We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same terrible hotel just a different name” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Melbourne on the Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Melbourne on the Park to your Saves list
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia (Formerly Hilton On The Park Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Dubai
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Same terrible hotel just a different name”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Pullman on the park was owned by the Hilton for many years and other than its closeness to the MCG it has very little going for it.
The staff are unhelpful, the checkin is always long and the room are so over a makeover. The bathrooms are terrible and the noise head from other room is sometimes entertaining.
They now charge a room service charge of 5 dollars which the Hilton did not and they also charge for the internet at a price of 27.50 AUD.
The internet can only be described as dial up for those who remember those days.
it is slow and drops out most of the time not worth purchasing. Go to the & Eleven down the road and purchase a sim package. cheaper and more beneficial.
There are many more better hotels in Melbourne than this one however my company has a deal with this hotel so we are required to stay here. Look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    5
    10
    4
See reviews for
6
8
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

GM Erkin Aytekin and Front of House Manager Nick Boyd are true pros…

The hotel is undergoing a significant change (from Hilton to Pullman) and they are handling with aplomb; especially looking after their Business Travellers…

Taking time out to meet and greet were possible…

All good…and augurs well.

That said, and in terms of relaxation the bar staff are magnificent, especially Julie and her “I’m am Julie; what is your name as I would like to get to know you?” with a clearly genuine smile and demeanour, this point is not made lightly as I have stayed in other hotels where the staff make you feel that you are bothering them….

Will recommend Pullman on the Park at every turn.

Room Tip: There are two Pullmans in Melbourne - I have found both to be great - just make sure you have the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and i stayed 3 nights , feb 2015. We prepaid on booking in 2014. on arrival they had no record of being prepaid including breakfast. luck have it i had paperwork with me. but on arrival home going thru bank statements i found they still debited my account for full 3 days stay. also they only filled mini bar the night before we left. The bathroom door would not stay shut. AND TO TOP IT OFF THEY WANTED $26.50 PER DAY FOR WIFI ACCESS OUTRAGEOUS FOR THE PRICE THEY CHARGE PER NIGHT. $235.00. SPENT NEXT DAY ON PHONE TRYING TO SORT THINGS OUT. I NOW NEED A HOLIDAY

NEIL HUNTER TASMANIA

Room Tip: . ROOM 510 higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel changed it name from Hilton to Pullman on 1 Jan 2915. The hotel is near Fitzroy Gardens and opposite of Yarra Park. It is about 22km from the Tullmarine airport, about 80 dollars with big cap (11 passengers) or 66 dollars with regular cap (4 passengers). The airport ground staffs for arranging taxi are very friendly. I think it is very stupid that all Melbourne taxis will charge extra tips (taxi in othe Australian cities do not charge this). The hotel room is a bit old, not very clean. One of the lifts is problematic. It is a big shame that the Hotel does not provide free Internet (Wi-Fi). You can take the No.48 tram to go to Federation. The trams are free within CBD.
Square.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If this was a 3 star it may have got average but I'm afraid that it still thinks it is way higher. Firstly the good - location for the MCG is fantastic and offers a nice walk to the city and all the other sporting venues.
Now the not so good - Even though I emailed prior to my visit that I had 2 bookings and could they link them to which they agreed when I checked in the receptionist had no idea about this. The room keys keep deactivating , the minibar was only refilled after I asked after 3 days. On one day the room was not serviced and they were cleaning carpets which made the corridors stink which then went into the rooms when you entered your room.
The bad - The bathrooms are best described as poor with broken tiles around the bath, the carpets are in poor condition and housekeeping are just not up to the job heavens know the last time the bed was pulled out as there was sweet wrappers underneath the bed.
When these things were pointed out during the week they were treated with at best ambivalence and at check out they apologised and said that they will take the items on board that I had raised to make it better for my next stay !
This is not a 5 star property or even a poor 4 unless your going to the MCG I really wouldn't bother.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a conference at MCG. Good location. I stayed here 6 months earlier when it was Hilton Hotel. I probably noticed a deteriation in rooms looking tired. I thought the staff were nice and friendly with the location being very handy to MCG. If you can get the right room rate for $200 a night, it's a good deal

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed one night at the Pullman Melbourne on the park and were very disappointed with the check-in experience. Firstly, when we arrived at the reception desk it took them a VERY long time to find our booking. Secondly, the check-in staff were incredibly rude! We were trying to make small talk with an American member of staff from New York and he was so grumpy and monosyllabic - just answering yes or no to questions we'd ask. My boyfriend had booked the hotel as he'd planned to propose to me that evening and it was clearly stated on the booking but yet the member of staff made no effort to smile or make my day special. Ruined my special day.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Melbourne on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Melbourne on the Park

Address: 192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia (Formerly Hilton On The Park Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#98 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Melbourne on the Park 5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 24 Kilometres from Melbourne Airport, Pullman Melbourne on the Park hotel is in the heart of East Melbourne within the city's main sports and entertainment district. It is directly opposite Melbourne Cricket Ground and enjoys stunning views of Fitzroy Gardens, Rod Laver Arena and Melbourne Park, home of the Australian Open tennis tournament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Melbourne on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton On The Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hilton International East Melbourne
Hilton East Melbourne
East Melbourne Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Melbourne on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.