We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #10 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Napier
1 review
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived very late at night with exhausted young children and the service from the staff was outstanding. We found this to be a great hotel in a central location. The room was beautiful and the service was exceptional - all for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Joanna M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay with us here at Melbourne Marriott.

It is pleasing to hear that our staff made your stay "outstanding"! It sounds like you and your family had a very enjoyable experience, I will be sure to pass on your compliments to all of the staff.

Look forward to welcoming you and your family back during your next visit to Melbourne!

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    259
    67
    24
    10
See reviews for
162
235
63
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nites and had a lovely time! Good location to walk to lots of restaurants, cafes, and shops. Staff was friendly, laid back, and helpful. Very nice Marriott club level!! Housekeeping was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sljism,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor about your recent expereince with us here at Melbourne Marriott.

Very glad to hear that you had a lovely time during your stay! We certainly are very fortunate to be just a short walk to some of Melbourne's best cafes and shops. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel!! Brilliant location and beautiful rooms. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and Champagne (lovely touch). Highly recommend to stay here. Espresso Bar next door also serves a good coffee :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Bernadette_CD,

Wow! Thank you ver much for taking the time to post a review.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay right from check in! I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our barista in the Espresso Bar.

I do hope we see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is on the edge of the hypercentre and easy distance for the park, the Chinese restaurant area and the market (free tram). The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There can be a bit of a queue in the morning around 9am, so it's a good idea to settle your bill the night before and keep away from the mini bar! There is one restaurant. It's not five star, but it's reliable. I love my take away a cappuccino in the morning. I look forward to it.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms off the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Dubaijouurnal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review detailing your recent stay with us here at Melbourne Marriott.

It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed all of the attractions around the hotel such as the markets, china town and the amazing park up the road!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay here for 3 nights. The staff were very friendly and especially helpful with getting me a room a little early, as I had just got off a 5am flight from overseas and was extremely tired. The staff here were also helpful with regards to where things were to see and also obtaining internet service.
Thanks again for a great time.

Room Tip: I had one of the rooms at the back of the hotel, as a view wasn't a concern. This I think was go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Robyn C,

I am delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us recently!

Our staff certainly do go above and beyond to make all of our guests feel sepcial.

I hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I checked in for one night and went to a concert. On the way to the room the concierge asked us about our evening and about an hour later a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates were brought to the room with a card!

The room was lovely and bed sooo comfy! The location is superb, so close to Chinatown and everything Melbourne cbd has to offer.

Valet parking is worth every penny!

Thanks Marriott :-) we had a beautiful time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Brakes80,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a glowing review following your recent stay with us!

It sounds like you and your partner had a great time in Melbourne, we certainly are very fortunate to be situated so close to the theatres. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our concierge team.

I do hope that you consider staying with us next time you visit Melbourne!

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I love this hotel, everything here is a pleasure because the staff are so friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is great, but the staff are awesome. No exceptions found yet and I've stayed here many times.

Rooms, etc are all what you expect from a Marriott, ie spacious, clean, including plenty of small luxuries. The location is fine. The staff are the real reason to be here though!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Kevimurp,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and post a photo of your recent expereince with us here at Melbourne Marriott!

It is very pleasing to here that as a repeat guest our staff continue to impress!

I do hope we get to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.