We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Gift” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #10 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Birthday Gift”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed 1 night with my daughter. Great Location, easy walking distance to theatre entertainment, China town and city centre. Large appointed rooms, very clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and polite, concierge were very friendly.
Only negative, which does not in any way impact the hotel standard is while checking in we were told our room was on the 5th floor and it was made to sound "special". Our view was a brick wall!
and also there was going to be a complimentry bottle of wine being sent to our room...It never arrived! Besides this, I do recommend this hotel and I myself will stay again. (Just wont believe what I'm told)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear elle2461,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us here at Melbourne Marriott.

I am glad you and daughter were able to enjoy all of the great theatres and shops we have close by. Sorry to hear that you had an issue with the wine for your room, this has been noted, and I will follow up with the reception staff.

Please feel free to get in contact with me directly when you are next thinking of visiting Melbourne.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    259
    66
    24
    10
See reviews for
162
234
63
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and friendly staff. Great location. Good standard. Nice rooms. We used the pool a bit since my five year old is crazy about swimming. Pool is fine, but they need changing rooms next to it. Bathrooms are good. The only thing was that the bed was a bit weird - way too soft for my liking. Would go again however. We ate in China town a few minutes from the hotel one night and at Trunk just next door the other. Trunk was great!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Jonashomaa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your rececent experience with us here at Melbourne Marriott.

I am so glad that you got to spend time and relax with your family and enjoy some of our facilities such as the pool.

Your comments about the changing room in the pool are and matress in the bedroom has been noted.

I do hope that we get to welcome you and your family back to the hotel when you are next visiting Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight for business. Large well appointed room, with plenty of power points and an iPhone Dock/charger. All the staff were very helpful and polite, particularly the concierges.
Only quibble is having to pay for WiFi and the prices of the room service meals.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Familydrive,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent experience with us.

It pleases me to hear that the room was very suitable for you whilst travelling for business, and that our staff and concierge team made you feel welcome.

With regards to our WiFi we do have a charge as most CBD hotels do, however it is free for Marriott Rewards Members and it is free to become a member, so I will follow up with our Front Office staff as we do aim to make our guests aware of this.

I do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moe, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Once again my wife and I stayed here and from the moment we pulled up in our car we where greeted by friendly staff who quickly assisted with luggage and escorted us to reception where we were given a lovely glass of champagne. with a quick check in completed we were on our way to our room. the room, like previous visits was clean and tidy and very bright with a large window that allowed plenty of sunshine in. like other times we were treated very well and I sincerely believe that this is a quality five star hotel and well worth staying at. it is very close and within easy walking distance to the theatre entertainment area of Melbourne.

Room Tip: worth staying at if you like good service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear David W,

WOW! Thank you so much for a very flattering review of your recent expereince with us.

It is always very pleasing to hear return guests positive feedback. I will be sure to share your story with the team.

I do hope to see you back at Melbourne Marriott again soon.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

It is difficult to point anything that was not perfect during our stay in this hotel. The service was very good. The location is great (walking distance from Chinatown and main streets of Melbourne CBD). The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was amazing and spotless. Everything was perfect. Great value hotel in Melbourne.
The free tram station just around the corner is another great feature. We had to walk just a few meters to get the tram for a free ride around Melbourne. I strongly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again during my next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear traveller2307,

I am delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us!

We certantly are very lucky to be right in the heart of the city and close to some fantastic shops and theates.

Thank you for your feedback.

I do hope we get to welcome you back to the Melbourne Marriott during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed in the King suite for 5 days.this is a fab hotel,not the first Marriott Hotel have stayed but the best so far.Arrived 6:45am in the morning and was able to check in.
Food:uhmmm delicious,recommend the Chef special warm salad.LOVE IT.enjoyed the breakfast and lunch buffet.
Special thanks to Valerie for the yummy chocolates after a long day of sightseeing and shopping,the concierge staff,house keeping for always turning down the bed every evening with chocolates as well. As a Reward member;Wi-fi was complimentary.
Because of you guys, I'll definitely visit Melbourne again. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Helen A,

Thank you so much for your absoulutely lovely review of your recent experinece with us at Melbourne Marriott.

I am very glad to hear that we are now your favourite Marriott! We certaintly do aim to please all of our guests.

I will be sure to pass on your flattering compliments to our chefs, and all the front office and housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel during your next holiday.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a great hotel, all the mod cons and amenities.
I stayed for a business meeting stopover and the room was clean, quiet and comfortable.
The hotel overall was lovely and nice and central to all Melbourne has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Youngcouple7879,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review and rate your recent experience with us. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the room and amenities that we offer whilst you were here on business.

I do hope we get to welcome you back to the Melbourne Marriott soon for business or a holiday!

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.