We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceline "win"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #15 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Priceline "win"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Named my own price hoping for another property in the area and honestly wasn't expecting much from this hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised... very friendly staff... glass of champs upon arrival (Christmas day)... if I had to offer any complaints, only thing that comes to mind is one of the bath towels seemed to be brand new and never washed...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear aquatraxf15x,

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay with us here at Melbourne Marriott.

I am glad to hear that you and your partner both enjoyed your stay and that we went above and beyond your expectations!

I do hope that we see you both back at the hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    246
    66
    23
    10
See reviews for
147
221
59
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our family (2 adults and 2 boys) stayed at the Marriott Hotel for a couple of nights to attend the Boxing Day test in Melbourne. We could not fault the hotel - the staff were very friendly, the hotel recently renovated and the rooms clean and well fitted out, and any minor issue quickly sorted out.

We ate at the hotel restaurant on Christmas Day evening - the Christmas menu was very reasonable - and also had breakfast in the hotel cafe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Staff hospitality, service and willingness to assist is very good and clear from the beginning. Some foyer renovations underway which seems to temporarily affect lift access. Rooms are ample size. The executive lounge is ok. Hotel location is good if your business is up and down Collins Street. The little things for me that would have made the difference is a clean iron (promptly replaced but not before I unknowingly marked my white business shirt) and the lack of bathroom basin plug to shave.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear ChrisW, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the iron and the missing basin plug; I understand how important this is and have shared your feedback with the team to ensure that this does not happen again. Please accept my sincerest apologies and do get in contact with me directly at the hotel on (03) 9660 1154 so we can discuss this further, and possibly see what we can do to make your stay more enjoyable during your next visit. Sincerely, Edward White.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I've stayed in a few other hotels downtown Melbourne over the years, but as a Marriott Platinum Elite member, I thought I'd try the Melbourne Marriott for my recent five days stay.

The staff were very efficient and friendly throughout but check-in, as a Platinum Elite member, could have been better - no explanation my room had been upgraded, no explanation of the Executive Lounge (just handed a photocopied letter!), and worst still, my key wasn't activated to allow me to enter the Lounge!

My room was very nice and clean, and a decent size with separate wardrobe area (I think the hotel calls this a walk in wardrobe but it isn't!) and good bathroom (which had a great walk-in shower). The wardrobe was a decent size but as in a number of other Marriott hotels I've stayed at recently, there were little or no drawers for storage.

My room was right next to the Executive Lounge, so wasn't that quiet... a lot of "corridor noise" outside (especially children running from the elevators to the Lounge), the cleaner(s) hoovering the Lounge at 4 or 5 am, plus all to crockery, food etc. being taken to the Lounge for breakfast in the morning. The Lounge was nice, but a bit small, with a good breakfast and other snacks throughout the day.

The hotel is in a great location and it is easy to walk to most tourist, shopping and restaurant areas downtown Melbourne.

I struggle to class the hotel as 5 star as it does not compare to the Langham or Park Hyatt, but it was fine for what I wanted and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Forthill81,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review outlining your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed the size and cleanliness of the hotel. With regards to your check in process this has been noted and will be followed up with the team, this is not best practice so I do apologize.

You are right in saying that we are in a great location, close to all the major theaters and shopping, and I am glad you got to experience these close by attractions.

I do hope that you consider staying with us next time you visit Melbourne.

See you soon.

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Yor, Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My daughter and I spent 3 nights at the Marriott a week ago and loved every minute of it. The staff were so polite and couldn't do enough to help us and make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Rooms very clean and quiet , didn't hear any street noise. I have a bad back so always concerned how beds will be- was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Bathroom quite modern and very clean. Hotel in great position to city centre - 5 minute walk to city mall and 3 minute to nearest train station We both absolutely loved our stay at the Marriott and if we ever need somewhere to stay again in Melbourne it will be the Marriott.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Size10,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed review following your recent experience with us here at the hotel.

I am so pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us.

I do hope we see you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have had a great couple of days at the Melbourne Marriott. Arriving early on our first morning from an international flight we were greeted with efficient concierge service and a friendly receptionist. Our room was ready so we could shower and then have a coffee in the Exec Lounge before going out to explore the city.

The room was very well appointed and had plenty of hanging but limited drawer space. There was a large safe for laptop, passports, etc. The bathroom was well fitted with a nice large shower but no bathtub – not a problem for us as we prefer showers but it is noted that a number of new and refurbished Marriotts seem to be preferring the “shower only” option.

Breakfast in the Exec Lounge had a wide range of fruits, breads and hot and cold items and excellent coffee and juices. In the evening there were snacks and a good range of spirits, wine and beers as well as soft drinks.

We eat both evenings in the Hotel Restaurant and found the food and service was excellent. They could have done more to publicise the specials and with some meats off the menu it was quite a limited choice – but more than sufficient to cover us for our two evenings. Given this is Australia and eating in-hotel the prices were fair.

Checkout as concierge services on departure were equally as efficient as arrival.

In all an excellent stay and will come back if we return to Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear yhi904,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your recent experience with us here at the Melbourne Marriott.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the front office service and all of our food and beverage outlets.

I do hope to see you at Melbourne Marriott again soon.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Very disappointed. Toaster provided but no knife to butter toast. Booked and paid extra for 4 people, but only 2 glasses & 3 towels & 2 bathrobes provided, you do the maths. Had to fill the kettle from the ensuite, no kitchen sink, no microwave. On leaving the valet driver parked our brand new car (only 6 days old, & still on the first tank of fuel) illegally in a No Standing area protruding into the lane of traffic over bicycle lane. Clearly outside their designated valet parking area. Where we found our BRAND NEW car scratched on the rear right side. The Hotel staff wouldn't take ANY responsibility leaving us to fit the bill for the vehicles damage. What was meant to be a great family weekend in Melb with my daughters seeing Taylor Swift in concert on Sat and the plan was to do Xmas shopping on Sunday as a family, which never eventuated as we were all too upset, so drove 2 hrs back home. I will NEVER stay or recommend the Marriott Hotel to anyone!!! PLEASE PLEASE CHECK YOUR VEHICLE BEFORE YOU LEAVE & HOPE & PRAY THEY TAKE OWNERSHIP WHEN THEY CAUSE YOUR VEHICLE TO BE DAMAGED.

Room Tip: Valet parking - Check your vehicle on leaving for any damage and don't expect the Marriott to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Chez D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay.

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience. I understand that it must have been frustrating not having enough amenities in the room upon your arrival, so I apologize for this. This has been addressed with the team.

With regards to your car, I believe we have spoken to you directly regarding this matter. We communicated to you that we have reviewed our CCTV footage and found no signs of us being liable for the car damage if you would like to discuss this any further please do not hesistate to get in contact with me directly at the hotel.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.