We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“standard hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton On The Park Melbourne to your Saves list
Hilton On The Park Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #83 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“standard hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Nice hotel, a little out of the way if you are going to be in the city a lot, would recommend having a car. Overall a nice hotel with good service, nothing extraordinary though, but the price matches the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and you found the amenities of the property to your liking. Hope to see you return soon! Andrew Nisbet, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    383
    217
    79
    43
See reviews for
100
338
93
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Spent 3 nights in Room 1413 in Melbourne on the Park. Despite being opposite the MCG, it was relatively quiet. Wonderful service from the moment I got out of the taxi arriving, until the time I departed. Great food, nice amenities, it was a perfect stay. Room was clean, room service brilliant, guest service did a great job. Amazing chef - awesome food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks for your gracious comments about your recent stay at the Hilton on the Park Melbourne. I am pleased you found the room comfortable and the team contributed to the enjoyment of your visit. I have shared your feedback with all concerned and I know they appreciated the recognition. We do hope to see you return again soon. Andrew Nisbet, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Loved the pool, jacuzzi and steam room! Very relaxing experience! The staff is amazing, very friendly and looked after us very well! Amazing view of the MCG (Melbourne Cricket Ground) and the city. Nice and cozy executive lounge, highly recommended for breakfast and evening drinks

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for your gracious comments about your recent stay at the Hilton on the Park Melbourne and we hope to see you return again soon. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I think long and hard before leaving negative reviews on Trip Advisor, but this review is well deserved. We grabbed a 5 star mystery deal off WOTIF to stay in Melbourne for an additional four nights. We were at the Sofitel (5 star) but they were fully booked so moved on to Hilton On The Park - what a huge disappointment.
The key negatives for us were:
The accommodation is so dated and dark.
The bathroom toilet flushed on its own, and when a neighbouring room used the bathroom it would wake you up in the fear that you were going down with the Titanic. The other odd thing with the shower is that there are only a single set of taps at bath level...so you need to run the taps, flip the faucet to shower and get drenched before you can move out of the way - probably a good idea for us girls to showercap up before gong in.
The beds were so uncomfortable, although we booked a queen/king they are actually two singles pushed together - unfortunately the sides of the singles are rigid so no comfortable snuggling in these rooms. We complained about the beds but were told every room in the hotel had the same set up....very misleading when you book and pay for a King.
For breakfast we just wanted a piece of toast and coffee - not a full buffet - which we were able to get in the downstairs restaurant for the pricey sum of $25 (we later found a French Laurents a few doors up for breakfast).
One morning we were dressing a workman tried to open our room! When we scrambled into clothes and asked what the?? he advised he just had the wrong room.
The staff in the restaurant for lunch hovered giving us the feeling they wanted us to leave, especially when they cleared our water glasses before we were finished and we had to ask for coffee.
Overall we felt the accommodation was not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel in Melbourne, with dated and dark rooms that just weren't comfortable or relaxing, nor did the service offered meet standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton on the Park Melbourne. I appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest bathroom appearance is an area we are actively examining. I am sorry to learn that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve; this is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Once more we chose a Hilton hotel for our stay and it was another pleasant experience.
As the name indicates, this Hilton is located close to one of the many nice parks of Melbourne, the Fitzroy Park, at walking distance from the city centre or at two stops of it, using the line 75 of the city tram.
We had a very nice and large room on the 17th floor, with beautiful views of the green areas that surround the Sports Arena and of the South Bank of Yarra River.
Breakfast was served till 10:30 during week days and till 11:00 in weekends, on the 18th floor, also with great views, where the staff was exceedingly kind and gentle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location, views from the 17th floor and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. We hope to see you return soon. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

"Sir you are upgraded to the executive level". Sounds great but you get an average room and there is no wifi, despite the promises. Get technical support to your room who suggest "open your window" or "use the free lobby wifi". Disappointing! I just wanted to do some work when everyone else was sleeping.
The reality is that the Hilton on the Park is an old hotel with poor infrastructure and good staff.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We appreciate your feedback regarding the speed of our wireless internet service. We apologize that it did not work well during your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience and I am currently addressing this opportunity with our service provider to ensure additional guests do not experience the same opportunity. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We hope you will consider staying with us again. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for two nights for our anniversary and it was such a disappointment.

To begin, our toilet was continuously flushing 5 minutes or so after we had already been to the toilet. It was very annoying when we were trying to have a sleep before we headed out that night.

Then when we returned home, the television in our room wasn't working. All I wanted was to have a hot shower and get into bed to watch the television but instead we had to spend an hour trying to sort it out. Then had to move to a room where the veiw was no where near as spectacular as the room we first had. Considering we had payed extra for a veiw, this was very frustrating.

In the morning I mentioned this to staff at the main reception and they said they would move us back to a room with a nice veiw. We never heard from anyone again.

Over all this was a highly disappointing experience, especially now that it has tarnished our anniversary weekend. When you pay over $400 a night you expect a little more than a basic room where the toilet and television are both not in functioning order.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and I am very sorry you were unhappy with your overall experience. I have replied to your Hilton survey in detail and will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton On The Park Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Address: 192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton On The Park Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the attractive inner-city suburb of East Melbourne, Hilton on the Park is an elegantly furbished hotel directly opposite the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).Each furbished hotel room has warm, natural tones and feature large windows, a flat-screen TV and a wide range of amenities to ensure a relaxing and easy stay. Offering free Wi-Fi to all guests, the iconic Park Lounge bar is the perfect place to have a casual drink before heading to the MCG. For breakfast and dinner, the Gallery Restaurant also provides market fresh cuisines while overlooking the beautiful Fitzroy Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton On The Park Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton On The Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hilton International East Melbourne
Hilton East Melbourne
East Melbourne Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton On The Park Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.