We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable beds...ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Most comfortable beds...ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a great hotel. Perfect location, close to everything in the city.

We had a family room with two double beds and a small cloak room area.

The staff were wonderful. Valet was quick and friendly, reception staff were very helpful and check in and check out fast.

The breakfast was very nice and although the pool area was average it was still okay for our family.

The only disappointment for us was that our room was still not ready when we arrived on time for our booking. We had a very tired toddler who had just endured a 10+ hour flight and were asked to wait whilst our room was prepared. We were given an alternative to pay for an upgraded room with a city view rather than wait.

Sadly the city view was not overly impressive and looked straight into a building across the road.

Other than this everything about our stay was wonderful.

Internet was very very high priced, however we notice that unlike Europe and Asia, Australia is very behind the times with internet pricing in hotels.

We would very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose a "city view" upgrade unless you see the city view first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    289
    74
    24
    10
See reviews for
179
261
66
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I travel a lot for work and sometimes stay in Marriotts if I can in different parts of the world.

Location of this one was OK
Staff unhelpful, lady at check-in kept telling me that she didn't have a king available - then manager came and changed it. First she said we needed to pay for internet, I pointed out that I was a member (as I told her 1 minute before) after which she said, oh well, then you don't need to pay - as if it was a battle she had lost - yet in any other Marriott, this would be standard service. That kind of stuff is just below any standard.

Room did not have a view, in fact we were facing a wall.

Would not go back and in fact this stay has changed my previous generally positive view on Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I was most concerned to hear of your disappointment with your check-in experience. We try very hard to ensure our guests are made to feel welcome on arrival, but obviously we fell short on this occasion. Complimentary internet access is extended to Marriott Reward members and I am very sorry for the confusion you were confronted with. Not being aware of your arrival, it is impossible for us to find out who checked you in, but we place great importance on training of our associates so please be assured your experience will be highlighted in future training to ensure a similar situation does not occur again. Not being a high-rise property in the heart of the CBD, unfortunately all rooms do not have expansive views. On any future visits however please do not hesitate to request a room on the Exhibition Street side which has a very pleasant outlook. Please give us another chance to prove to you that we normally do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived Easter weekend for a short visit to Melbourne before heading down to the coast. Convenient location for exploring and comfortable room for 3 of us. Our request for early check in was taken care of despite the hotel being busy. Had also requested a quiet room - at the end of a corridor & no problem with noise from the street. Very helpful, pleasant staff at reception and the concierge desk, which always counts for a lot. No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
So pleased you and the family enjoyed your short visit to Melbourne ..... and the Melbourne Marriott! We always do our best to meet requests from our guests and glad you were happy with your quiet room. Look forward to welcoming you back again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We found this great place to stay to over Easter to enjoy the Comedy Festival. All the show venues we attended were within walking distance from the hotel which was really good. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had a little hiccup with our booking but it was confidently sorted and we upgraded. Downside was the fold up bed was a bit uncomfortable for our son but as soon as another was available it was replaced. We stayed in a very pleasant one bedroom suite. The photos of "old Melbourne" really give the place a nice feel and the orchids in the room are real plants.The staff were all confident and capable in their duties. I could not fault any of them. This was our second stay at the Marriott Melbourne. We really enjoyed it and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
So sorry to hear there was confusion with your booking - but pleased that it was sorted out with hopefully not too much inconvenience. You'd be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of purchasing new mattresses for our rollaway beds as we have been aware that time has taken its toll. Hope your son was comfortable with the replacement. Thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We got a great deal over the Easter Long weekend through QuickBeds.com.au which our travel agent put us onto. The rate we got was excellent for this standard of hotel. WIthout a doubt we had the best stay and cannot fault the hotel. We had 2 teenage children/2 adults and the room was plenty big enough for us - 2 Double beds with a courtyard. The bathroom was a great size and very clean. The breakfast was outstanding - in fact the best buffet we have ever had! They had smoothies, pancake machine, freshly cooked to order omelettes, Lattes from the cafe included and even sparkling orange juice. We sat at a corner table with a great street view - and the lady running the cafe (sorry I don't know her name but long blond hair - was ever so helpful and lovely). We even got some sparkling on check in. The location was perfect for everything we needed to do - hop on/off (free) bus, Free tram, normal trams and walking distance to Bourke St etc. Kids and hubby loved the pool, gym and pay TV. Loved this hotel and will definitely only stay here in Melbourne. The only negative thing which didn't affect us because we have Australian mobile plans was that you had to pay for the wifi in your room - might be a bit expensive if you needed it. There was also a table set up in the foyer for little kids activities which would be great if you had littlies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your review - and delighted you enjoyed your stay. Will pass on your appreciation to the breakfast team. Your children would have been far too old for the kid's table that we set up for Easter, but it did prove to be a winner with the younger ones. Look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights to explore Melbourne. The location is great and it is very convenient to explore Melbourne without the need of having a car.

We stay a lot at Marriott hotels around the world and this one fully met our expectations.
Our room was nice and cozy. Bathroom was clean and nice. The breakfast was a bit expensive, but excellent.

On the second day I picked up a rental car and parking in front of the street was very convenient.

In case I go back to Melbourne I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Also try to have breakfast in the hotel neighborhood. Great places are within 5 min walking distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback ..... and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is in a great location to explore the city, so hope you had a good look around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tocumwal, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family on the Moomba Saturday night in a twin deluxe room. The fitout of the rooms was very nice - very comfy beds, big fluffy pillows, cuddly doonas. Amazing staff everyone so cheerful and obliging. We even chose not to use the valet parking and they were happy to have our car left or the front while they took our bags up and we got organised. The only negative was that due to the age of the building the pool was quite small and cold and not up to the standard of equivilantly priced hotels. Loved the location, a block from China town, a couple from Bourke St. Finally found the photos hanging in the hotels just beautiful, it was good to see Melbourne in much earlier times.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.