We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No bath” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #11 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“No bath”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Marriott is a pretty standard business hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and well furnished, the location (CBD) is handy for getting about and the rooms are well soundproofed and well lit. However, there is a lack of wow factor. There are no amazing views; the breakfast buffet is pretty standard fare; the bar is bland; the exterior looks brown and drab. It serves a purpose and serves its purpose pretty well.

If I have one complaint, is is that the bathroom has no bath - just a walk in shower. I do like a nice clean bath in a hotel without having the guilt of not cleaning it afterwards. And given the very odd layout of the luggage vestibule, it would have been possible to make the bathrooms bigger to fit a bathtub.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    258
    66
    24
    10
See reviews for
161
232
60
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for work for 5 nights back in November 2012.

Overall the stay was very good, I can't comment on cost vs. value as it was a company trip, but I found that the service was impeccable. I was greeted by name upon entering the lobby of the hotel (I can only assume that the valet informed them of my arrival after he took my car keys) but hey the little things are what make your stay that much more enjoyable. The room was well appointed, really large bed, excessive number of pillows. Bathroom was a bit cramped in my opinion, but that was balanced by the room itself being quite spacious. Room had a nice glass work desk that was useful during my stay. Also, from what I remember there was free internet for Marriott Rewards members, so made use of that. I used the hotel parking each day, and to be honest this was quite expensive, but as mentioned service was good and you can put up with the cost because finding long term parking in the CBD is a tough ask. The attached bar/restaurant served a good breakfast selection, however the rather frosty reception I received from the maitre'd before breakfast did put a damper on the whole experience.

All in all, excellent location, very elegant rooms, comfortable beds, and generally nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Melbourne Marriott ..... but most concerned to hear of the rather 'frosty' greeting on arrival at breakfast. This was most upsetting as we place great importance on the training of our associates. Please accept our sincere apologies for the cool start to your day and thank you for bringing it to our attention. Please be assured it has already been followed up. Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My recent stay here was a bit of a disappointment compared with the numerous Marriott Hotels I have stayed in across the world. In all I would have to say the room, service and Executive level were just OK, but not up to the usual Marriott standard I have come to enjoy.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper keep away from the Executive levels on the 9th and 10th floors. The air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked the Marriott on Lastminute.com and this was rated 5*, not self rated but independent. So we were slightly disappointed with some of hotel. The swimming pool, was dated, the bathroom had no bath, a must for a 5* hotel and the bed was very uncomfortable. That said the service was very good, the linen fab and the room large. As a family this hotel was a hit with our eight old.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Great to hear your 8 year old enjoyed the stay. Sorry to hear of your disappointment in not having a bath and that you found the bed uncomfortable. Our mattresses have a soft 'topper' which most of our guests like, but if you prefer a firmer feel this can easily be removed. Please do not hesitate to request this on any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Austalia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott for 8 days on combined business pleasure trip.
I had requested an upgrade to a queen higher level room on level 10 which proved to be a good decision, giving the benefit of an extra room to work, a walk in wardrobe and separate bedroom.
The room had a view over Melbourne street and offices.
All usual amenities were provided none stood out as extra special.
I had breakfast everyday in the restaurant, a large range of options were provided including a range of cooked to order items.
What stands out for me was the staff, they were friendly and helpful. From sparkling wine on arrival to the turn down service everything was delivered with a smile.
As with most businesses what separates good form great is the staff and this is true of the Marriott.
I would stay again.

Room Tip: Higher level. If you can afford and upgrade get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Feedback is always good to hear and it was rewarding to know that our training is working. Our people do try very hard and your comments will be passed on. Look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights - Friday and Sat night - for a romantic weekend. Right from the get go the service was fantastic - we loved the champagne on arrival! They offered us an upgrade for a minimal fee to a one bedroom suite - which we took and did not regret it. Spacious room with city views. There was a slight hiccup when they didn't realize we had upgraded our room and there was a delay in bringing up our bags, but they apologized with chocolates which was appreciated. Perfect location with easy access to everything and plenty of public transport. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Booked and prepaid a twin room (not guaranteed twin beds, but they were provided) for a weekend with my adult daughter to celebrate her birthday. The service was almost universally friendly, smiling and helpful. We were offered sparkling wines each as we checked in! We accepted.

The room was spacious, the beds big, luxurious and comfortable and the bathroom everything we could want - as long as we didn't want a bath, with excellent water pressure and easy to use shower. We were both used to firmer pillows than provided, but didn't ask for replacements. In hindsight, I'm sure they would have done. It's a 4 1/2 star hotel, and the are certainly cheaper option around for less money with less stars. But this was worth it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
All our twin rooms have double beds which can also be handy with children. Sorry to hear about your disappointment that the room didn't have a bath. We do have a spa in the pool area - but if you were not aware prior to your stay, you wouldn't have brought something to wear. Hope your daughter enjoyed her birthday celebration here in the city ! Thank you for recommending us ..... and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.