We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton On The Park Melbourne to your Saves list
Hilton On The Park Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #83 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Westerlo, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Modern clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in this nice hotel. We had a room with terrace in front of the large pool. This was 9$ per day extra but it was worth it. The room are spacious with luxe bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time for the great review and hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    385
    218
    79
    44
See reviews for
102
340
93
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed here primarily because of its location - walking distance to the many sports facilities nearby, where I was attending a concert. Its about 10 minutes walk to the city through really beautiful gardens.

The hotel is very well run by Hilton - delightful staff, spotless, systems grooved and everything works well.

The hotel is about 40 years old and has been refurbished a few times. It needs another because the decor isn't fashionable - its not shabby or tired, just not fashionable. The beds are great and the rest of the furnishings are at usual good Hilton standard.

One thing to note - the bathrooms are small and not really what you receive in newer quality hotels.

Will return. More generally, am getting more and more attracted to Hilton's quality, predictable product.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Thanks for the comments and hope to see you return soon to the Hotel on a future visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I recently had a weekend stay here to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. We booked a Dinner/Breakfast package, and were looked after exceptionally well from the minute we arrived. This quality of service seems very rare these days, but it was certainly here. We had a Suite, so we enjoyed pre dinner drinks in the lounge (a very comfortable environment overlooking the MCG), and had a fabulous dinner at the restaurant downstairs. The room itself is very well fitted out (in typical modern Hilton style), and good cleanliness as you would expect from a hotel of this quality. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the MCG - much better view than looking out the other side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Thanks for your gracious comments about your recent stay at the the Hilton on the Park. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

While the rooms are decent, the place is very dated and not exactly part of the Melbourne CBD. Very well located for events at the MCG, Rod LAver or the new football stadium. Costs equivalent to better located hotels in Southbank and across the CBD. If you are a Hilton fan with high expectations, for slightly more dollarstry Hilton South Wharf, more in line with Hilton brand... upscale, new, and a short walk to southbank and tram lines.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room appearance is an area we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

slow check in,expensive parking,taps for the shower were just way too low,breakfast was terrible and cost us $30 each,the room was ok though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
I appreciate your review of your recent stay. I understand that you were unhappy with some of the charges. I apologize if the charges were not clear when you booked the room. We strive to personalize each guest's experience and keep costs affordable in doing so. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

I have stayed at the Hilton on the Park a few times this year. All have been acceptable but not as good as the Hilton South Wharf (a newer hotel closer to the CBD).

Particularly good Hotel for the MCG (cricket, Australian Rules), AAMI Stadium (rugby league, soccer) or Melbourne Park (tennis).

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of MCG have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasBoettger, General Manager at Hilton On The Park Melbourne, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location. Hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed at The Hilton due to it's close location to Rod Laver Arena which makes it really convenient for sporting and entertainment events. It is also a short walk to the edge of the CBD where you can catch the free city circle tram. In terms of location I would say it is hard to beat.

The service was great and very friendly. Our room was perfect for what we needed. Definately not the height of luxury but that wan't what we paid for. I'd agree with other reviews about the taps in the bath/shower. Very frustrating but at least your not using the shower all day long so this inconvenience is only felt at shower times. The toilet was also outdated and not flushing properly but I believe I read somewhere that toilets may be updgraded gradually.

We were on the 2nd floor and could hear a child crying regualarly throughout our 2 night stay and also could hear the trams from the street below but none of these noises were loud enough to cause bother or affect sleep.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton On The Park Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton On The Park Melbourne

Address: 192 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton On The Park Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the attractive inner-city suburb of East Melbourne, Hilton on the Park is an elegantly furbished hotel directly opposite the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).Each furbished hotel room has warm, natural tones and feature large windows, a flat-screen TV and a wide range of amenities to ensure a relaxing and easy stay. Offering free Wi-Fi to all guests, the iconic Park Lounge bar is the perfect place to have a casual drink before heading to the MCG. For breakfast and dinner, the Gallery Restaurant also provides market fresh cuisines while overlooking the beautiful Fitzroy Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton On The Park Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton On The Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hilton International East Melbourne
Hilton East Melbourne
East Melbourne Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton On The Park Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.