We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel! Given free upgrade & allowed to check in 7 hours early!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton On The Park Melbourne to your Saves list
Hilton On The Park Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #81 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Fab hotel! Given free upgrade & allowed to check in 7 hours early!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hubby and I bought a Secret Hotel Deal on wotif and were happy to receive the Hilton on the Park for two nights. We arrived at 7.30am the day we were suppose to check in, but they still allowed us to check in that time which was super appreciated considering we were exhausted from our red-eye trip and a little jetlagged! We were also given a complimentary upgrade which was nice :))

The room was nice enough, very comfortable kings size bed with amazing pillows you sink into :) Nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. Complimentary robes to use, all the little bits and bobs u expect in a 5 star hotel was present. We had a nice view too :D

Our only complaint was that they gave us a room RIGHT NEXT to the elevators!! So everytime it was used u could hear it going up and down, like a tram. It was annoying at first but eventually u could drone it out. It was louder in the bathroom tho. So my only HUGE suggestion for anybody wanting to use this hotel is ask for a suite/room AWAY from the elevators!!

Apart from that, the service was super friendly and attentive. Breakfast was okay altho a little on the plain side compared to other buffet breakfasts I've tried in other hotels. For example, there was nobody at the egg station in case you wanted something OTHER than sunny side up eggs which were already on a warmed plate on the table. Also the menu said fried mushrooms were on the buffet breakfast, but for the two days we were there, fried mushrooms were not present! Only baby potatoes! Who has potatoes for breakfast if you dont mind me asking? It was still satisfying, and if you're going to go for the breakfast, you pay LESS per person if you book in advance as opposed to rocking up at the restaurant on the door and getting a table :)

One of the best things about the hotel is its proximity to the CDB. Less than 10 mins by foot. Its set in a really great location :)

Overall tho, a good hotel and I would probably stay there again...but this time ask for a room away from the elevators :) I'd have no problems recommending it to others :D

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the elevators!!!!! And pay for your buffet breakfast up front when u check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. I’m sorry for the noise issues experienced - your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the thin walls. Your comments will help us to correct these issues. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in Melbourne. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    360
    200
    74
    40
See reviews for
94
318
88
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The location is a little remote for my liking.
There are a couple of restaurants and convenience type stores nearby but for any real variety you need to walk long distances or catch a cab if you don't have a car. There is no shopping nearby either.
The lobby/bar area lacks atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for the comments and hope to see you return soon. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel is located on the park a 10 minute walk downtown. The Rod Laver Tennis stadium and the football stadium are located across the street from the hotel. The rooms are clean well appointed and the service was excellent. The executive lounge was open the whole day and provided an escape after a full day of touring. Many local restaurants are located within a five minute walk from the hotel. A well heated outdoor pool and exercise facility as well as spa are available to guests. The concierge staff is excellent and will help with all of your arrangements from transportation and great restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Hilton on the Park! So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and the Concierge team contributed to the enjoyment of your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Norfolk
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I am biased, as I really like this property, and have said so before. I stayed here for 6 nights and for whatever reasons, it works. Yes, its old fashioned. Yes, its slightly out of town. Yes the decoration is dated. Yes the shower is over the bath. But the staff are brilliant. The hotel feels friendky. And its all down to the GM whomever he or she may be.10/10 folks. I will keep coming back as my Dollar is appreciated.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff take such good care of you on each visit. All the team hope to see you return soon! Safe travels. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My experience did not meet expectations. My suitcases were delivered to me at check in for me to take to my room! No voucher in my room for buy one get one free drink, but eventually bar staff agreed. I was sent to the next floor to obtain a newspaper, no paper or people there. The shower taps are down at the bath spout, therefore always having to bend down, could be dangerous. At check in was offered upgrade for another $160 per night however we had already paid high nightly rate. Room service had a answering machine to leave a message, housekeeping didn't want to know about my cutlery requests. No green tea in the room. Interesting that on check out no one asks how your stay was....very telling. The constant hallway noise from 3am each morning is loud. Not sure what went wrong but we wouldnt return to this property.

Room Tip: Ask for MCG view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I sincerely apologise for the issues encountered during your stay. Your comfort is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing these shortcomings to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in Melbourne you will consider staying with us again. Thank you. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I needed accomodation urgently having been detained in Melbourne longer I expected, night was falling and it was getting cold outside. I presented at the Reception counter at the Wellington Parade Hilton and the receptionista was courteous and efficient and confirmed I coul have a room for the night. Accepted. Nice room, courteous staff. Even provide me with a room for a further night which became necessary. But not a third night. Had to find alternative accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and you found the property to your liking. We hope to see you return soon! Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reiveratsea
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Standard Hilton fare - this is not an issue but just that this hotel is up to the usual quality but with no special extras apart from the high quality staff and the great view over the MCG and Olympic Park

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room with a view of the MCG
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton On The Park Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Address: 192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton On The Park Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the attractive inner-city suburb of East Melbourne, Hilton on the Park is an elegantly furbished hotel directly opposite the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).Each furbished hotel room has warm, natural tones and feature large windows, a flat-screen TV and a wide range of amenities to ensure a relaxing and easy stay. Offering free Wi-Fi to all guests, the iconic Park Lounge bar is the perfect place to have a casual drink before heading to the MCG. For breakfast and dinner, the Gallery Restaurant also provides market fresh cuisines while overlooking the beautiful Fitzroy Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton On The Park Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton On The Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hilton International East Melbourne
Hilton East Melbourne
East Melbourne Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton On The Park Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.