We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   623 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Very good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have spent 3 nights on this Hotel. My fiancee and myself had arrived about 7:30am, at hotel and were expecting to drop our bags and come back around 2pm for cheking but surprisinly we were able to do a early checking and we got a room upgrade. This was a great starting.
Room had nice size, good bad and bathtube. The view of room was fantastic, towards to Southern Cross station. The only dwnside was the noisy from street and constructions (Special on early mornings), but it wasn't a big problem as we're waling up early.
Location is fantastic, a short walk from Southern Cross station, couldn't be better.
I really recommend this hotel for people looking for a good location in Melbourne's CBD and a fair price. Real good value for money.

Regards,

Thiago Santos

Room Tip: Rooms with views to Collins street can be noisy sometimes
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear reviewer, we appreciate your comments following your stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins - it is great to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to welcome you back again very soon! Enjoy your weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    148
    84
    50
    22
See reviews for
59
115
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

As we arrived early the staff were happy to hold our luggage then when we came back all our luggage was in the room. The room was clean and well equipped with plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. There was no noise and we had a good sleep. Overall a pleasant experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins. It is great to see that you had an enjoyable stay, and we hope to welcome you back again on your next trip to Melbourne. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fairly good location, close to the station where the airbuses arrive and leave from. We are keen walkers and mainly walked up to the other end of town, but the free tram wasn't far away and there were plenty of other tram lines close by. The staff were polite and we were lucky enough to be able to check in early. On departure we were asked if we wanted to leave our bags before we got a chance to ask just that question. The room was ok and very clean. Personally I'm not keen on split bathrooms but it was ok for a couple of days. My husband in particular found the bed uncomfortable and we had difficulty adjusting the aircon, which was either too cold or too hot. We would probably stay again, particularly at the low rate that we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins. We appreciate your detailed comments regarding your room, including the issues you outlined with the bed and the air conditioning. These will be taken on board to allow us to grow and improve over time. We look forward to being your host again in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I went over with a friend for a footy weekend from 2-5 Aug. It is within easy walking distance to Docklands. We asked at Reception how to get around and were told to get a taxi however, we discovered the hotel had a tram stop right outside the front door!
Our first twin room was #118 - it was cold and very noisy - the window wouldn't shut and we were right next to the outside air-con duct, also we couldn't get into the drawers in the wardrobe as the wardrobe door couldn't open far enough due to the door closer on the top of the room door. We asked to move and we were relocated without issue. However, both rooms were tiny. OK for one but not 2 adult females both trying to get ready!
Staff were aloof but polite when spoken to. The bar closed at 11pm which wasn't much use after getting back from an evening footy game. The rooms were clean, with tea/coffee/hot choc provided and clean towels.
All in all it was adequate but will go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, and we appreciate you highlighting our ideal location in Melbourne's CBD. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with the size of your room - we do encourage our guests to visit our website prior to booking, as the relevant dimensions are listed online, as are the facilities available to guests in each room type. Moreover, kindly note that our Front Office and reservations teams are always happy to answer any questions you may have regarding room specifications for any future bookings. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My daughter & I stayed at this hotel from Friday Aug 2 to Monday Aug 5. My daughter booked our room in May as a Mothers Day gift as I had never been to Melbourne. We were allocated Room 113 on the mezzanine level which we found to be very small and dimly lit however we didn't intend to spend a large amount of time in the room so we didn't bother to say anything. 
However on Sunday afternoon whilst resting in our room, we started to smell very strong cigarette smoke which seemed to be coming from the room next door through our adjoining door. As we had booked a non-smoking room we were puzzled as to why someone would be smoking in a hotel room and in fact if it is actually legal to do so when there is no ventilation, opening windows or balconies.
I went to reception where I was curtly told that we were in smoking rooms and that when we booked in on Friday there were no non-smoking rooms left. How far in advance do you need to book to get a suitable room considering we booked 3 months in advance? I was then told quite abruptly that we were "checking out tomorrow anyway" and that if I wanted, a smoke machine could be put in the room whilst we went to dinner. 
After discussions with my daughter (and having a splitting headache from the cigarette smoke) we went to reception again and asked to be moved to another room. After a lot of huffing and puffing we were begrudgingly given a room on level 3 which was slightly bigger and much lighter. 
During our entire stay we found the staff to be quite abrupt and we never saw a smile from anyone at reception in the 4 days we stayed there. 
We found it extremely off-putting that any hotel would have smoking rooms with no ventilation which I would deem to be a serious health issue and we found the staff to be very uncaring and irritated when asked any questions. We will never stay at this hotel again and we will be advising everyone we know not to go near this disgraceful hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins. Our Front Office Manager has replied to you directly to address your concerns and rectify this unfortunate situation. To reiterate, we can assure you that this is not our desired operating standard, and we sincerely hope that you will allow us the opportunity to be your host in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at this property for a footy game. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Location could not have been any better. Staff were really accommodating to our request. Had few drinks at their bar before the game with few local Mates. After the game we had some snack from their 24 hours room service menu.
it was a great value for money for us considering the ridiculous rate Melbourne hotel charge during events.
will be back later in the year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins. It is great to see that your experience with us was entirely positive, and your kind comments will be passed on to the team. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed in a room with my boyfriend and one other friend in this hotel. The room is not that big as I expected but clean, and the bed was comfortable. Good locaton. Front office staff were nice actually when we asked for directions. However, after checked out, I found my glasses was missing. I called at around 7pm, but they said no housekeeping on duty, no one could answer whether my glasses was found or not, and told me to call again on the other day. I stayed in other hotels before and lost things as well. But "no housekeeping was on duty" was ridiculous! What if a guest asks for room clean at night?! Even told me to call back instead of following the case for me?! What's service is that! Not gonna stay once again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins. We thank you for highlighting our ideal location in Melbourne's CBD and is it great to see that you were pleased with your room standards.

Regarding the issue you had with your lost glasses; our Housekeeping Department is solely responsible for taking control of all lost property at the hotel. This eliminates any items being misplaced or lost, and reduces the likelihood of our guests being misinformed. We acknowledge that the team member/s in question should certainly have offered to make contact with you regarding this from our end, and for that we apologise. If you wish to discuss your stay further, we would invite you to contact our Rooms Division Manager. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins

Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne
Address: 623 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#87 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#110 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#110 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#110 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Hotel Batman’s Hill on Collins, your home away from home in Melbourne CBD. First class style without the first class price tag!Our Hotel is located right in the heart of Melbourne, where we offer our guests affordable quality accommodation in any of our 190 rooms, ranging from 3.5 Star Standard Roomsto 4 Star Club Rooms and Apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.