We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #14 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Place in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We could not get a cott up and they gave us Chocolates. They had really good coustmer service and the lounge was good. It was nice place to stay in. The rooms were clean. I was pretty impressed. Also we were close to lots of places since we were in downtown. This hotel is a really good option.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    323
    79
    25
    11
See reviews for
202
293
67
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harshaw, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
35 hotel reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed 5 nights here. The location was wonderful - right on the edge of China Town and walking distance to a lot of interesting neighborhoods. Be aware the Melbourne is very large, so staying as I did in the City Centre and using the trolley or street car is very helpful. This appears to be a hotel focused on the business community, with all the ammenities including same day laundry service. The Concierge staff was very helpful to me, allowing me to maximize my stay in Melbourne without worrying about trouble travel details. The breakfast was very good, but pretty expensive - although I thing $35 AU is probably standard for Full English Breakfast and buffet in Melbourne. One can get a Flat White coffee and croissant in the ground level cafe for much less. If you want local color, this is not the place. If you needs services, amenities and a good location, stay here.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 107 which was a courtyard room, for a $50@night upgrade. The room was great. I st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed three nights in a King room, which was offered to us during check-in for what I thought sounded a fair price for a pretty big upgrade. Wasn't what everyone would consider a bargain, though, so always shop around for the best going rates.

Our room was extremely spacious, with a separate lounge (and a massive TV), a big and extremely comfortable king-size bedroom (with another huge TV), walk-thru robe with plenty of hanging space, and a nice bathroom with a large shower area. The in-room safe was big enough for a full-size laptop too, so very useful. The fit-out overall certainly looked great in this particular room, with not a lot of visible wear and tear. This might, however, be attributed to a generally lower occupancy rate than the more standard rooms.

Um, but that coffee maker provided in-room makes a nasty cup of coffee. Nasty. Whose idea was that?

Quite a few light bulbs in the room were blown, and all were in immediately and surprisingly noticeable locations too. No biggie, really, but if there's more than three main globes out of action, it's surprising there's no procedure for addressing this prior to guests arriving in a room at a hotel such as a Marriott.

The concierge and check-in staff were always polite and helpful when approached in the lobby. However we had to wait 25 or 30 minutes after calling to request some clean glasses be sent up to the room (which housekeeping had missed), but room-service rang soon after to check they arrived and kindly explained why they were late – which was appreciated. This tiny issue wouldn't have even rated a mention, except the next day a similar request never eventuated and no explanation was given for the no-show. Based on this, I highly recommend you ask if they're having a busy period before placing any similar request.

Located in the eastern end of the CBD, it's a great location for the theatres, shopping, and there are some excellent restaurants and cafes nearby. The cab rank located just across the street is handy too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our King Suites and glad you took advantage of the upgrade offered at check-in. Our suites are all equipped with a Phillips Senseo coffeemaker and this must be about the first complaint we have received. I'm very sorry however that the coffee was not to your liking. Most upset to hear that a few light globes in your room were out. This should have been picked up when the room was serviced. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience on this occasion and I'll ensure this is followed up further. Requests via Room Service are normally handled quickly and efficiently so I was most disappointed to hear of the delays in receiving the glasses. We do have a policy in place with our Room Service meal orders ...... 45 minutes or it's free! Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location if you are going to a show in Melbourne as it is located in the 'theatre end' of town.

The rooms, however, are showing their age. Ours had several scratch marks on the walls where luggage etc had hit.

The mirror in the main room also has photographs imbeded into it. Seems a bit of a waste of space??

Overall it was an okay hotel and we'll probably stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Melbourne Marriott. A refurbishment of our rooms was only just completed early in the year (new large screen TV's, carpets, etc.) and we are very aware of continual room maintenance. Thank you for mentioning that there were some scratches on the walls of the room you were allocated. I will ensure all rooms are checked. The theme of vintage black & white 'old Melbourne' photos continues throughout the hotel and I am sorry you didn't think they were fitting in the mirror. Hope you'll stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Excellent Sevice with very friendly staff. I stayed in a suite with two rooms and put my two boys in roll away beds in the lounge area. The hotel has a nice executive lounge. The indoor pool is a little small of you want to laps... But it was empty which was lovely. Nice spa and the gym is good for cardio.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Our staff try very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their visits so it was pleasing to hear that you were impressed with our friendly service. The two roomed suite would have been perfect with your two boys and I'm sure they would have enjoyed having the pool to themselves (even though it may have been smaller than they are used to). I am sure you would find that we are very competitively priced for our standard of hotel. Hope we see you and the family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We own timeshares with Marriott and so we usually stayed at Marriotts whoever we go. We stayed here 7 nights in July. Loved the wonderful concierge dining room. Nice staff and delicious food. Well worth to pay for upgrade if it's not automatic. Comfy beds,nice bathrooms. Location was perfect for us we walked mostly everywhere or took public transportation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I used my points to get a standard room so can't comment much on value for money. The room is excellent, however, and is big for a basic room. It is quiet and has all the basic amenities. The only thing I could comment on is that the tv does not seem to respond very well to the remote.

The location is superb. A few steps from Chinatown where food is really good.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.