We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel located close to Bridge Road clothes shops and MCG” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Hilton On The Park Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton On The Park Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #70 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old hotel located close to Bridge Road clothes shops and MCG”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Clean large room. King bed was 2 single beds put together. Disappointed that was given room next to 3 lifts as heard noise from lifts going up and down all night and whistling. Shower over bath with taps at bath level difficult to adjust. Small plasma TV with sound out of sync with picture and poor quality picture, Put us off purchasing movie . Car park not too expensive if park self. Old hotel. Only a few restaurants located within walking distance. Close to MCG. 45 minute walk to casino and crown, south bank. Not great location to city on foot. Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to not be given rooms near lifts, we had 723
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback to help us to correct these issues. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    320
    179
    59
    30
See reviews for
86
281
82
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Have stayed here on a few occasions but it is just getting very tired. I think they need to start again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

5 minutes from the MCG, right on the tram for the city, great location.

Hotel is a bit strange. I had to check my booking to confirm that it was 5 star.

Room was nice with a view of the MCG, but the tv was smaller than my computer monitor at work (maybe 14" ?). Mini bar not checked for 2 days running.

I checked in about 7 in the evening and although the room had been serviced, the previous occupants food/tray was still in the corridor outside. Over worked staff maybe?

The staff were very friendly and helpful, that being said.

I wouldn't recommend the restaurant. Seemed more than a little like a cafe (this may be the theme they are going for?). Selection was pretty limited. Given the tremendous range, number and quality of eateries in Melbourne, I'd advise eating out.

Same for breakfast. Two or three tram stops towards Richmond and you can have breakfast at the Richmond Hill Cafe & Larder on Bridge Street.

Overall, the hotel was nice enough, but it is probably at the lower end of a 5 star rating, although for the price it was good value.

Room Tip: Eat out. Richmond Hill Cafe and Larder for breakfast.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found the location to your liking and the team contributed to the enjoyment of your visit. I appreciate your candor regarding the television size and the Gallery Restaurant; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our appearance is an area we are actively examining. We do hope to see you return to the Hilton on the Park should you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The hotel is a little dated in parts, but is still a reasonable quality. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is perfect if you are attending an event at the MCG, and is a short walk to Bridge Road. I wouldnt book this hotel if you are planning on spending most of your time in the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay with us! So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We booked to stay at the Hilton on the Park for 5 nights during the Australian Open tennis. The second stop on a world tour. What a great position – it’s ideally placed for walking to the tennis around the MCG – approximately 10 minutes.
The “free tourist bus” also has a stop just across the road in the park, and the trains and trams stop on the road outside the hotel. Metcards (for the trams) can be bought from the 24/7 shop 50 yards up from the hotel.
We arrived early but our room was ready so we could check in at 1.00pm. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet even though it faced Wellington Terrace. It had the usual Hilton amenities: fridge, hairdryer, toiletries etc
WiFi was free in the reception/lobby area – authorisation codes are collected from with the receptionist or concierge. The receptionists and concierges were all extremely courteous and helpful.
We had a room only package so used the local restaurants for all of our meals – “Coffee on Wellington” for breakfast and a variety of restaurants just along the road for our evening meals.
The hotel – although way from the hustle of Fed Square, was a pleasant walk into the “city” and to the tourist tram around the city.
Ideal position for any sporting fixture and we wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
I am very happy to read your comments about your January stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. The Australian Open is a terrific time in Melbourne and we hope to see you return for the 2013 tennis championships....safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed two nights here on our trip to Australia and really enjoyed our time in Melbourne. Although we were quite late arriving at the hotel check in was quick. On getting to our room we realised our safe had been locked, we let front desk know and this was replaced within 30 minutes along with the unit it was fixed too!

Other than on our first night we did not use the bar / restaurant at the hotel but on that first night service was friendly and efficient.

On opening curatins on our first morning we really got to appreciate the view and the closeness of the MCG to the hotel.

A short walk through the neighbouring parkand we were soon at Federation Square where we enjoyed a lovely breakfast at the Time Out cafe.

From Federation Square its very easy to get around with the free circular tram running close by, along with the Eureka Tower which is well worth a trip up.

The hotel has a nice outdoor pool area and spa, which we did use, with treatments offered that sadly we didnt have the opportunity to use.

We picked up our hire car from Melbourne and again the hotel staff were very helpful in providing directions (especially when compared to staff in the Thritfy office).

We would love to visit Melbourne again and would have no problems staying at the Hilton again.

Room Tip: Face the MCG!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time for the great review and we hope to see you return to the Hilton on the Park if your travels bring you back to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

I checked in around 8pm on a Wednesday night after driving 3.5hrs after work. I had an early business appointment Thursday and being 8 months pregnant, ALL I wanted was a decent nights sleep. This turned out to be impossible. I was woken more than once during the night, starting around midnight by incredibly loud gurgling noises from the bathroom, when i say loud i mean loud, i woke with quite a fright, wandered into the bathroom and found it was coming from the bath plug! I was then woken again by people talking and laughing outside my door around 2am. I was on the 4th floor at the end of the corridor opposite a door marked 'private' so I can only assume this was staff. At 4am the alarm clock started going off which had me fumbling around trying to figure out how to turn it off, only to hit the snooze button by mistake and have it go off again 10 minutes later. This had obviously been set by a previous guest and no one had bothered to turn it off. All in all, sleeping was a near impossibility and I left the next morning absolutely exhausted. I wouldn't have thought that expecting the opportunity to have decent night sleep midweek in a 5 star hotel would be too much to ask? What a waste of money!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Your comfort is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in Melbourne you will consider staying with us again. I would be pleased to discuss your concerns further if you wished to contact me at the hotel directly. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton On The Park Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Address: 192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton On The Park Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the attractive inner-city suburb of East Melbourne, Hilton on the Park is an elegantly furbished hotel directly opposite the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).Each furbished hotel room has warm, natural tones and feature large windows, a flat-screen TV and a wide range of amenities to ensure a relaxing and easy stay. Offering free Wi-Fi to all guests, the iconic Park Lounge bar is the perfect place to have a casual drink before heading to the MCG. For breakfast and dinner, the Gallery Restaurant also provides market fresh cuisines while overlooking the beautiful Fitzroy Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton On The Park Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton On The Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hilton International East Melbourne
Hilton East Melbourne
East Melbourne Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton On The Park Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.