We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chalfont Saint Peter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This Marriott has a great locaton for tourists and I suspect businessmen. The hotel has recently been updated so everything is new and fresh. The rooms are really spacious, almost a mini-suite and the beds are extremely comfortable. There are no baths however, these were taken out of all rooms at renovation time. The manager is obviously on the ball as there were drinks and dining specials every day. The 'grab and go' breakfast for $7 was very good value. The gym was too small for a hotel of this size and although the apparatus was new.....anymore than 5 guests in the gym was too many. There is a large indoor pool and sauna.
The staff were very attentive and friendly.
This is a truly upscale Marriott!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Melbourne Marriott. The quick 'grab and go' breakfast at just $7 has been very popular for guests 'on the run'. The full buffet breakfast is great if you have more time. You'd be pleased to know that an upgrade of the gym and pool area is planned for next year. Your appreciation will be passed on to our staff. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    288
    74
    24
    10
See reviews for
179
260
66
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston,SC
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A cut above the average up-scale Marriott and made even more so by the attentive staff, who seem to anticipate your every need. Breakfast and evening snacks in Executive Lounge were excellent. 1.5 blocks from free tram around the city is a big plus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
So pleased to hear that our staff were attentive and did their best to ensure your stay was enjoyable. Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Outstanding service. Businesses across the world could learn what customer service means by observing how the staff treats the customers. Central location is also perfect for tourists and business travelers. I was traveling on vacation from the US, but needed to participate in conference calls late at night---the staff obliged me by giving me use of a conference room so that I did not need to bother my family. The concierge was extremely helpful in terms of facilitating a car rental so that we could visit Phillips Island---we were able to rent a car for a day without having to worry about pick up or return or paying for parking when we returned the car late at night. The room with two double beds was ample for a family with small children. The executive lounge had an excellent breakfast and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
So pleased to hear that our customer service training is worthwhile ! Our people do their best to ensure they do all they can for our guests and try very hard to "go the extra mile". Good to hear that you and the family enjoyed your vacation time in Melbourne. Great to receive your feedback. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

There was a little mixed-up in our bookings but was it was sorted out immediately without any fuss which we appreciate greatly. We requested for a later check-out as our flight was in the evening & the request was granted. They even offered to store our luggages for us while we went shopping after checking out. While queuing to check-in we were served glasses of champagne, that was nice gestures offered ........

The staff were very helpful & friendly. We were greeted numerous times either in the lift or outside out rooms about our day. This chamber maid even reminded us to bring umbrellas out when she noticed the weather was very cloudy that morning.

The room is huge & clean accompanied with a good storage area outside the bathroom.

This hotel is well located, with eateries almost everywhere, fine dining or just cafes .... just spoilt for choice. It is at the corner of Exhibition street so it isn't noisy nor too busy. It is just steps away from the big Woolworths & Big W. The area is very safe even walking with young kids at night.

We would certainly stay here again during our next visit to Melbourne City.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Sorry to hear there was a bit of a mix-up with your bookings but pleased it was quickly sorted out. We do our best to extend a later check-out when we can as we appreciate it can be very inconvenient with later flights. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here two nights for work. The rooms are HUGE with separate walk in shower and dressing room. Very comfy bed.
Without appearing too luxurious, the well appointed Marriott Hotel provided a near five star experience without the traditional stuffiness of a five star hotel.

Friendly staff, excellent food, and centrally located to the city - 2 mins from China town and hundreds of restaurants. Housekeeping didn't seem to get the message about the late check out from the front desk and called twice and knocked on the door - very annoying when trying to have a sleep in. But otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us ..... but very sorry your requested late check-out was not passed on to Housekeeping. How annoying when you wanted to snooze. Please accept our sincere apologies. Look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back - for a better sleep-in next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on business. Very clean and comfortable and work was very close. Not a great location for sight seekmg as its at the wrong end of the city but great if you want to see the gardens and museum.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on business. Room was large and well equipped, bed was excellent, shower room was top quality. Great location near to ChinaTown in CBD. Didn't have breakfast or eat in the restaurant so can't comment on food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.