We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for tourists,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton On The Park Melbourne to your Saves list
Hilton On The Park Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #82 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Danville, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great location for tourists,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights in late- December 2007 and really enjoyed our visit. The staff could not be more helpful with directions, special requests, etc.

We were initially assigned to a 17th floor room next to the elevator bank which was extremely noisy (not the doors opening, but the mechanism!) Reject these rooms if you get one. However we had no problem changing to another room down the hall which had a nice park view. The room itself was not tremendously spacious but we managed to fit a baby crib near the table. The decor reminded me of the deluxe hotels from 20 years ago - nice, not horrible, nothing special. Appreciated the stocked refrig. The bathroom had a nice long counter and good water pressure.

The pool is decent sized and gets plenty of summer sun, though it could use a few more tables and chairs. The gym was about a B- though the spa changing rooms were nice particularly if you are checking out at noon but want to spend the afternoon at the pool. Underground self-parking was convenient. One must also not forget the free internet computers in a business center just off the main lobby (compare to other hotels in Aust. which wanted $10-20/hr)

Personally as a tourist I loved the location - close enough to downtown (15 min walk or short tram ride (which stops in front of hotel)) but without traffic or noise issues. As other have noted, it is directly across from the massive Cricket stadium - you may find a little traffic on game days though we were not inconvenienced. If you do not feel like paying for the grossly overpriced restaurant ($5 coffee in lobby - egads!) or room service there are good indian and italian restaurants just down the block that both do take-away business and are open reasonably late. The hotel is also a 15 min walk from the restaurants and bars in the interesting Fitzroy neighborhood (think Melrose in LA about 20 years ago).
The hotel is also fairly close to the freeway entrance if heading south to phillip island (penguins!) It is nice to have 2 parks nearby where you can walk, jog or just read and relax.

If I was visiting on business I would probably go with the Westin downtown. If I was planning to hang out at the beach I would look for something in St. Kilda's. But for your average American family tourist, the Hilton was great.

  • Liked — Location, quality, price, parking, service were all excellent.
  • Disliked — Dated decor, renovation needed. Grossly overpriced food.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    382
    216
    79
    43
See reviews for
100
337
93
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

After checking in I ordered a burger in the restaurant. It had obviously been placed under a heater as the frilly toothpick adornment on top was burnt and the bun was covered in soot. The air conditioning in my room made a racket even when supposedly switched off and there was the sound of air gushing through it all night. They said they couldn't move me as they were full. The same night someone tried to enter my room as they had issued him with a duplicate key. The next day they moved my things to another room which was OK, although the following morning I found the pants I intended to wear were missing. After I reported it they were delivered to my room, scrunched up in a plastic bag.

  • Liked — Quiet room, if you can get one.
  • Disliked — Noisy aicon.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

We stayed at the Hilton Melbourne for 1 night in Feb 2008.
We booked and payed for a King size room - which we received but soon found that they use 2 single beds and push them together. After paying $200+ for this room we would at least epect a proper / coomfortable king size bed.
Not only was the bed 2 singles it was so soft that when you sat on the side the 2 ends lifted up.

Not only were the beds terrible but we had 3 different house keeping staff knock on out door between 8.30am and 10.30am(checkout was 11am) to clean our rooms.
One would think that they would have some sort of list of those rooms that had already checked out.
One of the house keeping staff even used his key card to open the door and proceeded to enter the room even after we called out to him to wait and do not enter.

We were etreamly dissapointed in the level of professionalism shown by 90% of the staff at this hotel.

  • Liked — View over the MCG
  • Disliked — Beds and Staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

My boyfriend and I just spent 2 nights in the Hilton and really enjoyed it. Whilst the building itself looks like a bit of a concrete behemoth, our room was lovely - a business room on the 16th floor, recently renovated and with all mod cons including a plasma tv and very comfortable king size bed. Location was perfect, by some beautiful gardens and close enough to get to the city either by tram or a 15 min walk.

Hotel staff were nice but not in your face, which is what we were looking for. Housekeeping did a great job on the room, and we weren't woken up once during our stay.

The bonus was the pool, which was much needed in high 30's heat! I've stayed at a quite a few Hiltons and would definitely come back here again - at 95GBP a night, it's a good deal for central Melbourne.

