We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking was confirmed then emailed to advised cancelled” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #13 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Booking was confirmed then emailed to advised cancelled”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We made a booking for this hotel through the AAA Tourism site, we paid and received confirmation then the accomodation was cancelled by the Marriott Hotel via email, not even a phone call or explanation. I contacted the marriott hotel only to be told that they blamed AAA and should have not put the rooms up at the discounted price for the Grand Prix weekend. We contacted AAA who told us that they had the ok from the Marriott and we needed to take it up direct with the hotel. TERRIBLE, we are left with no accomodation for the Grand Prix as the Marriott are trying to be greedy and charge top dollar, and didnt even try to accomodate us with our CONFIRMED booking, just played the blame game. Coming to Melbourne regaularly will NEVER stay at this hotel after this disgusting service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    243
    66
    23
    8
See reviews for
144
216
57
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Like others here have said, it's very good --- but it's not 5-star excellence.
The staff/managers/etc are all great. The service is fine. But the rooms are just okay. Spacious, but not special. Worst part is the shower design in some (most/all?) rooms : Truly horrible layout/design.

However, the location is indeed excellent. Right in the center. Right next to Chinatown and all kinds of amazing amazing amazing food. Walking distance to the QV mall, the Bourke St mall, the Victoria Market, ... Location is great.

Melbourne is one of the best cities in the world. If you're in Melbourne, you're gonna have a good time. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with adjoining doors. The walls are thin and you'll hear everything from next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Marriott website promotes the Melbourne Marriott as being a 5 Star boutique hotel. It is very good with really helpful and friendly staff, excellent staff, but by international standards I would put it at 4 to 4 and a half stars and not boutique.

My room had an adjoining room and was not noise sealed which meant that conversations and alarm clocks etc were far from private. Other than that was well laid out, spacious, comfortable, reasonably well lit and adequately equipped. The curtain didn't close properly so it was not possible to fully darken the room during the day.

The shower taps are on the other side of the water stream, ie you have to get wet to turn the water on, which is ok if you are the one taking the shower but they are separate taps rather than a thermostatically controlled mixer so it is going to be too hot or cold while you get it right - not very 5 star. Also the mirror is not heated so it will mist up, again not very 5 star.

One of the things I have got used to in 5 Star hotels is some kind of music system, I didn't notice anything in this respect. Obviously there is scope for disturbing the neighbors but it would be handy for drowning out the noise from an adjoining room.

As for 'boutique' the Melbourne Marriott does not meet any description of boutique that I can think of. To me a boutique hotel is usually on the smaller side, have some distinctive attribute of luxury and very importantly will have a notable character or charm. As far I could see this Marriott was a normal hotel from the outside and on the inside.

Finally I would really appreciate hotels leaving a note as to whether tap water is drinkable or not - how are international travelers to know otherwise. Of course we can ask but a statement by the hotel is more reliable.

Would I stay there again? Yes.

Room Tip: Unless you need it I would not recommend an adjoining room, also check the lift location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Thank you to all the wonderful staff for making our stay with you so enjoyable!
From the reception staff onwards, our experience was very positive. Being across the road from the course I attended added to the ease of the stay, while my husband was occupied walking around Melbourne and re familiarised himself to all the sights. The staff helped us celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary, even sending a surprise complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates to our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night and it was fantastic. We were greeted at the door by the bellhop who took our bags and then poured us a glass of champagne while we checked in. This was a first! The staff were genuinely interested in our stay. 10 minutes after arriving in our room a birthday card, chocolates and a bottle of wine arrived to celebrate my birthday- complimentary! This made my night !!!!!!!the room was spacious and well appointed, we even had our own courtyard. The bedding was exceptional and the tv enormous. Breakfast the next morning was everything you would expect. I will definitely be recommending this to others and returning in the near future. Well done to the staff at the Marriott- you made my stay.

Room Tip: Every room would be fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra, Spain
Top Contributor
420 reviews 420 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Melbourne is far more understated than Sydney but overall I think I prefer it. It has a super fun vibe and it must be a wonderful place to live.

The Marriott is right in the heart of the city near Chinatown and easy to walk everywhere.

The hotel is a little bit in need of a refurb but the rooms have a great HD TV system.

I was upgraded to a suite as a gold card holder which was lovely

The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

The executive lounge was actually far better than the one in Sydney

So an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: If you do like a little street noise you need to stay high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham Vale
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful night at this hotel. It is in easy reach of public transport, a range of dining options and the theatre district of Melbourne. While the rooms are understated, they are clean, tidy and well appointed. The staff make this hotel great, taking time and great care in ensuring we were relaxed and comfortable from the moment we checked in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.