We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located, nice & clean but reception service could improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Carlton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Conveniently located, nice & clean but reception service could improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Walked in and the two male receptionists didn't even really acknowledge our arrival or even look at us much, not much eye contact at all. Told them our name and one of them proceeded to process our reservation but did not know which one until one of them handed us a form to complete. Not a smile to be seen. Just going through the motions I guess of booking in the 30th couple for the day. But the rooms are modern, nice and clean and the rates are good. Nice pool area. Conveniently located to Lygon St restaurants, Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and IMAX Theatre. Parking good. Besides the reception service we will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    61
    45
    11
    9
See reviews for
24
38
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our party stayed here for 3 nights at the end of an Australian tour. The hotel itself is very nice, in a handy location for nearby restaurants and 15 minutes' walk from the famous Victoria Street Market. The stop for the City Shuttle bus is just around the corner on Lygon Street. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The breakfast each morning was very good. One day a lady was struggling with a young son and a baby. The lady in charge offered to look after the baby (which she did, brilliantly) to give the beleagured mother the chance to eat her breakfast. My wife and I thought that this was wonderful, and it summed up the friendliness of the staff. The room was not the largest in the world, but was perfectly fine for our needs. The bed was very comfortable, and we slept very well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Recently booked two rooms when we came to Melbourne for a family wedding. Very handy location for Lygon Street and a leisurely 20 minute walk to the the city. Free under cover parking was a bonus. Rooms were smallish but clean and comfortable. We were in ground floor rooms facing the pool which were nice and quiet as the weather was cold but might be noisier in summer. The breakfast buffet (not included) was OK and service at breakfast by an older lady was excellent - very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went down for a weekend and hadn't stayed in this part of town before as I thought it'd be too far out of the way. It was an ideal location for Lygon street food, not far from the Princess Theatre, parks and Museums and if you felt like a good walk it was only 20 minutes into the city. The Hotel itself was very clean, good staff, soft bed and pillows and well managed. The Room we had was a little small, with just your basics like bar fridge, coffee making etc,but it's all that was needed. I would suggest to any one staying here is to avoid the room(s) near the elevator shaft, though it wasn't that noisy and I get up early anyway, some may find it distracting if they go to bed early or they're a late sleeper. Other than that I would stay again

Room Tip: Not that it worried me, but Room 1 was on the lower floor next to reception and the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booked a room for three nights over Grand Final weekend. We drove over from Perth for the big game. This hotel is in an excellent location in Carlton and a three second walk to the famous Lygon Street restaurants.
Quick and efficient check in at 4 in the morning. Undercroft parking was excellent and included in room rate. The room itself was OK. If anything, the bathroom was poorly designed and very small. The use of space was amateurish. Our room faced onto Drummond Street. Quite noisy from the road. You can hear all the road noise as well as people talking loudly on the street. Double glazing would easily fix the problem.
Wi-Fi? Not free. It should be. How much does it really cost to provide internet access?
After a night out in Lygon Street, I thought a night cap at the hotel's bar would be a good idea.....if only there was someone there to offer the service.
Over-all a good stay. Would I stay again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Get a room out back. Quieter The noise from Drummond Street is loud to front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This Hotel has, in my opinion, a terrific location. Drummond St is one of the most beautiful in Melbourne, with old houses and lush front gardens in a relatively quiet "backyard" of Lygon. All around there are great Restaurants, and, at walking distance, the Museum of Melbourne and the University Campus, with its historical sandstone buildings.
The Hotel is relatively quiet, it is clean, although the bathroom (I was on the first floor near the swimming pool), can be minuscule. Also, the room facing the inner court are quite dark (I have already been here three times) and, somewhat "depressing". Also, I was a bit disappointed because the Hotel has no free wi-fi, which is not good if you are traveling for business. The amenities are also standard (Chinese-made shampoo and balsam). But if you are in Melbourne for work, it is a bargain. The best thing is the courtyard pool, heated in Winter. It is great to be capable of relaxing with a swim, although the bean-shape of the pool does not allow laps, after a whole day of brainstorming.
I did not have breakfast here because I'd rather go to Brunetti. That is a wonderland!

Room Tip: Not those with the windows opening on the courtyard...I do not know of the others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wonderfull location clean rooms friendly and very helpful staff Breakfast great ,service great No complaints what so ever they even have a area off the street for smokers thats a bonus these days I stayed with my sister-in-law and the room was big enough for us both.
If I had to think of a downfall it would only be that they had a water saver shower

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Address: Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Carlton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.