  • Liked — Room was lovely and modern
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

This hotel is really a great place to go if you miss the 70s. It really needs quite a rehabilitation. But then again, it still holds its elegance, and although everything went wrong on this trip to Melbourne, the hotel fixed it all for me. The concierge service here was outstanding. Fixing both our tour bookings and our repeatedly lost property, delivering it on my door or sending it home to my address. Great guys - all my stars go to you!

Not so much for the receptionist who (w)couldn't upgrade me, but would rather give me a continental breakfast (while a full buffet was included in my rate) - so essentially we got a downgrade...

The hotel is a bit out of the way from central Melbourne, but for most swift walkers, it is no more than a 10 mins walk max from CBD. Go through Fitzroy gardens at night for a full on possum attack - good fun.

  • Liked — The concierge service
  • Disliked — The receptionist trainee, the 70-style,
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights on the last stop of our Australian Honeymoon.
We had booked an executive floor room, which included access to the club lounge for a price of AUD 230 or GBP 100 per night.
I used to be a Hilton Gold Card holder, but now only a Silver member which means no upgrades!
The executive room was pretty good, but as mentioned in another review, it only had a small 15 inch flatscreen TV with a strange remote.
On the first morning, we were rudely awoken by the sound of hammering at 7.30AM. I called reception to enquire what was going on. They informed me that they were renovating a whole floor, some 6 levels below us! They then offered to move rooms for us, which I said an immediate 'yes please' to. A ground floor poolside room or a corner suite on the 7th floor was offered to us. Of course we took the suite and a porter helped us move. This whole episode was handled with great courtesy and professionalism by the Hilton staff.
As only certain floors have been renovated, the suite did look straight out of the eighties! It was great though with fantastic views over towards the city and the MCG, and the ever so common (in Australia anyway!) hot tub.
The club lounge was fantastic with excellent service. The breakfast buffet had a limited range, but everything was good. Although the lounge is open all day, it only serves alcholic drinks from 6 - 8.30 - so called 'pre dinner drinks'. (this seems to contrast with European lounges serving drinks all day)
The location is oppsite the MCG and it is only a 10 minute walk to the city centre. There is both a tram stop and railway station right outside the hotel with direct lines to the main Flinders Street Station.
The is also free internet access at the business centre in the lobby area and also the club lounge.
If you need transport back to the airport, then apart from a taxi, the 'skybus' service picks you up from the hotel in a small bus and then transfers you to their larger coach at Spencer St Railway Station, for around AUD 13 each.
Overall the Hilton is a very good hotel, slightly out of the centre, but close enough to walk to.

  • Liked — The club lounge
  • Disliked — Having to move rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Or E gun
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

Unfortunately the upgrades that have found their way into other Australian Hilton properties have thus far avoided Melbourne.
Even in the executive rooms, the TV's are old and do not work that well, along with furniture that has seen better days. Soft remodels have not been enough to bring this hotel up to snuff. The crowning glory (failure) in this hotel is its plumbing. The manic changes from hot to cold in the shower are enough to drive any traveler to curse like a sailor. The room is also not the quietest, although it does keep the morning light out admirably. While the front desk is friendly enough the the location is perfect for events at the cricket ground or tennis center (although be ready to pay two to three times the normal rate if major events are taking place there, i.e., Boxing Day Test or Melbourne Open) as it is a little east of the CBD. Some may complain about the distance, but I like the location and find the walk through neighboring Fitzroy and Treasury Gardens to be quite pleasant, a nice way to start the day as I head into town. Alternatively, the amazing Yarra Tram stops in front of the hotel and can take you virtually anywhere in the city and beyond. With its location, I tend to eat room service more than I should, There's is not too bad and quick. All the Australian Hilton's have a similar menu, with the classic Club sandwich along with the Indian favorite, Nasi Goreng. Once Hilton gets around to fixing this property the way they did the one in Sydney, I will be so very happy.(albeit paying more) Until then...always a little disappointed.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton On The Park Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Address: 192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton On The Park Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the attractive inner-city suburb of East Melbourne, Hilton on the Park is an elegantly furbished hotel directly opposite the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).Each furbished hotel room has warm, natural tones and feature large windows, a flat-screen TV and a wide range of amenities to ensure a relaxing and easy stay. Offering free Wi-Fi to all guests, the iconic Park Lounge bar is the perfect place to have a casual drink before heading to the MCG. For breakfast and dinner, the Gallery Restaurant also provides market fresh cuisines while overlooking the beautiful Fitzroy Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton On The Park Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton On The Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hilton International East Melbourne
Hilton East Melbourne
East Melbourne Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton On The Park Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.