We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate service and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #18 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First rate service and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My 2 children and I stayed in a King Suite for 3 nights. The king size bed was a super sized king, with a rollaway in the adjoining living room. While the Marriott is smaller than eg the Hyatt or Crowne Plaza, it is fair to say the level of service is far superior, and for essentially the same price ($419Aus per night including full buffet) as a normal two person room at the larger hotels, we had a seriously good amount f room including large walk through dressing room/baggage area. I'd read the trip advisor reviews recommending the buffet, and they were accurate - the buffet was absolutely lovely, the staff outstanding (on complimenting the chef for the best omelette ever he replied it's because they make them with love), and a lovely restaurant to dine in. We were lucky to have Brian as a waiter, who went above and beyond to enhance our experience - bringing us a selection of ideas the kids would enjoy doing in Melbourne as well as noting me taking a photo of them so coming over and offering to take one of the 3 of us (I ave hardly any of us together so that was really appreciated). Kids loved the lightly heated pool and beautifully warm spa - and while they have stayed at some pretty top end 5 stars around the world, I think the general vibe of this hotel and it's staff made them only see the good in everything - so pool area not nearly as glamorous as other places we've stayed but clean and really functional for a 9 and 12 year old. Good new equipment in the gum - cross trainers x 3, treadmills x 3, and a small array of weights and machines, but again very clean with good attached tvs. There is something abundantly pleasant about this hotel, and it is rare to have the pleasure of reporting that everyone, from doormen, concierge, front desk, room service (very efficient), restaurant staff and even the housemaid who went an extra step by moving the roll away so that it hardly encroached on the abundant space was an absolute pleasure to deal with, and a brilliant reflection on Marriott. Easy walking distance to comedy theatre (literally across the road) and Chinatown (highly recommend the Chinese museum there) as well as inner city shopping. I will certainly consider other Marriotts on the back of this experience.

Room Tip: The size of the King Suite is great - can comfortably sleep parents on the enormous bed in one room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We're so pleased you and the children enjoyed your stay. Our King Suites are very spacious, particularly with the large dressing area as well as the separate lounge. We do receive great feedback from our buffet breakfast and your appreciation has been passed on to your waiter, Brian. He is a friendly fellow and very good with children. Our people do try very hard and it is wonderful for them to know they are appreciated. Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    332
    82
    27
    11
See reviews for
212
297
67
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

What more can I say other than my review title?..
I've stayed at various Marriott's throughout the world and the Marriott in Melbourne did not disappoint.

From the initial check-in, to the restaurant staff, to the facilities. I was never disappointed.
The rooms are brilliant and the hotel was situated perfectly for all of my day and evening activities.

I will definitely be coming back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbes, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Got a reasonable deal on this with valet car parking thrown in
This is an excellent Hotel with solid service and a good location
Breakfast was great with smoked salmon and juicy mushrooms and very tasty multigrain bread being the highlights
I will stay there again and so should you

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask the staff for assistance, they are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANBERRA ACT
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed many times at the at the Melbourne Marriott and always enjoy the experience. At the end of a long day it is refreshing to be greeted with a glass of sparkling wine on arrival and to be ushered into one of the recently tastefully refurbished rooms. The hotel is well located in Melbourne's theatre and dining district close to Chinatown and the Greek quarter so there is no shortage of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

There for three nights with some friends from QLD. Rooms were clean, bed was comfy.

Concierge was very helpful & Anthony at reception was really nice, thank you to them.

But.....
We had dinner on the Friday night in the hotel restaurant & our water was never topped up, it took way too long to order food given there was only two other tables, the drink my friend ordered was completely wrong, steak was ordered 'Blue' but delivered well done, staff had little knowledge of products (didn't know if they stocked coke or pepsi) and it made for a bad experience. Not the high level of service we were looking forward too.
On our last day we were in the bar/lounge area and it took 30mins for the waitress to talk to us even though she had walked past multiple times. When she finally walked over the only thing she said was that we had to move seats so they could set for dinner... Pardon?! We moved. She still didn't offer us a menu, etc. Finally, a new staff member started her shift and walked to us straight away to offer drinks/menu. By this time I was completely unimpressed but was starving so ordered anyway.

Overall, experience was poor to average. Would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We greatly appreciate feedback and thank you sincerely for your review. Please accept our apologies for your disappointing experiences in our restaurant and bar. What can I say! This is not our normal standard of service and will be reviewed in depth with all concerned. On a brighter note your appreciation will be passed on to Anthony who was on Reception. I do hope you will give us another chance to prove that we do normally do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have traveled a lot for both pleasure and work and have never been this impressed with service. All staff went out of their way to ensure a smile. There was a large group of us arrive last minute due to flight issues and the outstanding service quickly turned a nightmare into a holiday. While every staff member was fantastic during my stay Andrew, Sonja and Matthew at the front desk really stood out as exceptional. If you visit the hotel and have any needs or concerns, they are the people to see. This was my first time staying in a Marriott Hotel but it will not be the last.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Many thanks for your great feedback. Flight cancellations are SO frustrating but we were pleased to be able to extend a warm welcome at short notice. Your appreciation has been passed on to our Front Desk team. They do try very hard and it is a terrific bost for morale when their efforts are individually acknowledged. We look forward to welcoming you back again - for a more planned visit next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Night away in the city, and this is a great spot to be. Champagne on arrival, attentive check in and a large room with a huge window which always wins votes from me. Had dinner in the hotel restaurant and then moved on to the bar. The level of service makes this a five star experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,340 reviews
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#26 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.