We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #12 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location.very informative concierge .stayed with my wife and two kids for a week. Definitely will be back when I'm in Melbourne . They even help to park our rental car and return it to the car rental company.

Room Tip: Don't take the club room. Not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear KSK24JAM,

Thank you very much for the review on your recent stay with us.

Our concierge team definetely do take great pride in knowing the latest happenings in Melbourne, I am glad they were able to make your stay with us memorable.

I do hope we get to welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    275
    71
    24
    10
See reviews for
166
245
65
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved this hotel. First, the service was outstanding. We were unilaterally upgraded to a suite because our booked room wasn't ready. Our room was fantastic. We had an enormous living room and a large separate bedroom. There were two bathrooms, which is such an added convenience for a family of four. The beds were very comfortable. Room service was great. The concierge service was excellent. They booked us theater and museum exhibit tickets. They also directed us to a nearby wash and fold laundry when I mentioned the high cost of the hotel laundry. They even sent someone to pick up our laundry for us when we were at the museum exhibit when the laundry was ready. Unbelievably nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear 1Karen1,

Thank you so much for your absolutely lovely review of your recent expereince at Melbourne Marriott in one of our King Suites.

I am delighted to hear you found our staff service "outstanding" we pride ourselves on providing that wow factor, I will be sure to share your story with the team.

It also sounds you like you made the most of your time in Melbourne by enjoying the theatre and musuem which are both close by!

I do hope to be able to welcome you and your family back when you next visit Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Last year I stayed at the Hotel on a number of occasions. It is in a great location for business and pleasure. You can walk most places, public transportation is at your doorstep.

The facilities are very good. Good gym, with a unique setting. The Staff are the best. As an example, my batteries for my laptop mouse ran out one afternoon. There was a store, right across the street, I came down and was going to run across to purchase replacements. The Staff saw me, asked if they could do anything, then just got me some batteries out of thier stock. Many stories like that.

There are a lot higher priced hotels in Melbourne, and I stayed in some of those, but none better, than the Melbourne Marriott.


Dutch Schultz

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear 808Dutch32,

Wow! Thank you so much for your very flattering review of your recent stay with us here at the Melbourne Marriott.

It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoy the hotels location, as you mentioned we are in a great position to cater for both business and leisure travellers being close to the heart of the city it is very convenient.

I will definetely pass on your kind words to the front office team, we constantly aim to exceed guests expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Typically I am a business traveler & this hotel generally caters to business people. I found the premises to equal or exceed Marriott's standards & found the staff to be very friendly & courteous.
I will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Tony C,

Thank you so much for your post and rating following your recent stay with us.

I am so thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us both whilst on business and on vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Champagne and a friendly welcome, from a whole array of staff, on arrival. Very quiet room, exceptionally quiet, on the 8th floor. Room layout with passage leading to bathroom very good. Not sure that wireless internet was working. Café downstairs did a very good breakfast. Easy walking distance for shopping, very close to theatres. Enjoyed Trunk restaurant a few doors away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear MML651,

WOW! Thankyou so much for such a great review on your recent stay with us here at the Melbourne Marriott.

It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay right from the beginning with a freidnly check in and complimentary glass of champagne.

Our chefs do an excellent job with the buffet breakfasts and it is always reassuring to get given some positive feedback so I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the team.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Melbourne Marriott soon.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having just returned from a two week trip to Australia and having stayed in 3 Marriott Properties, the Melbourne Marriott was the best of the three. The hotel is a bit smaller than the Marriotts in Sydney and Gold Coast. The service and atmosphere was top rate. The hotel had a cozy feel to it and it is a little dated. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. Location was perfect for us... Many many great restaurants within a 10 minute walk of the hotel. Melbourne is a Foodie Paradise! Pros and Cons:

1. Great Location- Close to China Town, major shopping, and major sites the location is superb.
2. Wonderful Service- On more than one occasion, a staff member went out of the way to help us with a request. The simple things add up. Every morning at breakfast, one of the staff remembered which news paper I liked and delivered it to our table. Great Service!
3. Great Breakfast!
4. Large, Nice Rooms- The rooms were the largest of the three Marriott's we stayed in.

Cons:
1. Lacked 5 star services- Hotel did not have a spa, etc. In scope, this is hotel is limited to 4 stars. A strong 4 star hotel.

Overall, we would stay at this hotel again. Great location and very strong service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear tpwoofs,

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review following your recent expereince with us. It is great to hear that you you had the chance to visit three of our five Marriott properties in Australia!

It is also very pleasing to hear that our staff members went above and beyond to exceed your expecations, that is what we aim to do. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to all of our staff.

Unfortunately we do not have a spa within the hotel, however there is a Spa we often refer guests to that is located on Collins Street.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Melbourne Marriott in the future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Let me preface this by saying this hotel is geared more towards business than luxury or leisure. The staff was mostly helpful with just a few exceptions. The location is okay, but not that great. The hotel definitely shows its age, as the hotel smells like chemicals and seems generally run down. It was still a pleasant experience but if you were looking for a leisure/luxury hotel, this hotel may not suit your needs. But for a business traveler, there is free WiFi in the lobby and there is wireless connectivity in the rooms. The restaurant is okay, but you can find better food outside. The hotel is right next to Chinatown so a short walk and there are many restaurants in the immediate vicinity. There is also a 7-eleven right in front of the hotel to suit your convenience shopping needs. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy and the TV was a flat screen. They housekeeper also left a pack of jelly candies when the rooms were serviced. It's a great hotel, but a remodel might not be a bad idea either. If you aren't looking for luxury, this is a standard Marriott hotel and is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.