We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy, spacious & great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BRISBANE
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy, spacious & great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Very clean room
Everything needed for a business trip
Good selection of tea and coffee
Good table to work from
Good lighting
Huge tv
Very clean bathroom
Nice pool and hot tub
No complaints at all
Great location - easy to walk everywhere and a taxi rank across the road
Only down side was the wifi was a bit slow in one of the meeting rooms as was in the centre of the hotel
Great food too

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear TravelfromBrisbane,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your recent experience with us.

All your comments have been taken on board and shared with the team.

We do look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    290
    74
    24
    10
See reviews for
179
262
66
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Melbourne Marriott in late February and had a wonderful experience! Celia at the Front Desk and Concierge Ben Foster were both extremely nice and helpful - they gave us great suggestions for things to do, transportation and restaurants. I felt they really took an interest in us and helped make our first trip to Melbourne memorable! Our room was spotless, quiet and comfortable and the breakfast and snacks in the Executive Lounge were a perfect start and end to our busy days of sightseeing! The hotel is in a great location - especially if you like jazz - we found two awesome little jazz clubs around the corner from the hotel! We loved the hotel and Melbourne!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Wandergirl55,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent trip to Melbourne.

I am so pleased to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel, and got to experience some of the jazz bars that surround the hotel!

The executive lounge is always a great way to finish the day whilst traveling with a few drinks and canapes in the afternoon.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the not too distant future!

Sincerely,

George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked two adjoining rooms at the Marriott for a three night stay at the beginning of March.
First impressions were very good as we pulled up in our taxi from the airport and the door was opened for us and our luggage promptly retrieved.
Tried to see if early check in was available, but given it was only 10am didn't expect the room to be ready/available. They said they would call us once the rooms were ready.
Mid afternoon we received a call to let us know one room was ready, so we made our way back from Vic Markets (within walking distance) to check in.
The second room was still not ready upon arrival which was disappointing given we had been up since 3am and were all very tired, so had to rest in one room (5 people). It was not too long after that the room was in fact ready, but given it was well after check in time, it was a bit poor. The welcome truffles in one of the rooms were a nice touch - though there were none for the second room, not sure if they meant for them to be shared amongst both rooms...??

Rooms were clean and tidy, and had ample storage and desk space. Nice large tv on the wall in the centre of the room and the room (8th floor) was nice and quiet. There was no view, other than out to other high rise buildings - but this didn't bother us.

We utilised the gym and pool/spa a couple of times. Gym is small, but adequate for a simple workout - elliptical x-trainers, a bike, 3x treadmills and a few weights and a swiss ball. The pool is indoor, and not large, but is enough to have a swim and a splash around. The spa was lovely. It was quiet every time were there and there was always plenty of towels available to use.

Had breakfast in the restaurant one morning... this was fine. Half of us ordered and other half had buffet. Selection was what you would expect - and prices accordingly. Kid were half price - but was still $17 for a 7 years old buffet breakfast. Perhaps they could look to charge per age... ??

Concierge was very efficient in hailing cabs or organising maxi taxis, never had to wait long for this... hint - don't travel in the city in peak hour - took us half an hour from the hotel to Southbank and cost over $30 - and only $10 for the return trip later in the evening - either go early or wait until a bit later - there are cars EVERYWHERE, and the lights duration is very short...!

Just a note re housekeeping... they do a great job - HOWEVER - it would be beneficial if they came round a bit earlier in the day... we had been out since 9am one morning, and returned just after 3pm to see they were just getting to our floor... the lovely lady did offer to do our rooms next, but we just wanted to rest, so instead just retrieved clean towels... I know they cannot predict guests' schedules as to when they will or will not be around - but I feel it worth a mention.

Our package did come with daily internet - though I feel this should be provided as standard being a 5* hotel.

Air con unit was quite noisy at times, and a bit clunky.... but this was only intermittently.

And just a point on the bed and pillows - very comfortable... best pillows I have had in a hotel ever!

I would recommend and stay again at this hotel due to its location, efficient concierge staff and cleanliness.

Room Tip: When you receive email notification prior to arrival opt for selecting a quiet room - our was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Sarah H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review following your recent experience with us here at Melbourne Marriott.

I am glad you had an overall very enjoyable stay. I am sure that others will enjoy reading your comments as did I. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to the hotel when you next visit Melbourne.

Regards,

George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Having travelled all day on planes, it was great to be greeted by the very friendly door staff. In fact, all staff I came across from the minute I walked through the front door of the builidng to the door of my gorgeous room were courteous and friendly with a genuine smile. Chief Concierge Anthony Szostak and Guest Service Agent Sonia Ahmed should be commended on the friendly staff and atmosphere. It truly was the best place to stay during a very long and tiring business trip.
My boss and I were greeted with a sparkling wine of the month. When we commented on how nice it was and wondered if the Hotel stocked it, we were presented with a bottle to each of our rooms!!!
The hotel is situated in the best spot. Close to a nice park, Trams, and food. The main shopping mall is a short walk and more importantly, I slept like a baby with no noise of the city.

Room Tip: The rooms in the middle of the Hotel, South facing, only had a view of the building behind it and of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Chezboe,
I was thrilled to read your comments and SO pleased to hear that you enjoyed your business stay. Our people do their best to ensure you are well looked after and made to feel "at home" and your appreciation will be passed on to our team, especially Anthony Szostak and Sonia Ahmed from Front Office. It's so special to be singled out and very rewarding for their efforts.
Thanks so much for taking the time to respond.
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We spent a week here in mid-February and had a wonderful time. Friendly staff, good concierge level service, clean rooms, comfortable beds, and a great location.

On Feb 14, the concierge brought up a free bottle of red wine and chocolates on a plate... Free. Awesome!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Oscar_Retriever,
Thank you for your posting.
We decided to extend Valentine's Day and declared the month of February as "Marriott Loves You". I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay (and the special treats!).
Kindest regards
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We came to this Hotel by chance because we left our previous one in the Dandenong due to it being unacceptable. When we arrived, there were cookies & made a pot of tea and just chilled. An excellent 5 star hotel with all the amenities one would expect, including the most incredible pillows which you can buy. Walking distance to everything in the CBD wouldn't hesitate to stay again, Restaurant downstairs was also very good apart from the window looking right onto the footpath but that gave us something else to look at i guess

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear mistyNewZealand,
Great to hear you both enjoyed your stay with us at the weekend. A lot of people love looking out the restaurant window at the passers-by.
Hope to see you back again soon.
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a 2 day meeting and the room size was great the food in the breaks was great however the temperature of the room could not be adjusted no matter how often we requested. The coktail party was adequate however all the foods appeared to be deep fried and unhealthy.

The gym is basic and not quite adequate, the pool is over chlorinated.

The room however was a pleasant surprise with everything I needed and it was clean. I would not stay there again unless I needed to attend a meeting there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Kruiza,
I was sorry to hear that you had problems with the temperature in your meeting room here at the Melbourne Marriott. Our system does not have an instant response when adjusted but we normally have few concerns. Your comments have been discussed with our Engineer in some length and better training of our Banquet team will be undertaken. Please accept our apologies for any discomfort on this occasion and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We offer a huge range of menu items for cocktail functions available for selection by the conference organizers (actually more fresh items than fried). It would therefore be best to mention your preference to the organizer.

I was pleased to hear that you were happy with your room and do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.