We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel on the Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Hilton On The Park Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton On The Park Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #72 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel on the Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel is located on the park a 10 minute walk downtown. The Rod Laver Tennis stadium and the football stadium are located across the street from the hotel. The rooms are clean well appointed and the service was excellent. The executive lounge was open the whole day and provided an escape after a full day of touring. Many local restaurants are located within a five minute walk from the hotel. A well heated outdoor pool and exercise facility as well as spa are available to guests. The concierge staff is excellent and will help with all of your arrangements from transportation and great restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Hilton on the Park! So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and the Concierge team contributed to the enjoyment of your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    322
    182
    64
    30
See reviews for
87
284
83
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holt, Norfolk
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I am biased, as I really like this property, and have said so before. I stayed here for 6 nights and for whatever reasons, it works. Yes, its old fashioned. Yes, its slightly out of town. Yes the decoration is dated. Yes the shower is over the bath. But the staff are brilliant. The hotel feels friendky. And its all down to the GM whomever he or she may be.10/10 folks. I will keep coming back as my Dollar is appreciated.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff take such good care of you on each visit. All the team hope to see you return soon! Safe travels. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My experience did not meet expectations. My suitcases were delivered to me at check in for me to take to my room! No voucher in my room for buy one get one free drink, but eventually bar staff agreed. I was sent to the next floor to obtain a newspaper, no paper or people there. The shower taps are down at the bath spout, therefore always having to bend down, could be dangerous. At check in was offered upgrade for another $160 per night however we had already paid high nightly rate. Room service had a answering machine to leave a message, housekeeping didn't want to know about my cutlery requests. No green tea in the room. Interesting that on check out no one asks how your stay was....very telling. The constant hallway noise from 3am each morning is loud. Not sure what went wrong but we wouldnt return to this property.

Room Tip: Ask for MCG view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I sincerely apologise for the issues encountered during your stay. Your comfort is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing these shortcomings to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in Melbourne you will consider staying with us again. Thank you. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I needed accomodation urgently having been detained in Melbourne longer I expected, night was falling and it was getting cold outside. I presented at the Reception counter at the Wellington Parade Hilton and the receptionista was courteous and efficient and confirmed I coul have a room for the night. Accepted. Nice room, courteous staff. Even provide me with a room for a further night which became necessary. But not a third night. Had to find alternative accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and you found the property to your liking. We hope to see you return soon! Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reiveratsea
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Standard Hilton fare - this is not an issue but just that this hotel is up to the usual quality but with no special extras apart from the high quality staff and the great view over the MCG and Olympic Park

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room with a view of the MCG
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Really! For the price AND the brand name this should be much better. Small rooms, flaky enamel baths and the smallest flat screen TV ever made!!!!!! This visit was very disappointing and it SHOULDN'T be. The staff, however, we're fabulous. BUT .... In this day and age, to STILL be charging for Internet. GROW UP!!!! We have recently stayed in hotels and B n B's in Europe, Hunter Valley, South Coast NSW and WiFi is ..... Wait for it ....FREE!!!!!! When will these so called high end hotels ever get it ...... URGHH!!! ..... Next time I'll stay in a small establishment that truly caters for their guests. Don't waste your time or money at the Hilton.

Room Tip: ONLY if you need the MCG. Otherwise go somewhere else. DON'T get a room behind the lifts - it so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding the cost of our wireless internet service. While we do charge an additional fee for wireless internet in guest rooms, we do offer free wifi in the public areas of the hotel, the ground floor, bar and restaurant. We strive to be competitive with other hotels and offer quality services and amenities in our guest rooms. We hope you will consider staying with us again. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 10 days in May 2012.

This is a large, very busy hotel. Flight crews and other groups regularly come and go, and the lobby is very frequently busy. The lobby staff are friendly and helpful. However, the elevators seem to be very fast and efficient.

Area - the hotel is just slightly outside of the main downtown area. It's either a 10-15 minute walk or a 5 minute ride to downtown Melbourne on the tram which stops nearby. The tram is quite convenient to the hotel and has regular service several times per hour to/from downtown. The Melbourne Cricket Ground is directly across the street from the hotel. There are few restaurants directly near the hotel, which tends to leave hotel guests to eat at the hotel restaurant or go into the downtown area. The same is true for bars or cafes.

Rooms - the rooms are the large and reasonably well appointed rooms which you would expect for a Hilton Hotel. The bed is comfortable and the room reasonably quiet. The bathroom is a good size. The minibar is fairly well stocked.

Restaurant - the restaurant is a moderate size, and has quite plain ambience - somewhat like a cafeteria. The quality of the food is good. The service staff is friendly and good (at least when the restaurant isn't very full). The prices are quite high for dinner. They have a "Market" dinner where you choose the particular fresh food you want them to cook for you, however it will cost $50 without counting drinks.

Fitness center - it's small, but fairly well equipped.

Bar - the bar is well stocked, and has comfortable sitting areas and a nice ambience. The prices are what you would expect for a hotel - somewhat high. The bar area gets quite packed with people after games at the Melbourne Cricket Grounds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton on the Park Melbourne. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the team were helpful! I will be sure to share your comments with them. I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton On The Park Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Address: 192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton On The Park Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the attractive inner-city suburb of East Melbourne, Hilton on the Park is an elegantly furbished hotel directly opposite the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).Each furbished hotel room has warm, natural tones and feature large windows, a flat-screen TV and a wide range of amenities to ensure a relaxing and easy stay. Offering free Wi-Fi to all guests, the iconic Park Lounge bar is the perfect place to have a casual drink before heading to the MCG. For breakfast and dinner, the Gallery Restaurant also provides market fresh cuisines while overlooking the beautiful Fitzroy Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hilton On The Park Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton On The Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hilton International East Melbourne
Hilton East Melbourne
East Melbourne Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton On The Park Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.