We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #12 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Detroit, Michigan, USA
1 review
“Great location and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel is located right in the Melbourne, Australia, downtown area. It is very convenient to go to many good restaurants, shops and entertainment within walking distance. Be aware that shops are usually closed before 7 pm. Room is fine - not too big not too small. Hotel service is great. Executive lounge is small but good enough for a quick breakfast and happy hours cocktail. The happy hours cocktail provides many good wines, food and dessert. The food can fill you up so that you most likely do not need your dinner anymore.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Stanley C,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review following your recent stay with us here at the Melbourne Marriott Hotel.

It sounds like you got to experience our executive lounge during your stay with us, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our happy cocktail that we do every evening!

I do hope you consider staying with us again when you are next visiting Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    267
    70
    24
    10
See reviews for
163
237
64
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights for bussiness trip,,first time I enter the room I was amazed that the room is very big..The staff was very helpfull and friendly,,once I asked about the direction of a shopping center and tourism attraction nearby,,they explained to us clearly...so we didn't find any trouble to found it..
Maybe if there was a sugesstion from me,is the breakfast menu..I think the breakfast menu was less varied..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear BayoeJabor,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

It is very pleasing to hear that you were "amazed" by our rooms! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

We have taken on your feedback about the breakfast.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were sent to The Marriott at the last minute when the accommodation we had previously arranged double booked us. We experienced helpful service, bubbles on arrival, a spacious room, comfortable bed, soft sheets, polite staff, and great coffee in their cafe. The location is fantastic as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Kristin S,

Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review about your recent stay with us here at Melbourne Marriott!

I am very glad that both you and your partner enjoyed your stay here. You are right when in saying we have a fantastic location we certainly are very lucky to be right in the heart of the city!

I hope you choose to stay with us here at Melbourne Marriott

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I had a wonderful experience here. The concierge, Yasin, helped me find a restaurant and helped me find ways to get around the city. He suggested a wonderful japanese restaurant called Sake and it was great! I would suggest this hotel any friends and family.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor and it had a lovely little balcony. Great for a coffee in the morning with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Rachel B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a post about your recent visit to the Melbourne Marriott.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and got to expereince some of the excellent restaurants we have in Melbourne!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff from check in to daily meetings with the concierge were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located close to Tram stops, within walking distance to Victoria Market, China Town, Melbourne Museum and the Old Melbourne Gaol (jail).

Our room had a large flat panel television, sofa, chair and desk in addition to our king size bed.

I would highly recommend the Melbourne Marriott Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Karen F,

Wow such a fantastic review! Thank you very much Karen!

It is so pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our hotel from the moment you checked in. It sounds like you got to stay in one of our King Bedroom Suites they certainly are very spacious, and perfect for a relaxing getaway.

I do hope we get to welcome you and your partner back to the hotel in the future!

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Well located, wonderful amenities, beautifully decorated rooms and as a Marriott Rewards member, they really know how to make you feel welcome and at home!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Nicolke,

Wow such a positive reivew! Thank you for taking the time to post this on tripadvisor.

It is pleasing to hear that we made you feel welcome and at home, this is what we aim to do.

Look forward to seeing you when you next visit Melbourne!

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have recently spent 2 weeks at the Marriott, I was pleasantly surprised on how helpful the staff are, This being my first time Australia and didn't know anything that was going on and felt quite intimidated by the huge city. However, By the first couple of days, I was navigating around and knew what was happening, I would like to say a special thank you to Brian that worked at the hotel at Breakfast for given me a great selection of things i can do in the evening. A proper Tour Guide.. I would also like to say thank you to Lucy in the bar for ideal chit chat... I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear GCrean,

Thank you so much for your very flattering review following your recent visit to Melbourne Marriott!

I am glad that our staff could help you out and make you feel comoftable around the city during your first visit to Australia, I do hope we made a good impression.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Brian and Lucy.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.