We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Luxurious Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton On The Park Melbourne to your Saves list
Hilton On The Park Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #81 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Haymarket, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Luxurious Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel during our recent 3 night stay. I don't know what the "cheap motel feel" guy (March 31) was on about. As a Hilton Honors Diamond I stay at a lot of Hilton properties and this is one of best I've been to in a while - much better than the Sydney Hilton. The spacious two-room suite we were fortunately upgraded to had a large, gleaming white bathroom with two sinks and a walk-in, doorless shower; extremely tasteful decor and beautiful, low-key halogen lighting. The executive lounge staff was extremely attentive and helpful and the breakfast and evening buffets were terrific. The location adjacent to Fitzroy Park was very pleasant and almost bucolic, whereas the other (Wharf) Hilton appears to be connected to the convention center and, I'm sure, has quite a different feel. Excellent views of the city skyline and cricket ground from the upper floors. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Request and upper floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and you found the room layout and styling in addition to the location all to your liking. Hope to see you return soon! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    343
    194
    70
    38
See reviews for
93
306
85
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in, great service !!! Made to feel extremely welcome, even the housekeeping staff stopped to say hello. Busy check in desk, well manned. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Beds are soooo comfortable and blackout works amazingly... Think you gonna have a nice nap?!?!? The tram that pass in front of the hotel is so noisy!!!!! Staff aren't really helpful. From time to time ( yes, I stay a lot n this hotel because of the company I work for) the shower gets cold and suddenly really hot!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your review and glad you find the beds comfortable and blackout curtains effective. I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the tram noise. Your comments have helped us to improve our guest experience and we will now be offering free earplugs at the front desk. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This felt like a cheap motel. The toilets near the foyer were flooded unbeknown to the staff. The other toilets were blocked. It was dirty, staff were unknowledgeable and unhelpful. Prices were through the roof $500ish (event weekend or something). Unimpressed entirely.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your stay in April 2012. We apologize for the issues with the ground floor bathroom and our maintenance team fixed the unforeseen maintenance works within an hour of the problem being reported. My apologies that you had to experience the shortcoming, and if you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had an efficient check in even though we arrived early . Very impressed with our room , great bathroom and a good size . The breakfast had a huge selection all nicely presented . The staff there were all very proffessional and extremely helpful , the hotel has nice restaurants nearby , it is a good location , recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you, the buffet breakfast was enjoyed and you found the amenities of the property to your liking. Hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Hilton on the Park delivers what you would expect from a Hilton - great location right by the Cricket Ground and the Rod Laver Arena and a 5 minute cab ride from the CBD. The rooms are decent sized and well maintained. The staff are friendly. A special mention for the concierges who were in the evenings and late night - they were both very helpful. All in all a good experience. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let the Concierge team know that they contributed to your enjoyment. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Room was big & the bed huge. Very comfortable & clean. We will definitely be staying here again. The only thing I could fault was our room was right next to the lift, not being a heavy sleeper I heard the lift going up & down in the night.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. Thank you for your lift noise feedback. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the noisy hallways and thin walls. Your comments will help us to correct these issues. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton On The Park Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Address: 192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton On The Park Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the attractive inner-city suburb of East Melbourne, Hilton on the Park is an elegantly furbished hotel directly opposite the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).Each furbished hotel room has warm, natural tones and feature large windows, a flat-screen TV and a wide range of amenities to ensure a relaxing and easy stay. Offering free Wi-Fi to all guests, the iconic Park Lounge bar is the perfect place to have a casual drink before heading to the MCG. For breakfast and dinner, the Gallery Restaurant also provides market fresh cuisines while overlooking the beautiful Fitzroy Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton On The Park Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton On The Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hilton International East Melbourne
Hilton East Melbourne
East Melbourne Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton On The Park Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.