We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for the MCG” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton On The Park Melbourne to your Saves list
Hilton On The Park Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #83 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Location for the MCG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night with our 2 boys aged 6 and 8. We stayed here as we were attending the football at the MCG which is just across the road. We had two interconnecting rooms on the 5th floor which overlooked the pool/spa area and the Fitzroy Gardens.

The rooms are comfortable, although smaller than other Hilton hotels we have stayed in.
The one problem we had with the room is the bathroom. The sink area is fine but the bath/shower is a problem. It is an all in one and the taps for the shower are also the bath taps, but they are right down the bottom near the bath (as you can see in one of my photos). This makes it very hard for tall people like myself as well as the elderly or someone with a bad back, as you have to bend right down just to turn on the shower. Toilet flush is also a little outdated for the Hilton brand

The location was great for us so would highly recommend for anyone going to the MCG or the Tennis Centre or AAMI Park for an event. It is also just a short stroll through the Fitzroy Gardens into the city.

Could not fault the staff, their service was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and you found the room comfort and location of the property to your liking. The bathroom configuration is an area we are actively reviewing to improve our guest experience. We hope to see you and your family return again soon! Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    382
    217
    79
    43
See reviews for
100
338
93
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Although the location is fantastic for the footy and pretty easy to get around from( city circle tram close), it's getting a bit dated. House cleaning at 9.30 at night being loud, even after a complaint to front desk is not good. It's common sense not to have cleaning then! Front desk seemed professional enough, but the time for renovations, especially the bathroom (bath/shower set up).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location of the hotel to your satisfaction. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and sorry to learn you were unhappy with our guest rooms and the noise from cleaning. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here about 4yrs ago & loved it, so when my husband suggested we spend a few nights in Melbourne, I didn't hesitate to suggest Hilton on the Park. Obviously last time I was in a newly renovated & refurbished room. The room we got this time was old, small, smelly & in much need of a facelift. We went to the executive lounge & were served drinks out of dirty cups & the overall vibe was nothing like the executive lounges we've been to in previous Hilton visits.
Definitely not up to Hilton standards!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms and cleanliness of the cups in the Executive Lounge. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was shocked to discover i was at a Hilton hotel with Hilton on the park!

The rooms are dark, the bathrooms are from the 1700's and the staff are too busy to look after you.

We stayed here after initially thinking we had booked the Hilton South Warf ( we will never make that mistake again )

For $250 a night this hotel was not worth it, it is in my opinion worth about $100 a night if that.

We will not be returning to this hotel

Room Tip: Hilton on the Park is not Hilton South Warf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room appearance is an area we are actively examining. We usually receive positive feedback regarding the team’s level of customer service and I’m sorry to learn you did not experience our usual high standards in service delivery. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Hilton on the Park is in an excellent location being easy walking distance to the MCG and other sporting venues. The park is a giood place to excercise and walk through, there are trams on the street outside so it has good access into the city. The dining room looks over the park and has a good outlook. The breakfasts are very good and a choice of mean type at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you return in the near future – there will always be a warm welcome waiting. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Spent Mothers Day weekend here with my daughter. All the staff we dealt with were very friendly and efficient. A great location - just outside the business/downtown area but opposite the MCG and the tram stop right out the front with trams to Collins Street or Flinders Street so getting back to the Skybus at Spencer Street Station was so easy. Our room was a great size and beds comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a room looking over towards the MCG and had a beautiful sunrise and slept soundly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Mother’s Day weekend experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and you found the room to be spacious and to your liking. Hope to see you return soon! Safe travels. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Got a great deal on Need it now, then upgraded when we arrived.
Hotel is really well located for the football. It is also only 5 minute walk into the city through the beautiful Gardens. As you are not in the middle of the city this hotel is really quiet.
Staff were are really helpful with any requests.
We did have only one problem which we notified staff as we left. Water pressure in the shower was appalling, they said they would get maintenance to look at it so hopefully that was done.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Thanks for notify the team about the water pressure issue so we could address the shortcoming. Hope to see you return soon. Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton On The Park Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Address: 192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton On The Park Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the attractive inner-city suburb of East Melbourne, Hilton on the Park is an elegantly furbished hotel directly opposite the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).Each furbished hotel room has warm, natural tones and feature large windows, a flat-screen TV and a wide range of amenities to ensure a relaxing and easy stay. Offering free Wi-Fi to all guests, the iconic Park Lounge bar is the perfect place to have a casual drink before heading to the MCG. For breakfast and dinner, the Gallery Restaurant also provides market fresh cuisines while overlooking the beautiful Fitzroy Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton On The Park Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton On The Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hilton International East Melbourne
Hilton East Melbourne
East Melbourne Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton On The Park Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.