We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality and Attentive,Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1 Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“High Quality and Attentive,Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff from check in to daily meetings with the concierge were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located close to Tram stops, within walking distance to Victoria Market, China Town, Melbourne Museum and the Old Melbourne Gaol (jail).

Our room had a large flat panel television, sofa, chair and desk in addition to our king size bed.

I would highly recommend the Melbourne Marriott Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Karen F,

Wow such a fantastic review! Thank you very much Karen!

It is so pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our hotel from the moment you checked in. It sounds like you got to stay in one of our King Bedroom Suites they certainly are very spacious, and perfect for a relaxing getaway.

I do hope we get to welcome you and your partner back to the hotel in the future!

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    226
    65
    22
    7
See reviews for
134
197
55
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Well located, wonderful amenities, beautifully decorated rooms and as a Marriott Rewards member, they really know how to make you feel welcome and at home!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Nicolke,

Wow such a positive reivew! Thank you for taking the time to post this on tripadvisor.

It is pleasing to hear that we made you feel welcome and at home, this is what we aim to do.

Look forward to seeing you when you next visit Melbourne!

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have recently spent 2 weeks at the Marriott, I was pleasantly surprised on how helpful the staff are, This being my first time Australia and didn't know anything that was going on and felt quite intimidated by the huge city. However, By the first couple of days, I was navigating around and knew what was happening, I would like to say a special thank you to Brian that worked at the hotel at Breakfast for given me a great selection of things i can do in the evening. A proper Tour Guide.. I would also like to say thank you to Lucy in the bar for ideal chit chat... I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear GCrean,

Thank you so much for your very flattering review following your recent visit to Melbourne Marriott!

I am glad that our staff could help you out and make you feel comoftable around the city during your first visit to Australia, I do hope we made a good impression.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Brian and Lucy.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

First of all, hate to rate this a 3, but have to call it like I see it :-(. I stayed here on a business trip and was here for a week in October. Overall, this is a good hotel with a LOT of potential. Unfortunately, I don't think it was up to the Marriott standards.

Here is a list of things that need to be fixed: 1) Concierge desk: I asked for directions during my stay, and at least 4 times they were in error--either wrong address, correct address but restaurant not there (really unbelievable), or the location of where I wanted to go was a half block on the other side of where I was sent? Very confusing. Easily fixed with a set of "verified" list of recommendations. Most hotels have lists of recommendations. My favorite recommendation "oh, I know of a great place with fantastic food but I can't remember the name--it's near a place--do you know where that is?". Not something the new to the city traveler would expect!
2) Dry cleaning contractor not good: wrinkles in shirts, buttons broken, etc. I completely missed the buttons, but who checks their dry cleaning orders until you pull the clothes out ready to wear? Maybe this was my bad?
3) Room service consistently missed something: orange juice when ordered, but not delivered, no maple syrup with pancakes, etc. This isn't too difficult?
4) Sauna door would not close, it just won't stay shut allowing the hot air (the reason you're in there in the first place) to escape.
5) Restaurant orders wrong--really? I ordered a cappuccino with soy and received a soy decaf cappuccino. Of course they replaced it, but what a waste of time, effort, and resources. One of their signature dishes, like the salmon, was just not quite right (tasty).
6) Dated eclectic, almost modern, furniture in the room.
7) Roof leaked when it rained at the pool, so there was a lot of water all over the deck and the stairs to the deck, making this a safety hazard. The stairs did have non-slip tape on them, but they were still puddled wet because of the leaky roof.

The good:
1) Plenty of large towels at the pool!
2) Wonderful, friendly staff in all areas, including the concierge--they just couldn't get directions or orders right!
3) Executive club food was fine, same daily choices but basically a mini breakfast buffet downstairs. Wonderful staff in the Exec lounge!
4) Great, central location in the middle of the city. Close walking distance to China town, Little Italy, and lots of restaurants!
5) Housekeeping did a great job!

I really hate to give such a mediocre report, but all of these things can be fixed! Look (hope) for better reports along the way!

Room Tip: Ask for a city view, as the other side of the hotel is up against an apartment/condo complex that lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Usaflyer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review following your recent experience with us here at the hotel.

Your comments have all been taken on board and addressed with the team. It saddens me to hear that you did not have the best experience with us, and I would very much like to speak with you further about your stay.

Please do feel free to get in contact with me directly at the hotel. I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,

Harry Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for the Saturday night. Overall the hotel is average. The staff are brilliant though. The rooms are nice but a little dated and average by good hotel standards. The rooms are a little noisy by night with the windows on single insulated, noise from air conditioning and other doors closing. The beds are a bit small at queen size.
Probably wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Ben W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

Your comments have been noted and they will be discussed with the team.

Our hotel does have King beds available in our King Suites and we are more than happy to accommodate this during your next visit. If you would like to get in contact with me directly at the hotel we can discuss this further.

Sincerely,

Harry Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Melbourne Marriott is well run and provides friendly service in a very convenient location. It is smaller and more a ‘boutique’ hotel than a normal Marriott in the US and now with its refurbishment complete the rooms are to a good standard. With nearly 100 stays at this hotel over the years I cannot complain about the service and as a Marriott Rewards customer I often get upgraded particularly when the hotel is full. The Executive lounge provides good service and good quality food and most times early check in is available. The staff hasbeen well trained and usually remember me and my name at check in. If there is an issue it is the cost of valet parking which used to be free for Rewards members and because it is the only Marriott in Melbourne it can be difficult to get a booking. It is time Marriott looked to alternative properties in Australia such as Courtyard as competitors seem to be ahead of them in securing new properties.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Oldjack,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on one of your many stays here with us at Melbourne Marriott.

It is pleasing to hear that you continue to enjoy the service we provide, and have been a loyal customer of ours for a few years now.

With regards to the parking I would be happy to talk with you further about this. Whilst it did used to be free for Rewards Members that policy has changed. As a loyal guest I would like to see what we can do for you so please feel free to get in contact with me directly at the hotel and we can discuss further.

Sincerely,

Harry Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Tamborine, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Booked a suite at the marriott for the Melbourne races
The staff were friendly and efficient, but you do notice a difference in service compared to an Asian based Marriott e.g. The bottled water was not replaced when the room was serviced. A small thing but important for travelers.

The breakfast in the exec lounge could do with some more hot options.
The restaurant downs stairs was excellent, but this is Melbourne so it has to be.

The furniture has an Art Deco feel but a couch would have been useful for the group gathering.
Not doubt we drove the staff mad with calls for more ice.

Room Tip: The exec club is not value compared to clubs overseas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Gerardvanbalveren,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay.

It is pleasing to hear that you had an enjoyable time during your visit for the races. Your constructive feedback has been noted and this will be adressed.

I do hope you chose to stay with us again during your next visit to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott
Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.