We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay, good experience each time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Carlton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Bendigo, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Third stay, good experience each time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have stayed here a few times now, quite a good little spot. Always booked directly, good price and service. Ask for the breakfast and parking included deal- good value. Also we had a "spa room" and they were MUCH better then the ones near the pool. Non smokers or asthmatics should avoid rooms near the pool as that is the smoking area. The pool is lovely, but can be a bit cold in winter! Staff were very courteous and relocated us with ease when we asked. Buffet breakfast is alright- the typical fry up, as well as cereals. There are some nice cafés around to have breakfast in as well if you want to. Beware with the parking- if you are coming back late at night in a car you will not get a park inside, you will have to park on the street, or even as far away as McArthur place. Over fairly good spot located a few blocks away from the centre of Carlton and Lygon Street.

Room Tip: Chose the spa rooms - away from some of the noise, bigger and have much bigger bathrooms and beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    65
    51
    12
    8
See reviews for
26
46
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We always stay at this hotel when we come to Melbourne. It is very clean, staff excellent and the location for us is great. The rooms are very well set out and appointed. The pool looks very resort like, but it was too cold to swim during our stay. We have been coming here since 2000 and would definitely recommend this motel to others

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have stayed here before and have valued the position, the rooms and the price. This visit we booked 4 rooms to accommodate 12 friends.
However, the very large, unpleasant, unhelpful man behind the desk left a VERY sour taste in our mouths. He was not only rude to us, the guests, but reluctant to accommodate us when attempting to pay our bill.
The travel Inn will no longer be used by any of the 7 families that used it for this experience, and we are all frequent travellers to Melbourne!
Your loss Travel Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawonga South 3698 Victoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My room was on the ground floor (north-east corner) and it was quite noisy on the Saturday night; however one of the reasons I choose to stay at the Travel Inn is its proximity to Lygon Street and I suspect that many others do the same!! maybe the Hotel could place some signs re noise and courtesy for others? I find the staff brilliant; nothing seems to be too much trouble. Yes, there's a bit of an issue with parking...ie it's VERY "tight"!

Room Tip: I cannot comment on spa or breakfast as did not have/use these facilities. My room was on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very close to Lygon Street, in the Italian district. It is reasonably priced, but rooms are quite small, but clean. Our renovated bathroom was brilliant, but oh so tiny! We stayed 3 nights, but after a horrible buffet breakfast on the first morning we ate in cafés around the corner at a much cheaper price with freshly cooked food. The dining is a letdown. Would we stay again.....probably not as whilst the rooms are okay, the rest is tired and needs upgrading and dining is not up to speed

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over the anzac weekend.
We have previously stayed here and have been extremely happy.
This time we were put in a room just inside near the pool. It was very noisy. People sat outside smoking until about 2am and this was right outside our window. Also the door through to inside was noisy with people leaving very early in the morning.
This is the only time we have had a bad experience here and know for next time to ask for a different room.
Great service, location, rooms, price and my daughter loves the pool. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Clean, comfortable, quiet room great location. Close to shops, restaurants, bars, movies. Parking underneath. Nice pool. Friendly service. Short tram or taxi ride from central Melbourne CBD. Good value. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Address: Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Carlton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.