We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #12 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Spent the weekend here and couldn't have asked for better service. Great staff, the hotel is clean and smells amazing! Perfect city location for the theatre and only a few blocks from the major shopping district. Will definitely return on our next visit to Melbourne!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Rebecca,
I was delighted to read your review following your visit here at the Melbourne Marriott at the weekend.
Come back again soon!
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    268
    70
    24
    10
See reviews for
163
238
64
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Central to the city centre with good cafes all around. The hotel is excellent for staff service and good size rooms. All facilities are first rate and we had a very happy stay at this hotel. We found the amenities in the rooms are everything you may want.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear toptreat,
I was so pleased to hear that you had a happy stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Australia ..... and the Melbourne Marriott ..... again.
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Perfect location. Clean, nicely furnished rooms. Streamlined check in & check out, a lovely glass of bubbly by way of welcome! Had a slight hiccup with the room booked (my own fault, although they did not point this out!) & this was dealt with quickly and very efficiently, leaving me very impressed with everyone concerned. The staff there are absolutely amazing. When it was time to leave, my car battery had died, resulting in a call to RACV. The Conceirge & all the other staff there bent over backwards to make us comfortable while waiting for the car issue to be resolved and am still stunned at just how amazing they were. Marriott is now my Hotel of choice for all future stays in Melbourne. A very sincere thank you to them all.

Room Tip: Ask if soap brand has changed - the new line being used was, in my opinion quite smelly & didnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Julie G,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay .... but what a disappointment on departure to find your car's battery was flat! Glad to hear that our team did all they could to assist and hope it didn't disrupt your day too much. I will pass on your appreciation to our Front Office team.
I'm delighted that we are now your 'hotel of choice' in Melbourne and look forward to welcoming you back.
Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have stayed here on a number of occasions but never written a review.
I held a meeting here and the staff were really helpful throughout.
The rooms are large and bright with clean, modern finishes.
The staff were exceedingly helpful on early check out and went out of their way to help me.
The hotel is in a great location, especially if you wish to visit the theatre district.
I would recommend the Melbourne Marriott for any trip to Melbourne, business or pleasure.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear bethoSydney,
Many thanks for writing a review following your recent visit. I was so pleased to hear that both your stay and your meeting here with us went well.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

A great location to explore all of the Melbourne CBD, close to restaurants and shops still only a 5 minute walk to china town. Good rooms and service with great cafe, bar and restaurants on site.

A short walk to Melbourne's theatre district and a great launching pad.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Paulleighton,
I must agree ........ our hotel is ideally located in Melbourne's CBD, especially if you are visiting for leisure.
Hope you enjoyed your city visit and managed to do all you had planned.
Regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Okay, first of all, I'm a Four Seasons kind of girl. But I had a bunch of Ritz-Carlton points and there was no Ritz or Four Seasons in Melbourne so I decided to stay here instead. I am very happy I did. From check-in to check-out, this was the best service I've ever had. And I've stayed at five star hotels all over the world. For me, that is what makes my trips. And I've never seen a hotel staff this friendly, not just courteous, but downright FRIENDLY and really invested in making sure you get the best directions, information, reservations...everything. I'd like to especially commend Richard, Fabrizio and Daniel for their exceptional concierge and executive lounge service. The service was truly amazing.

The hotel restaurant and bar are very luxurious and great as well.

I will say that the rooms themselves aren't going to be Four Seasons/Ritz comparable in terms of sheer luxury, but they are nice, large, and very clean and you will be treated like royalty, so for me it's worth it. Also, I didn't have a room with a city view, so those might be a little more "glam."

But regardless, I'll stay here whenever I'm in Sydney.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Shalf2014,
Fantastic to hear you enjoyed staying with us at the Melbourne Marriott recently.
Your appreciation will be passed on to our team - especially Richard, Fabrizio and Daniel. Our people do try very hard and it is a terrific boost for morale when their efforts are individually acknowledged.
Thanks so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in this part of the world.
Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Clean room, comfortable bed, best buffet breakfast with plenty of selection. Just a few minutes walk from China Town for all delicious food, Professional staff are welcoming and quick check in / out, recommended for business trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Sunny W,
Thank you for your review. It's so good to know that everything seemed to work so well for you.
Come back again.

Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.