We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for museum, imax, Lygon st eateries” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Carlton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Great location for museum, imax, Lygon st eateries”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed here Sat 25 Jan. Paid $180 directly via hotel including secure under hotel parking but not breakfast.

This hotel is in a really good location - right between the Melbourne Museum/Imax and Lygon St, Carlton for the eateries (approx. 1 short block each direction). We checked in, parked the car in the security parking and it stayed there until check out the next morning.

Wandered over to the museum to see the 007 Bond Exhibition (really good btw) and then in the evening we wandered back past the hotel straight to dinner at Lygon St (always a good street to eat). Then 2 min walk back to watch the women's final of Aust Open then popped back out about 10pm or so for dessert and a nightcap.

Very easy peasy.

The room is the usual chain hotel type room. Nothing outstanding, nothing wrong. Bathroom is very small but was okay for a short stay (not so great if wanting to stay enough nights that you'd need to hand wash clothes at the basin as it is a tiny half basin and just standard size shower. A 'one person at a time' ensuite but certainly functional. Had a very big mirror and great lighting.

Our room had a VERY comfortable - for us - (not hard, not soft) queen bed and also a single bed in it. A decent sized flat screen TV which was easy to see whilst lying/sitting on bed. Had a writing desk and two chairs and large mirror in the main room. Tea/Coffee making provided (coffee, decaf, sugar, black tea - no green, milk) and a bar fridge. Iron/ironing board, in room security deposit box, side tables, alarm clock, etc. Lighting in the room was good and had reading lamps above the bed, operated individually, which we liked.

The hotel has a small(ish) free-form style pool in a lovely enclosed courtyard area. Hubby said he saw a BBQ there and a sign saying 'laundry'. I am unsure if this was for public use but he said it appeared to be so.

We slept really well. For $180 I've had prettier rooms and bigger bathrooms but it did the job well and the location, for Carlton, can't be beat. I'd stay here again especially if I got it a bit cheaper - to be fair I booked in the night before and it was Aust Open Grand Final weekend as well as Australia Day weekend so prices were at a premium everywhere.

The only negative was the check in receptive girl was very lax in assisting the lady before us at the counter - she was saying at 3pm her room still hadn't been cleaned and her door was ajar when she returned. Short version is neither hubby nor I thought the reception girl handled the concern very well at all, just fobbed the lady off saying 'no-one can get in, you must have left it open yourself when you left' and 'cleaning has been done so you do have new towels, etc' to which the lady replied 'I literally just walked down and can assure you my room has not been made up and our wet towels are still on the floor'.

This is the main reason my review is an overall 3 star not 4 star as the customer was adamant someone had been in her room due a couple of things being moved but the reception girl was pretty apathetic about it. Perhaps this is a once off as certainly the girl in the evening and the man who checked us out were both prompt , friendly and provided good service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    61
    45
    11
    9
See reviews for
24
38
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on NYE 2013. Great price compared to other hotels on this night and was suppose to include unlimited free movies and a jacuzzi spa bath all for $180. Room was small but clean. Check in was quick and easy and staff member working at the front desk was friendly and efficient. I'd also called prior to my stay in regards to parking and the staff member on the phone was very friendly and helpful also. Location was 10/10 literally seconds from Lygon street. And staff aloud us to have a mid day check out!

Unfortunately the positives end there. We discovered upon arrival that the free unlimited movies included as a bonus with our room rate was actually just a movie channel which we found was very misleading as to what had been advertised.
we woke up and wanted to go in the jacuzzi in the and had to wait 20 minutes for the house keeping staff to open the jacuzzi for us. After entering the jacuzzi we realised we didn't have towels and asked 2 different house keeping staff members to bring us a towel but instead pointed and mumbled where the front desk is and said the staff there could help us; who would want to walk around in the lobby dripping went in a bikini in freezing cold weather?

Parking wasn't included and was expensive.

The staff members working in the customer services areas were excellent but the house keeping staff at this hotel need further professional development. The lack of friendliness from staff ruined our stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We travelled with a 7 yr old kid on a holiday. This hotel is located in a nice neighbourhood where Lygon St is just round the corner & walking distance to the tram stop. The room is clean but the design of the washing basin needs to be improved. Small basin makes the floor wet after a wash up in the morning. Internet access cost me $16.50 a day & only 1 device can log in at any one point in time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you like florescent room lighting and filthy carpeting, this is the hotel for you. Walking on the carpet in socks left black residue on the socks. The internet is without doubt the worst I have experienced anywhere in the world. It is expensive and is frequently either exceedingly slow or down altogether. Worse, for a couple who travel with laptops, iPads and iPhones, it allows for only one device to be connected at a time and the process to change devices is especially onerous. Calls to the internet support 800 number and emails to their website were not answered. Avoid the restaurant at all costs. On the plus side, the hotel is situated in a great neighborhood for restaurants and walking. It is especially convenient to the University of Melbourne. Despite the hotel’s problems, the staff, from the front desk to housekeeping, is to be commended for their cheerful attitude, pleasant demeanor and their genuine willingness to help in any way they could.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a Travelsphere package holiday.Facilities include swimming pool, tea/coffee ,fridge,personal safe,fridge.Nice room not massive but adequate .close to free Melbourne tram link.Most attractions are within walking distance or the transport is easily available.,positioned in the middle of little Italy.
The staff are helpful when required and will help you ,however they do appear to be a bit a aloof

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Walked in and the two male receptionists didn't even really acknowledge our arrival or even look at us much, not much eye contact at all. Told them our name and one of them proceeded to process our reservation but did not know which one until one of them handed us a form to complete. Not a smile to be seen. Just going through the motions I guess of booking in the 30th couple for the day. But the rooms are modern, nice and clean and the rates are good. Nice pool area. Conveniently located to Lygon St restaurants, Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and IMAX Theatre. Parking good. Besides the reception service we will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our party stayed here for 3 nights at the end of an Australian tour. The hotel itself is very nice, in a handy location for nearby restaurants and 15 minutes' walk from the famous Victoria Street Market. The stop for the City Shuttle bus is just around the corner on Lygon Street. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The breakfast each morning was very good. One day a lady was struggling with a young son and a baby. The lady in charge offered to look after the baby (which she did, brilliantly) to give the beleagured mother the chance to eat her breakfast. My wife and I thought that this was wonderful, and it summed up the friendliness of the staff. The room was not the largest in the world, but was perfectly fine for our needs. The bed was very comfortable, and we slept very well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Address: Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Carlton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.