We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Delights Package
Ranked #19 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice and will stay here again the next time. They provide consistent courteous service, clean rooms, nice food and amenities. The consistency is something I have come to like about Marriotts and affiliated hotels. Have stayed at other 5 star hotels and have not experienced the same consistency let that be service, cleanliness, quality of the food etc.
Location is not the best, but Melbourne city is flat and makes a good stroll anyway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VHILW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Marriott was the midway stop on a monthlong trip to Australia and New Zealand. We expected "good," but were blown away. The service was incredible and completely surpassed our expectations. The concierge were extremely knowledgeable and bent over backwards to make sure we enjoyed our time in Melbourne. The hotel itself is quite centrally located, with great facilities, a wonderful breakfast buffet and espresso bar, and of course, comfy bedding. I will definitely be recommending it to friends. Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel was ideally located and the staff was very courteous. The only downside was that I had mentioned to the staff that it was my wife and my 30th wedding anniversary, I am a platimum member and have shown my loyalty to the Marriott chain for over 400 nights stay. It would have been nice if the hotel acknowlege it in some way for my wife. But I guess they get a lot of guests celebrating their anniversary. But it was merely a minor distraction/blemish on an otherwise excellent stay. I can recommend this hotel easily, but do not expect anything special from them. You are just another guest coming through the door. But they do provide very good service. I found the concierge the most helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very friendly and accommodating staff. After discovering our first room was very close to the lifts/elevators I asked if we could be moved. They did not hesitate my request and we were moved. I was given maps, directions, suggestions on places to visit. The room was spacious including the bathroom Very clean and very nice. Much extra help was offered in setting up our free wifi service, also. I would recommend this hotel offer airport shuttle service as that seemed to be my only dislike of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooner Fan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The staff are very pleasant at this hotel and are helpful. From check-in to check-out everybody was friendly.

The location of the hotel is convenient and an easy walk to most attractions in the city.

The room was of a good size. Beds were comfortable and had soft pillows which allowed for a good sleep. The bathroom is a good size with a shower only which I don't mind as prefer it over having a shower over bath. If you are a Marriott Rewards member you get free wifi in the room but didn't try it as didn't have the need for it.

Still as good as my previous stays so would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Not at all flashy, nothing over the top; but very good in all aspects. Staff are efficient, friendly, and very helpful; we found that nothing was too much trouble for them. The room we had was called a Premier Guest Room on the 6th floor. Our window looked out on the tree tops from the pool floor, and onto Lonsdale Street. Beautifully furnished with quality fittings, wonderfully comfortable bed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel was average and the staff was pretty much incompetent. Any time we called down the concierge for help whether it be for restaurant recommendations or a query about laundry they said they would call us back and then never did. It actually became a joke. The pool was also run down and flooded with kids. We did eat dinner there one night and the food at the restaurant was actually pretty good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanyj328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am extremely disappointed to read about the level of service that you received during your recent stay with us. I would very much appreciate it if you could please call me at 03 9660 1175 so as to further investigate your poor experience at our hotel. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

Best Regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,850 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,637 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing