We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location and Helpful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #13 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ideal Location and Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Marriott is the perfect place to stay while in Melbourne. All staff were very helpful and friendly and I have to give a special mention to BRIAN who went out of his way to find information re places to see and where to catch the Tram for us as we hadnt been to Melbourne for about 10 years!...He couldnt have been more helpful....Thankyou once again Brian..... Buffet Breakfast was great, rooms quiet and very comfortable beds and overall a great experience. I wouldnt hesitate in recommending this Hotel as also within walking distance from the City Centre and Casino/Southbank....only 1 block from Her Majestys Theatre which suited us as we went to Melbounre to see Grease which was fantastic..! Pool and Spa was also excellent...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Shekaro,

Thank you very much for posting a review on tripadvisor following your recent experience with us!

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Melbourne again, I am sure a lot has changed since 10 years. I will pass on your kind words to the whole team and make special mention to Brian.

Brian has been at the hotel for nearly two years now and is a huge asset to our food and beverage team!

I do hope that we get to welcome you and your family back to Melbourne and hotel again soon.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    245
    67
    23
    9
See reviews for
147
221
57
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We knew we had chosen the right hotel for a short stay in Melbourne when we were greeted with a glass of champagne to welcome the New Year. The check-in and concierge staff were friendly, helpful and courteous, the room was spotless and spacious, the beds were comfortable, the shower was great, and the hotel was ideally located within easy walking distance of the stops for the free tram, the CBD, the museum, and the Lygon St restaurants. The only downside was my constant gripe about not having free WiFi in Aussie hotels (we spent 6 weeks travelling through the USA recently and not once did we pay for WiFi in a hotel) so had to break out the portable WiFi again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear DandKandBandC,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review following your recent stay with us here at the hotel. We truly appreciate all the feedback, as you are a valued guest.

It sounds like you had an amazing time with your family in the hotel and exploring all the attractions that surround us.

Please know that when you next visit us we do offer free wifi for Marriott Reward Members, and to be a member is also free!

Look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Marriott is in a great location, within easy walking distance to restaurants and the Bourke Street Mall. We found the staff to be very helpful, particularly the concierge - we had a few questions on a couple of occasions about driving distances and out-of-Melbourne places to visit and they were extremely helpful. They were there immediately to help us with our luggage, both on the way in and then when we left - their service was impeccable and we were very grateful for their help.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear BlueGoldCoast,

I am so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us during your time in Melbourne!

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our concierge team. They certainly are very informative about all the things to do in and around Melbourne.

Hope to see you and your family back at the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Best nights sleep ever, comfy bed, quiet rooms what more can you want, it was so relaxing. Ill be back as i stay in hotels a lot and love a quiet place. Nice pool and spa. Sofitel gas no pool.
Checkin was good. Lacked a little on friendliness but other than that was ok, checkout was great. No issues. Well done marriott.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Bjmacp,

Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent experience with us here at the Melbourne Marriott!

Glad to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us while visiting Melbourne.

I do hope that we see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott Melbourne for 3 nights using Marriott points. As many other reviewers have commented, the location is very good in the CBD. Our room was spacious, with a very comfortable king-sized bed and with excellent lighting throughout. My only complaint was that I was not recognized at check-in as a MC member nor offered any complementary services. I have earned a sizeable amount of MC points and I have used them in many world-wide Marriott locations and I guess that I am used to the special recognition. I only learned after the fact that I could have had free in-room WiFi, instead I trekked to the lobby everyday to use my IPad there. I take some responsibility because I should have asked, but......
Tip to other Marriott Melbourne travelers, the restaurant next door "Trunk" is an excellent place to have breakfast, and more reasonably priced as compared to breakfast at the hotel.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Melbourne Marriott and we would return to it again should our travels bring us back to Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear RK502,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we truly appreciate your feedback. I apologise that you were not informed of the free wi fi for Marriott Reward Members, this is not best practice. I have addressed this with the team to ensure this does not occur in the future.

I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next return to the hotel!

Please do get in contact with me directly when making your next booking.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide,
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We just completed a weekend stay at the Marriott.

We received a glass of sparkling wine, a cold beer and a kiddies activity pack on check-in. That was very welcoming!

We can hardly find fault at all. Two minor points are the lack of non-slip mats around the pool- our son fell on the tiles as the mats only extended to the pool's length, not width. And the shower temperature was a bit erratic. Plus points include the food (breakfast and dinner) and attentive concierge.

But we had a fantastic time, and the most outstanding feature of the this hotel was the staff: they were very efficient and friendly. Very competent and a credit to the management.

We have stayed in many international hotels, but this one is a stand-out!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear flo 136,

Thank you very much for such a flattering review!

It is always so pleasing to read these positive reviews, I am very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Melbourne Marriott.

We have taken your comments on board about the non-slip maps and we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future.

I do hope that we get to welcome you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed there for two nights having picked it as the Wotif.com mystery deal in the CBD and we loved it!
The staff were wonderful - chatty, interested and incredibly helpful. The room was spacious and well appointed but nothing too special. We were offered upgrades but declined as we were going to be out and about most of the time. That said we were very happy to see a proper desk in the room, something that others seem to overlook. The room featured a very large LCD TV with an impressive range of features that even included access to an up to date bill. While we did not use the Movies Channel the offerings appeared impresssive.
Despite the fact that we were right next to the lifts we didn't hear a thing and were never disturbed during our stay. What could be improved? Our Queen bed sagged on my wife's side so much so that she finished up sleeping on the floor which, in all fairness, she said was quite comfortable and she would have given the floor a good rating.
All in all highly commended however why, oh why, do hotels of this obvious quality not offer free wireless access??? When this is becomingly increasingly standard in B and Bs why not here?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear GerryEllen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your recent experience with us.

Glad to hear that you had a fantastic time in the hotel and Melbourne! The wifi is free in our hotel when you sign up for our rewards program which is also free so it is well worth doing next time you visit us.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and we do hope to see you at the Melbourne Marriott in the not too distant future!

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.