We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We went to the Marriott as part of a lastminute deal where the hotel was a surprise. I must admit I was a bit sceptical that the hotel was the 5 stars it purported to be. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The room on the first floor was spacious, modern and had its own balcony/ courtyard looking out at the pool.

Upon my arrival and check-in I was offered a complimentary champagne. I said that I would love one but would wait until my husband arrived from work. I stated that he was entitled to be late given it was his birthday. Imagine my surprise and delight when we arrived back from dinner later that night to find a bottle of white wine chilling, a box of chocolates and a happy birthday card for my husband. I didn't think this kind of thing happened anymore! Thank you to the Marriott! You really blew us away with your thoughtfulness and generosity.

Room Tip: First floor had lovely outside courtyard with view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    310
    76
    24
    11
See reviews for
195
287
67
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed here in Nov 2011 during my biz trip as Westin was booked out. Alas I have been treated to perfection so perhaps my expectations were high. Unfortunately as I was paying the same for Westin and Marriott I was expecting something similar to Westin.

The front desk\concierge were pretty awesome and helpful. The biggest plus here was the free internet but as my company pays for the internet (due to my mobile) it didnt matter but it would if were travelling myself.

Room was nothing short of a let down. Carpets were stained, bathroom had old school type of faucet (one cold and one hot, we all know how hard it can be at times). The wash basin really tiny compared to the dual I had in Westin. The bed and study table were of decent quality.

I had a second booking with them which I cancelled and went back to Westin as for the exact same price you get a lot more with Westin.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I spend alot of time traveling for work and I must say one of the most pleasurable hotels I stay in is the Melbourne Marriott.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The location puts it right in the middle of wherever you might want to go. It's walking distance to museums, restaurants and cafes. Situated close to Federation square you can get a metro ticket for use on trains, trams and buses to almost anywhere.

The rooms are always clean and spacious and all amenities are superior.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I had a one week reservation at the Marriott while looking for a permanent accomodation in Melbourne. Well all did not go well with the house hunting and one week turned into 5 weeks. Being Gold members we had access to the executive lounge. The breakfasts were excellent and evening tidbits were a dinner buffet with curries and pastas. A full bar with a lovely variety of wines, beers and liquors. ALL staff including George the General Manager, were more than welcoming and every request or problem was solved immediately. The staff made us feel like family during a very difficult time in our lives. We have stayed at luxury properties worldwide, and while other hotels might have more glamour, this Marriott stands alone in the exceptional degree of customer service. Rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. A big plus for the business traveler is that there are enough powerpoints in the room for mobile phones and computers. Room lighting is also excellent. The value for the room was outstanding. We actually were considering staying at this hotel for our entire year in Melbourne. Other guests we met in the executive lounge were equally fond of this hotel. We were very sad to leave our Marriott family.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our family of 4, 2 adults & 2 children, stayed one night in a room with 2 large double beds on the 10th floor. Great sized room, clean and fresh. Super comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Great location for theaters, shopping, MCG etc. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is ideally located in Melbourne close to all attraction, you can walk to most or a short taxi ride to others. The rooms are clean and spacious, service is excellent, ammenities are of a high standard and the staff are very helpful. You will not be disappointed, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any room is fine, it's the location of this hotel that matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The location of this hotel is ideal! We were able to walk to all of the things we wanted to do. On our first night there it was raining and one of the employees noticed we did not have an umbrella. He quickly secured one for us from the Concierge and told us to return it when we got back. The staff was very thoughtful, the rooms were quite spacious and very clean and the food that was served was excellent. This was one of the best Marriott's we have stayed in, and we have stayed in many.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.