We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton On The Park Melbourne to your Saves list
Hilton On The Park Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #83 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Got nothing apart for good review. Only issue is a little out of town but 20 minute walk is ok. Staff were great and place was always tidy. Even as a diamond member but dressed as a hippy they still treated me great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for your gracious comments about your recent stay and ongoing loyalty as a Diamond HHonors guest. Hope to see you return again soon. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    382
    217
    79
    43
See reviews for
100
338
93
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel for its central location, great views large rooms as well as offering all the creature comforts. Very well priced for a Hilton hotel. This hotel offers a great selection of food choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The fitness centre is somewhat small but it offers a good range of equipment. The outdoor pool is fantastic and it has the added benefit of being heated!

Room Tip: Anything about the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and you found the food options, outdoor heated pool and location all to your liking. Hope to see you return soon! Safe travels,Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The reality is that this hotel prospers due to the sporting events next door and the hundreds of airline crew who stay here every night. I stayed there on business and ran into some unacceptable circumstances, no coffee bar, no desk, cracked paint, industrial plumbing and more.

It started when I tried to get some work done in the room. There isn't any proper desk but a large credenza with a specially purchased chair that fits under it. The problem is that the when sitting in the chair, you can't slide underneath as your knees hit even with the chair on the lowest setting. The bed isn't an option to work on as their was only hard wired internet in the room.

And speaking of the room, there was significant paint cracking near the vent along with bathroom fixtures right out of a public subway.

To top it off, I met some colleagues in the hotel lobby in the morning. When we tried to get some coffee, the only option was a full breakfast in the restaurant. No way to get coffee separately, unless we took the staff up on their suggestion and walked to 7-11. Yes, that's right, the Hilton recommendation was to go to a convenience store. I guess the thought of someone wanting just a coffee or perhaps with a pastry isn't an option.

I have stayed in over a 100 Hiltons for my work and this one ranked near the bottom, even though it is one of their flagship options. I wouldn't ever plan on returning here unless I had tickets to the Australian Open Tennis Tourney.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton on the Park Melbourne. I appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room appearance is an area we are actively examining. The points you raised will be addressed and my apologies for the poor impression. I note your comment regarding the desk chair; just for your information, they are adjustable to suit your height. I am sorry to learn that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve when wanting a morning coffee. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton on the Park recently which was a real treat. The hotel is very nice, could do with an update but is exceptionally well kept. The location is fantastic, close to sporting venues and the city, catching trams or taxi's into the city only took a few minutes and was very simple (especially with loads of shopping!).

The room we had was very nice, well equipped with everything we needed, the food in the restuarant was a really high standard and the breakfast options were superb, plenty of fresh and healthy options.

Probably the highlight were the staff! The waiting staff remembered the kid's names and were always attentive, from check in to check out the staff at reception and concierge as well as in the resturant and bar were brilliant.

We will come back again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors as the views are spectacular. Also the spa was very nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton on the Park Melbourne. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that so many of the team were helpful! I will be sure to share your comments with them. We all looks forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to Melbourne. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

location, location. everything you could ask for. Recommend Hotel to anyone. Perfect for anything you are wishing to see in Melbourne. Will come back over and over again. Have been here on a number of times and gets better all the time. Love the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for your gracious comments about your recent stay at the Hilton on the Park Melbourne. I have shared your feedback with all concerned and I know they appreciated the recognition. All the team look forward to welcoming you back, you can be sure there will be a warm welcome waiting. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton NZ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was unsure after reading reviews on this hotel what to expect. I had a room on the 5th floor. My room was large & comfortable sure it was tired, however it was clean & had a bath. The staff were very helpful & friendly- unlike I had been reading. They acknowledged you each day with a smile and went out of there way to assist you with problems, I needed a Doctor one was found for me with a time frame to work with. Staff made this hotel. Location central with a lovely park to enjoy. Meals are expensive, restaurants are close to this hotel, walk out of the foyer and turn left for quick access.

Room Tip: My room was on the 5th floor away from tour groups, ask not to be placed on a floor with tour groups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for your gracious comments about your recent stay at the Hilton on the Park Melbourne. I have shared your feedback with all concerned and I know they appreciated the recognition. We do hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Hilton is located 15 min walk to the City and has a team and train stop at its front door. But that it! For a Hilton it lacks class on all levels.
When was the last time you flushed a toilet with a handle at a 4 star Hotel.
The hallways and rooms are old decor and lacks services that the modern hotels have.
The bar is expensive and the breakfast is average.
If your after location this is it, if your after a Hilton luxury Experience this is not it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to note you found the location of the hotel to suit your needs. We look to reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room appearance is an area we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton On The Park Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Address: 192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton On The Park Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the attractive inner-city suburb of East Melbourne, Hilton on the Park is an elegantly furbished hotel directly opposite the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).Each furbished hotel room has warm, natural tones and feature large windows, a flat-screen TV and a wide range of amenities to ensure a relaxing and easy stay. Offering free Wi-Fi to all guests, the iconic Park Lounge bar is the perfect place to have a casual drink before heading to the MCG. For breakfast and dinner, the Gallery Restaurant also provides market fresh cuisines while overlooking the beautiful Fitzroy Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton On The Park Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton On The Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hilton International East Melbourne
Hilton East Melbourne
East Melbourne Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton On The Park Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.