We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In The Heart of Theatre Sector” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #12 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Somerville, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“In The Heart of Theatre Sector”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Check in was super friendly & efficient, before we knew it we paid for an upgrade to a king suite!
The cleanliness was excellent, apart from dust & fluff under the bed; huge walk in shower, dressing room with superb hanging space.
The bed was the let down; just too low! The mattress pillow must have a high polyester content because the over heating effect meant waking up & having to move regularly! Maybe that's why they don't have electric blankets?
We dined in the restaurant after going to the theatre where the service was very good; my companions had the three different steaks on the menu & agreed, cooked to perfection, as was my Barramundi, they were very quick in bringing hot vegetables to the table after realising the first were dtone cold.
If you are looking for a great location in the theatre sector & a great night out with friends... Then Melbourne Marriott & staff won't disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. So sorry for the slip-up with dust under the bed! Please accept our apologies. Your comments have been reviewed with our team and please be assured that closer attention will be given in the future We place high importance on the quality of produce in our restaurant, so were pleased to hear that the steaks and Barramundi were well received. Hope to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    275
    71
    24
    10
See reviews for
166
245
65
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our family of 4 (husband 2-12yr olds) stayed for 4 nights on the 10th floor with access to the executive lounge. Loved the hotel check in where we were greeted with a glass of Champagne. The location is great walking distance to China town, Greek area, Italian area, where there are many restaurants. A Seven Eleven right across the street. The best part of our stay was our access to the Executive lounge. The people working there were so helpful. They helped us plan outings we took from the hotel. We also had a niece that was living in town and we asked if she could join us in the lounge and they said yes! It was nice to have a quite area to catch up with her. Our hotel room was large, clean and quite. All the wonderful and professional staff members made this stay very enjoyable. Would certainly stay again!

Room Tip: Executive floor well worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
So pleased to hear that your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are located in a great location, close to everything the city has to offer. We place great importance on the training of our associates, so it's good to know it's paying off - and they were helpful and professional ! The Executive Lounge is very popular and gives you a safe and relaxing place to be. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I struggled with this rating for a bit before writing the review, in the end I decided that I needed to lean towards 4 if I couldn't give half points. Overall it was an excellent hotel and an enjoyable stay, but a few items that kept it from being a 5.

The staff was excellent. Very considerate and professional, and all of them were helpful with trying to plan our days in Melbourne. Room was clean and comfortable, and Marriott beds never disappoint me when I'm away from home.

A few of the small items that knocked this place from a 5 to a 4:
-the hotel WiFi was a pain for me and at times downright inconvenient. I'm a Platinum member so the Internet was free of charge for me, but every time my iPad went to "sleep" it seemed like the web browser needed to re-authenticate my IP address, even though I signed up for the week of service. I know it's nit-picking but when you just want to pop in your room and look up a restaurant or an address, it's annoying.

-the hot water was very touchy for the showers. A fraction of a turn and it went from cool to scalding. Could have just been my room though.

-the executive lounge was mediocre. The service was great (see above) but the lounge itself just made you feel 'meh'. One computer, which can get backed up with people trying to check in for flights, nothing special for the view of the city food was good, but there is limited room on the counter tops to prepare your plate, and the lids for dishes were awkward. The best part was free wine and beer in the evenings; usually a charge at other hotels.

-I did the currency exchange at the front desk, exchanging $200 US and got back 178 or something in AUD, when it should have been closer to 194 with the real time exchange rate. I think the hotel took a minor fee, which is fine and expected at most other exchanges, but it was never disclosed ahead of time what the fee was.

-lastly, the in-room movies are ridiculously expensive. Anything worth renting is $19.00, and for that price you might as well throw in another $5 and go to the theater, or rent 4 movies on an iPad.

In all these things didn't bother me too much, but I couldn't give this hotel a full 5. I was using marriott points, so perhaps it bothered me less than if I was paying out of pocket. But I would certainly stay here again and they well deserve the Marriott name.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
So sorry to hear you had problems with the wifi in your room. It's not been a major concern in the hotel before and I can imagine how annoying it would have been. Once again, the problem with the very 'touchy' hot water in the shower must have been related to your room. I wish we were aware of the issue whilst you were here and it could have been checked, and hopefully corrected. Many thanks for your comments regarding the Executive Lounge and these have already been reviewed. Thank you sincerely for taking the time to respond. Responses from our guests are greatly appreciated as we recognize that as a business we are not perfect and with valuable feedback such as yours we are able to identify our weakesses and take appropriate action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A friend and I stayed here overnight during a stopover in Melbourne. When I arrived in a taxi the concierge greeted me and took my bags in for me, which I wasn't expecting but it was lovely. The lobby area is very upmarket, and while the rooms are only just the slightest bit out of date, they were amazing as well. The robes in the bathroom were a plus, as was the modern bathroom, but the best part of the room was the most comfortable bed ever. I have since booked a return trip here for when I go back to Melbourne. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. All our beds have mattress "toppers" which make them feel very luxurious and most of our guests just love them. Everyone however has different preferences and they can be removed if required. Look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our third stay at the Marriott in Melbourne. The staff was very warm and caring about our plans for our 5-night stay. Our room on the Club Lounge floor was bright, spacious, well equipped, and clean. The shower was large and easy to control. Towels were large and soft. The breakfast in the Club Lounge was deluxe with hot food, cereals, and breads. The lounge is open all day with a great coffee machine available. Valet parking service was impeccable with the car being brought to the lobby entrance within 5 minutes. The hotel knows how to cater to Americans.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Melbourne Marriott is very well run and maintained - as a business traveler you generally hope most of all for a hassle-free experience and this certainly delivers. Rooms are spacious, modern and clean, and service is professional.

The restaurant is good for breakfast but has a surprisingly lacklustre menu for dinner (and also room service) - central Melbourne is very well equipped with restaurants however so there are plenty of other options nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. Sorry to hear that your room wasn't ready on arrival,particularly when you had a tired toddler with you. Our check-in time is 2.00pm and unfortunately we cannot guarantee availability prior to this time. Being a 'low rise' building in the heart of the CBD does make views difficult, but the Exhibition Street room allocations are brighter rooms with a better outlook. Pleased to hear that you otherwise enjoyed your visit and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a great hotel. Perfect location, close to everything in the city.

We had a family room with two double beds and a small cloak room area.

The staff were wonderful. Valet was quick and friendly, reception staff were very helpful and check in and check out fast.

The breakfast was very nice and although the pool area was average it was still okay for our family.

The only disappointment for us was that our room was still not ready when we arrived on time for our booking. We had a very tired toddler who had just endured a 10+ hour flight and were asked to wait whilst our room was prepared. We were given an alternative to pay for an upgraded room with a city view rather than wait.

Sadly the city view was not overly impressive and looked straight into a building across the road.

Other than this everything about our stay was wonderful.

Internet was very very high priced, however we notice that unlike Europe and Asia, Australia is very behind the times with internet pricing in hotels.

We would very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose a "city view" upgrade unless you see the city view first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.