We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not quite 5 Star...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good but not quite 5 Star...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Marriott website promotes the Melbourne Marriott as being a 5 Star boutique hotel. It is very good with really helpful and friendly staff, excellent staff, but by international standards I would put it at 4 to 4 and a half stars and not boutique.

My room had an adjoining room and was not noise sealed which meant that conversations and alarm clocks etc were far from private. Other than that was well laid out, spacious, comfortable, reasonably well lit and adequately equipped. The curtain didn't close properly so it was not possible to fully darken the room during the day.

The shower taps are on the other side of the water stream, ie you have to get wet to turn the water on, which is ok if you are the one taking the shower but they are separate taps rather than a thermostatically controlled mixer so it is going to be too hot or cold while you get it right - not very 5 star. Also the mirror is not heated so it will mist up, again not very 5 star.

One of the things I have got used to in 5 Star hotels is some kind of music system, I didn't notice anything in this respect. Obviously there is scope for disturbing the neighbors but it would be handy for drowning out the noise from an adjoining room.

As for 'boutique' the Melbourne Marriott does not meet any description of boutique that I can think of. To me a boutique hotel is usually on the smaller side, have some distinctive attribute of luxury and very importantly will have a notable character or charm. As far I could see this Marriott was a normal hotel from the outside and on the inside.

Finally I would really appreciate hotels leaving a note as to whether tap water is drinkable or not - how are international travelers to know otherwise. Of course we can ask but a statement by the hotel is more reliable.

Would I stay there again? Yes.

Room Tip: Unless you need it I would not recommend an adjoining room, also check the lift location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    310
    76
    24
    11
See reviews for
195
287
67
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Thank you to all the wonderful staff for making our stay with you so enjoyable!
From the reception staff onwards, our experience was very positive. Being across the road from the course I attended added to the ease of the stay, while my husband was occupied walking around Melbourne and re familiarised himself to all the sights. The staff helped us celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary, even sending a surprise complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates to our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night and it was fantastic. We were greeted at the door by the bellhop who took our bags and then poured us a glass of champagne while we checked in. This was a first! The staff were genuinely interested in our stay. 10 minutes after arriving in our room a birthday card, chocolates and a bottle of wine arrived to celebrate my birthday- complimentary! This made my night !!!!!!!the room was spacious and well appointed, we even had our own courtyard. The bedding was exceptional and the tv enormous. Breakfast the next morning was everything you would expect. I will definitely be recommending this to others and returning in the near future. Well done to the staff at the Marriott- you made my stay.

Room Tip: Every room would be fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Top Contributor
474 reviews 474 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Melbourne is far more understated than Sydney but overall I think I prefer it. It has a super fun vibe and it must be a wonderful place to live.

The Marriott is right in the heart of the city near Chinatown and easy to walk everywhere.

The hotel is a little bit in need of a refurb but the rooms have a great HD TV system.

I was upgraded to a suite as a gold card holder which was lovely

The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

The executive lounge was actually far better than the one in Sydney

So an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: If you do like a little street noise you need to stay high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham Vale
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful night at this hotel. It is in easy reach of public transport, a range of dining options and the theatre district of Melbourne. While the rooms are understated, they are clean, tidy and well appointed. The staff make this hotel great, taking time and great care in ensuring we were relaxed and comfortable from the moment we checked in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

just returned home after a 3 day get away to melbourne with my friend.we stayed here as we got a great deal including 2 double beds and breakfast in a a deluxe room on the 7th floor.
we could not fault this hotel.the staff were super friendly and helpful.the breakfast was plentiful and delish.they even made us eggs beni and pancakes to order.how nice is that.
the room was spacious and clean and well appointed. there was no bath but the shower was hot and strong.very nice.the only issue i had was that the pillows were too soft however bed super comfy.
there is happy hour in the bar every night and you can get a glass of bubbly or a vino for 5 dollars.could value and a great start to the night when you go and explore melbounes food scene.
we both loved it. well done marriott.love to come back one day and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights with my corporate colleagues. I was very impressed with the staff - all very friendly and on-the-spot attentive. SO attentive, if you make eye contact...they WILL say hello and ask if they can assist you. My room was very clean and comfortable, and they provide an amazing breakfast buffet. This location is perfect for walking around downtown, shopping and finding nice restaurants and cafe's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.