We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Hilton On The Park Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton On The Park Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #79 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel is grand. i love the decor, the atmosphere the spaciousness. and the fact that the park is right across the road with so many lovely sites, it makes for a lovely relaxing experience. some nice cafe's and restaurants with in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. All the team hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    330
    188
    67
    33
See reviews for
88
290
83
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The location is good - a little way out of the city but only takes 10-15mins to walk. Half of that can be via the City Circle tram (free) during operating hours if you so wish. Next to two beautiful parks that are always worth an explore. MCG is also worth a visit for a tour - good value, too.

Stayed in a basic twin room - it's ok but I think compared to others it could be regarded as average to poor value:

The good - nearly spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, nice silky sheets, blackout curtains, comfortable chairs, staff always friendly & ready to assist, the spa and pool area is a real bonus - and spotless

The not so good - TV is tiny, room decor is showing it's age - particularly the bathroom, shower arrangement not good and very fiddly to get a good temperature without covering the bathroom in water or getting soaked in cold water, air con unit reasonably loud and can be intrusive, having to pay for wi-fi in the room (21st century!). Also watch out for the double beds that are simply twins pushed together...!

Overall it is a good hotel albeit if you haven't got a deal staying here you would probably find staying elsewhere better value.

Room Tip: Higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton on the Park Melbourne. I’m pleased to learn that the team contributed to the enjoyment of your visit and you particularly liked the pool area. I appreciate your candor in the areas in which we can improve; we look to reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room appearance and the television size are areas we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great location, close to the city, next to a great park, facing the MCG with friendly staff who made us feel welcome and went the extra mile. If you need to stay in Melbourne save yourself a lot of hassle and ask the driver to 'take me to the Hilton'.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I am very happy to read your gracious comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to exceed your expectations. I have shared your feedback with all concerned and I know they appreciated the recognition. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Sad to say, the Hilton looks tired; the rooms may have been refurbished in recent years but ours looked dark and masculine. The bathroom layout is apparently unchanged, as the shower is over the bath - and as another reader stated in his review, you need to be a contortionist to turn the shower on! The shower taps are at bath level and it's very difficult to reach around the glass shower door to turn them on!
I looked for spare pillows to sit up and watch (the oldish) TV (as there was only one lounge chair ) alas there were none! The mini bar was sparse - supposedly to allow patrons to have room for their own (cheaper?) supplies and not even a complimentary bottle of mineral spring water was provided. The continental breakfast was $30 pp - although beautifully presented, it was a lot to pay for packet muesli, raisin toast, 2 small croissants, fruit salad, and tea, coffee, juices.
If you are looking for a more quality and romantic hotel to stay - try the Langham or Sofitel. The stunning Park Hyatt is impressive, as is the recently revamped Grand Hyatt, but the rates will be higher. Unless you are wanting to stay close to the MCG, or go for a run/ walk in the magnificent Fitzroy Gardens, the Hilton does not really have a great deal to offer for those wanting to explore Melbourne's laneways, shops and culture.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate your candour; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room appearance and value for money are areas we are actively examining. I will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Andrew Nisbet, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Was in Melbourne for the weekend and service rooms and location was very good. Right next to park and nice and quite. Rooms where just right and the king bed was great. Was easy access to all. It was also very good in value as we were able to use flybuys points & it was a long weekend so it made it great value.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon. Andrew Nisbet, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Nice hotel, a little out of the way if you are going to be in the city a lot, would recommend having a car. Overall a nice hotel with good service, nothing extraordinary though, but the price matches the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and you found the amenities of the property to your liking. Hope to see you return soon! Andrew Nisbet, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Spent 3 nights in Room 1413 in Melbourne on the Park. Despite being opposite the MCG, it was relatively quiet. Wonderful service from the moment I got out of the taxi arriving, until the time I departed. Great food, nice amenities, it was a perfect stay. Room was clean, room service brilliant, guest service did a great job. Amazing chef - awesome food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks for your gracious comments about your recent stay at the Hilton on the Park Melbourne. I am pleased you found the room comfortable and the team contributed to the enjoyment of your visit. I have shared your feedback with all concerned and I know they appreciated the recognition. We do hope to see you return again soon. Andrew Nisbet, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton On The Park Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Address: 192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton On The Park Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the attractive inner-city suburb of East Melbourne, Hilton on the Park is an elegantly furbished hotel directly opposite the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).Each furbished hotel room has warm, natural tones and feature large windows, a flat-screen TV and a wide range of amenities to ensure a relaxing and easy stay. Offering free Wi-Fi to all guests, the iconic Park Lounge bar is the perfect place to have a casual drink before heading to the MCG. For breakfast and dinner, the Gallery Restaurant also provides market fresh cuisines while overlooking the beautiful Fitzroy Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton On The Park Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton On The Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hilton International East Melbourne
Hilton East Melbourne
East Melbourne Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton On The Park Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.