We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   623 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A nightmare to locate as there is minimal signage on the building. Once found after 3 laps in the car and a phone call, there is no valet parking, so another lap to locate the driveway. Note there is also very minimal parking. Once at reception, the staff were friendly and offered an upgraded room at no cost. Finally something is working in my favor. Until I enter the room to find it is occupied. Down the lift again, with luggage, to re reassigned another room. This one unoccupied, thank goodness. How embarrassing for them and I. Now the room, it was comfortable with clean amenities. The bathroom is exceptionally small however. The room service deal of a light snack, desert and drink is good value for money. Checkout went smoothly with an exceptionally friendly lady on the counter. As stated a mixed bag.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for submitting your comments following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins. Your feedback regarding the experience you had with our car park, and in particular with the occupied room has been addressed with our Management Team for immediate action involving the relevant team members. This is unacceptable practice and well below our desired level of service. Should you wish to provide further details, please contact us at sales@batmanshill.com.au. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    163
    90
    51
    23
See reviews for
69
119
40
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

For a first-time visitor to Melbourne I wasn't disappointed in choosing this hotel. Our room was spacious, quiet and very clean! This staff were helpful and friendly and I would stay here again. Only bummer was the idiot who banged on our door at 12.45am (over exuberant race-goer I'd say!!)

Room Tip: I know the rooms around the back don't have an outlook but they are quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We hope that you enjoyed your first trip to Melbourne, and are pleased to see that you were happy with your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel for a second time on your next trip to Melbourne. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hotel is across the road from Southern Cross Station. Plenty of cafés and restaurants nearby. If you want to go to Burke Street Mall you can walk up Collins St, takes about 15minutes. Or catch the free Tram. Rooms a little small but acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your comments highlighting our convenient location in Melbourne's CBD. We hope that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to being your host again in the near future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarra Valley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Was booked into a club room with a view. Arrived to find we had been upgraded to a one bedroom apartment. Thought this would be great. We were wrong. Our nice view was nowthe wall of the next building. Very dark room, outdated furniture. No couch in the apartment, and even when the heating was turned off, could still hear the drumming of it in the pipes all night. We asked to be put back in the room we booked, but were told there were none available now. Very dissapointing as it was for a special occassion!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback has been addressed with Management for immediate review with the relevant departments & team members. We apologise that on this occasion, the level of room quality and service you received was well below our desired standard, and that you were unable to be moved back to the room you originally booked. We invite you to reach out to us at sales@batmanshill.com.au should you wish to provide any extra comments and we would be happy to discuss this further. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I booked a standard double with a cot for myself & my 5 month old baby for a weekend trip to Melbourne. I arrived at the hotel just after midday & was told that my room was ready & that I could get a free upgrade to a club room, score!

The room was really spacious with a big bed & space for the travel cot too. Air con worked just fine & I could not hear any noise from the street or from other guests (apart from the odd door slamming in the morning).

Unlike some previous reviewers I found the reception staff to be really friendly & helpful (as are most people in Melbourne). The hotel is really centrally located, close to several different tram stops & Southern Cross Station. You can also catch the Circle Line tram for free, which is really handy to get up to Flinders Street on.

I would definitely stay here again if I came back to Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. and we will advise our Front Office staff of your positive feedback. We hope that you return to stay with us again in the near future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is the best positioned if you are using Southern Cross station or the skybus to Melbourne airport. It is situated on the Collins st Spencer st corner. Efficient front office staff and no problems at all. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you choosing to stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins. We appreciate your positive feedback, and hope that you do return in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

You pay for location more than anything else here...... across the road from southern cross station/sky bus and Trams right outside. We booked a club room, glad we did , was suited to our needs, {just} did not see the normal rooms, but I doubt if we would of been as comfortable in 1 on those. The beds do need upgrading ! ! ! Staff very helpful and the cleaners/service staff very friendly. Would stay here again, but would depend on the deal we got.

Room Tip: higher the better, only 5 floors high, but would advise to go for a club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you highlighting our convenient location right opposite Southern Cross Station, and for the feedback regarding your bed - we will consider this for any future upgrades/developments. We hope you do choose to return to Quality Hotel Batman's Hill in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins

Address: 623 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#106 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Hotel Batman’s Hill on Collins, your home away from home in Melbourne CBD. First class style without the first class price tag!Our Hotel is located right in the heart of Melbourne, where we offer our guests affordable quality accommodation in any of our 190 rooms, ranging from 3.5 Star Standard Roomsto 4 Star Club Rooms and Apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.