We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, high customer orientation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #12 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel, high customer orientation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very good hotel. Clean and good rooms. Good value for money.

Very high customer orientation. Friendly staff & feeling welcome in this place.
Congratulations to management and staff! Well done.

Good location next to many small restaurants. 15 minutes to river.
Strongly recommend this place and I'll stay ther once I'm back in Melbourne again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    258
    66
    24
    10
See reviews for
161
233
60
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a course/conference and can not fault the hotel or the service. From arrival they were excellent and everything you would expect from a 5 Star hotel. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. They even include an international travel adaptor.
The breakfast is excellent as is the Espresso Bar and they are included in the breakfast! The location of the hotel is first class and is really handy for the main tourist sites in Melbourne.
Overall a really good stay and would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Room 305 (which I stayed in) had a view over the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was not our favorite mainly because of the cleanliness of the room. It was not cleaned well prior to our first night which we did inform the staff about. The second night was better. The location is good. The valet staff is exceptional-- they helped us with directions, maps, our baggage, etc. we are very thankful for all their help which was beyond the norm.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We were most upset to hear that you were unhappy with the cleaning of your room on the first day. It was a little unclear if it was not up to standard on arrival or later in the day. All rooms should be thoroughly cleaned once per day with only suites and rooms on Executive Levels receiving a turndown service. At this time beds are remade (if required) and bathrooms are tidied up. We place great importance on cleanliness and were very disappointed to hear your comments. Please accept our sincere apologies. Great to hear however that our Concierge team was helpful. Hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We made a booking for this hotel through the AAA Tourism site, we paid and received confirmation then the accomodation was cancelled by the Marriott Hotel via email, not even a phone call or explanation. I contacted the marriott hotel only to be told that they blamed AAA and should have not put the rooms up at the discounted price for the Grand Prix weekend. We contacted AAA who told us that they had the ok from the Marriott and we needed to take it up direct with the hotel. TERRIBLE, we are left with no accomodation for the Grand Prix as the Marriott are trying to be greedy and charge top dollar, and didnt even try to accomodate us with our CONFIRMED booking, just played the blame game. Coming to Melbourne regaularly will NEVER stay at this hotel after this disgusting service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Like others here have said, it's very good --- but it's not 5-star excellence.
The staff/managers/etc are all great. The service is fine. But the rooms are just okay. Spacious, but not special. Worst part is the shower design in some (most/all?) rooms : Truly horrible layout/design.

However, the location is indeed excellent. Right in the center. Right next to Chinatown and all kinds of amazing amazing amazing food. Walking distance to the QV mall, the Bourke St mall, the Victoria Market, ... Location is great.

Melbourne is one of the best cities in the world. If you're in Melbourne, you're gonna have a good time. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with adjoining doors. The walls are thin and you'll hear everything from next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Marriott website promotes the Melbourne Marriott as being a 5 Star boutique hotel. It is very good with really helpful and friendly staff, excellent staff, but by international standards I would put it at 4 to 4 and a half stars and not boutique.

My room had an adjoining room and was not noise sealed which meant that conversations and alarm clocks etc were far from private. Other than that was well laid out, spacious, comfortable, reasonably well lit and adequately equipped. The curtain didn't close properly so it was not possible to fully darken the room during the day.

The shower taps are on the other side of the water stream, ie you have to get wet to turn the water on, which is ok if you are the one taking the shower but they are separate taps rather than a thermostatically controlled mixer so it is going to be too hot or cold while you get it right - not very 5 star. Also the mirror is not heated so it will mist up, again not very 5 star.

One of the things I have got used to in 5 Star hotels is some kind of music system, I didn't notice anything in this respect. Obviously there is scope for disturbing the neighbors but it would be handy for drowning out the noise from an adjoining room.

As for 'boutique' the Melbourne Marriott does not meet any description of boutique that I can think of. To me a boutique hotel is usually on the smaller side, have some distinctive attribute of luxury and very importantly will have a notable character or charm. As far I could see this Marriott was a normal hotel from the outside and on the inside.

Finally I would really appreciate hotels leaving a note as to whether tap water is drinkable or not - how are international travelers to know otherwise. Of course we can ask but a statement by the hotel is more reliable.

Would I stay there again? Yes.

Room Tip: Unless you need it I would not recommend an adjoining room, also check the lift location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Thank you to all the wonderful staff for making our stay with you so enjoyable!
From the reception staff onwards, our experience was very positive. Being across the road from the course I attended added to the ease of the stay, while my husband was occupied walking around Melbourne and re familiarised himself to all the sights. The staff helped us celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary, even sending a surprise complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates to our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.