We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Location......nice hotel, amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton On The Park Melbourne to your Saves list
Hilton On The Park Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #83 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great City Location......nice hotel, amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are fortunate to have been located here for a week upon our first arrival in Australia to work. Like others have suggested, there are a few good reasons for choosing this hotel. Having stayed previously on various occasions, I have always enjoyed the proximity to the parks and the MCG, however this time staying with Mrs RTW, the extra yards were made to make our stay memorable.
We booked a suite which included for access to the top floor complimentary bar. This got every evening off on a great footing, with an array of wonderful snacks, good wine, casual music and incredible views. The room itself was pretty amazing and catered for our every whim. If you get an opportunity to book a room with access to the top floor bar, do so.
The ground floor bar also allowed for relaxation prior to a night out, however the breakfast area always appeared a bit to sterile for my liking (my only complaint about the whole hotel).
The staff are a real plus, always looking to make life easy. This was especially noticable in the way they can accomodate both private guests and mass airline staff bookings. We did unfortunately suffer a major oversight when we checked out, and the honesty of the staff was incredible, and again, a reflection of the true qualities of the hotel.
Location wise, we enjoy Fitzroy as a good place to eat, which is an easy walk from the hotel, as is downtown Melbourne.
We did not eat at the hotel aside from snacks in the top floor bar, however feedback from previous trips have advised the food is great.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with access to the top floor bar. Its a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and you found the amenities of the hotel to your liking. Great to learn you enjoyed the Executive Lounge also! Hope to see you return soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    382
    217
    79
    43
See reviews for
100
338
93
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I travel a lot for work and stay in a lot of business hotels. I really liked Hilton on the Park for a number of reasons. The location is good, with beautiful views of the park and some great restaurants nearby. The staff were really wonderful - thoughtful and helpful. I had an upgraded room as I have status with Hilton, and the room was great - completely up to date and in excellent condition. But the Hilton REALLY shined when I left my brand new Macbook Air in the room! They called within minutes of me checking out, but I didn't hear the phone ring and didn't realize it was missing until I had already checked in at the airport. I called and they were fantastic - they said not to worry, they would arrange for the laptop to be couried to me the next day. I was so happy that I didn't have to get a taxi back to the hotel, and then take a taxi back - I would have missed my flight and the cost was going to be around $300 just for that alone. This superlative service is what distinguishes good hotels from great ones. No question, when I come back to Melbourne, I'll be staying at the Hilton on the Park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Of course I am delighted to learn that you were satisfied with so many aspects of your visit and that the teams’ proactive actions to return your Macbook Air saved you time and money. I have shared your comments with all concerned and I know they appreciated the recognition! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Coast, QLD, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights as part of a work-related visit to Melbourne. Loved the location overlooking Fitzroy Gardens and the MCG. The hotel is walking distance to Bridge Rd and there are a couple of good restaurants, cafes and a 7-11 very close by. I chose to upgrade my room to a larger one on the 17th floor which provided an amazing view over the city and MCG. Staff were lovely except in the restaurant, where I had breakfast on one morning. Waited for what seemed a long time to get a coffee despite it being pretty quiet at the time. Front desk and concierge staff were very helpful and courteous and I cannot fault their service. As were the staff in the lounge bar. Conference facilties were excellent and the catering for the conference was of a very high standard.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the option to upgrade for an additional $30/night for a larger room on a higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and am glad that you found the location, conference catering and front of house service levels to your satisfaction. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of breakfast service that you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We chose the Park Hilton as it is close to the MCG in which I have a function. Check in was fine until we got to the $100 required incase we broke something or raided the mini bar. This was not in the confirmation email that was sent to me. Time and embarrassment could have been saved if this was included in the email. We finally got that sorted and upon arrival in the room we were disappointed in the bathroom. Large stained crack in the wall behind it and to turn the shower/bath on is less the gracefull. To turn the shower on you have to bend over to reach the taps that are below your knees which results in cold water hitting the middle of your back.
Was hoping to do this every year but I shouldn't be writing a review an hour after checking in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Hilton on the Park. I appreciate your candour as we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room appearance is an area we are actively examining. I’m sorry the pre-authorisation charge was not explained before your arrival, this is a common practice among all hotels and your feedback will assist us to improve our communication of this aspect. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffionas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

if this hotel is under different name, I would be happier! this is not up to Hilton 5-star hotel standard! OLD, OUTDATED Decoration and it is not worth what I paid the room. The most value in this hotel is STAFF service. The management should be thankful for their contribution!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. Of course we are pleased the team contributed to the enjoyment of your visit. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night as a gift of rest and relaxation and did not get to sleep a wink! A high pitched squealing sound emanated through the room- there was no protection from the sound of the wind 16 storeys up in the air!
To sit comfortably in a robe and at least admire the view was impossible as the 'complimentary' robes were the texture of concrete they were so worn and hard.
The parking was exorbitant, I would imagine at least one free spot with a room.
When I noted the outdated nature of the room and appalling state of the towels and robes the gentlemen on the desk said that everything is as it is until a grand refurbishment happens some time in the future. I would suggest if you want to keep your customers, close the doors until the refurbishment happens. Will not recommend and will not be back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I sincerely apologise for the noise issue encountered and comfort of the bath robes during your stay. Your comfort is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in Melbourne you will consider staying with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Staff :
Booked the room via wotif.com for two nights , under two separate bookings. I indicated in both reservations that I would like to have two single beds ( the other option provided is king bed ) . I called the number as in the website and asked to be directed to reservation. I requested to have same room throughout my period of staying. The lady who was assisted us ( Louise) told me that this was not possible since my rooms have been allocated to two single beds on 1st night, and king size bed on second night. I informed her that this is not what I have requested in booking page .She insisted that this is what she saw and asked me to contact wotif instead to change my request . Why would I need to change my request again to Wotif , I 'm pretty sure what I saw in my booking page was two single beds arrangement for both nights.
Was it even too difficult to accommodate my requests anyway ? I thanked her and hung up. When I checked in, the lady assisted me provided different information . She was very nice and helpful and assured me I will get same room . Concierge (Dan ) also was very helpful .

Room :
Small room . No slippers. Blanket feels like cheap and old materials.

Location :
Just opposite tram stop. Nice view overlook Fitzroy gardens. There are plenty cafes and restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance.

Free city bus for tourist(stop number 4 ) is also 10 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize that you were not happy with your room assignment during your recent trip. We strive to accommodate all reservations and I’m sorry for the initial disappointment when your room requests were not meet. I’m pleased to learn the team could accommodate your preferred room type upon check in and that Don contributed to the enjoyment of your visit. Further we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest room provisions. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton On The Park Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Address: 192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton On The Park Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the attractive inner-city suburb of East Melbourne, Hilton on the Park is an elegantly furbished hotel directly opposite the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).Each furbished hotel room has warm, natural tones and feature large windows, a flat-screen TV and a wide range of amenities to ensure a relaxing and easy stay. Offering free Wi-Fi to all guests, the iconic Park Lounge bar is the perfect place to have a casual drink before heading to the MCG. For breakfast and dinner, the Gallery Restaurant also provides market fresh cuisines while overlooking the beautiful Fitzroy Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton On The Park Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton On The Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hilton International East Melbourne
Hilton East Melbourne
East Melbourne Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton On The Park Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.