aware of and have highlighted it to our Housekeeper to ensure a closer check is carried out. Please accept our apologies on this occasion and thank you sincerely for bringing it to our attention.
Thank you also for mentioning that you found the hotel a little 'dark'. We do dim the ground floor lights at night for atmosphere - but perhaps a little too much - and I will look into it further.
We greatly value feedback and I am most appreciative of your comments.
With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed at the hotel with our 2 year old. The rooms were spacious and nicely done. The staff from the lobby to the restaurants were all very helpful and attentive and made our stay wonderful.

The location is perfect in the cbd and you can walk to most of the places. Loved it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear fly_to_heaven,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.
I'm sure that travelling with a 2 year old would have its challenges, so it was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to have you and the family back again soon.
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Never in my stays in different Hotel have I been offered a drink while waiting to check in. That glass of Champagne was the start of a great day and night. Our bags where brought up to our room immediately. Room was very nice and clean. Very impressed with the staff. They were very pleasant and so willing to assist. Location was excellent. We went to see Le Mis so it was the perfect place to stay. I mentioned at the desk when I checked in that we were going to the show and on our arrival back in our room after the show we found a complimantary bottle of red wine and chocolates. Highly recommend this hotel based on my first stay there. Will definitely go back again. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Enza C,
I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us ..... and hope you enjoyed the show too.
Thank you for mentioning that you were impressed with our staff. They really do their best to ensure our guests are well looked after.
I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
With warm regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley edge
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Spent 1st weekend of August here with our 3 children - emailed ahead to check we had interconnecting rooms and knew we'd be arriving late from the UK. Check in was efficient, good sized rooms with all amenities. Very comfy beds & good linen but exceptionally noisy air conditioning. even when turned off air con banged intermittently. should have said something at the time really. Had breakfast upstairs in exec lounge, which was self service and good. Staff very friendly and helpful in giving us directions and checking that everything was ok (especially Anthony). Pool area a bit small & water very cold. No option of relaxing with a drink or snack by the pool - jacuzzi area warmed us up though!! All in all an ok stay made better by staff's excellent friendliness!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear ddikelly,
We were delighted to have you and the family with us recently.
I am sorry you didn't mention your concern with the air conditioning at the time as we could either have fixed the problem, or moved you to other rooms. On any future visits please do not hesitate to mention any concerns and we will do our best to ensure you are as comfortable as possible.
Your appreciation will be passed on to our team, especially Anthony our Concierge. He has a wealth of knowledge and is always keen to assist.
I hope you and the children enjoyed you Melbourne visit.
With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Spent the weekend here and couldn't have asked for better service. Great staff, the hotel is clean and smells amazing! Perfect city location for the theatre and only a few blocks from the major shopping district. Will definitely return on our next visit to Melbourne!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Rebecca,
I was delighted to read your review following your visit here at the Melbourne Marriott at the weekend.
Come back again soon!
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.