We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average city hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Carlton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“An average city hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The rooms are specious, ours had a double and a single bed. We had a ground floor room overlooking the small heated pool. Tea and coffee making facilities, an iron, an in room free safe and a small fridge are provided.

The bathrooms are modern but very small. The sink is ridiculously small.

There are guest laundry facilities which are the most expensive we saw throughout Australia.

The hotel has Wifi there is a charge for this service, our experience was the service was reliable. Many restaurants and cafes have free Wifi just ask and they will give you the password. Also Federation square has very good, free, and reliable Wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your comments are very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.

Sincerely,

Arran Fraser
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    62
    45
    11
    9
See reviews for
24
39
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed recently in the family room that easily accommodated 5 adults. Separate room with 3 single beds, own TV & aircon and a king bed in the main room.
Very comfortable,quiet, clean and well equipped room with sink, microwave and spotless bathroom. The family room is in a good position at the rear of the property, so very little street noise.
A great location, just around the corner from Lygon Street, with secure parking and very good service. Will definitely consider again for future visits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have just stayed at the Travel Inn in Carlton, a hotel I have stayed at regularly over the past five years. The location of this hotel is simply superb. Running parallel to Lygon street, there is ready access to fabulous restaurants, cafes, bookshops and clothes stores. It is close to Melbourne Uni and easy tram access to the city. Something is clearly right in the management of the place as it seems to me that there has been the same reception and restaurant staff there for at least five years. The staff are helpful,and know their stuff, and Sue - the maitre de of the breakfast room - makes everyone at home. The rooms are a good size though basic for a four star.
Though comfy and well located, the hotel is getting a little rundown, with, for example slightly worn carpets and only one very slow lift for the entire hotel. Like other Aussie hotels, the internet is expensive and it is disappointing that you can only download things like flight tickets by paying for one hour of Internet time. The place offers reasonable value for money and good choice for those wanting a little oasis in the centre of bustling Carlton.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bolac
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

First stayed at this motel back in the early eighties and it still delivers.
Situated in the midst of cosmopolitan Carlton, it is close to the Lygon Street restaurant strip yet in quieter Drummond Street where street noise was not a problem
We had a standard twin room which, although a little on the small side, was very well equipped and comfortable.Entry to the compact bathroom is through a sliding glass door which is not as totally private as some would like
The room had a fine air conditioner, but openable windows as well which is a plus.
Excellent bedding was appreciated.
Breakfast consists of fresh fruit, cereal,toasts, and a choice of ordered to cook dishes. Best omelet I've had in years . It was just so much better than the usual bain- marie overcooked stuff served up at most places these days
Service both at the breakfast and reception desk was friendly and efficient
Easy transport access in to the city proper make this my choice in Melbourne

Room Tip: Overlooking pool could be noisy perhaps
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have been staying at the Travel Inn a couple of times a year since the mid 1980s and over that time have never been disappointed. The hotel has been refurbished during that time but has always been comfortable and conveniently located. Have never had a problem at checkin even when arriving early. On those occasions luggage is secured and you can go about your day in the knowledge that a room will be ready upon your return.

Room Tip: For a really good night's sleep request a room at the back of the building although street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have reviewed this hotel before on my previous visit and upon my return some 3 years later it is stll as lovely as ever. The hotel is ideally situated just around the corner from Lygon Street with all its restaurants and a vibrant cafe society and yet it is a quiet Oasis which belies it close proximity the the hustle and bustle. The staff are very friendly and I was given at late checkout for 12 noon at no extra cost. I highly recommend this hotel and will be staying there again on my next visit to Australia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Arrived Friday night with Tour group of 34 poeple only to be joined at the same time as another travelsphere group of around 30 people. Utter Chaos at reception!!!! Only 1 receptionist on duty, no manager. Door keys not working for majority of people. Majority of door keys had to be reprogrammed by receptionist again.
One couple complaining to receptionist about room location to smoking are asked to speak on the phone with the unavailable manager only to be told he would not want to speak to them!
Rooms pokey (small). Had to pay 10 Australian dollars to use room safe. Towels to small, more like hand towels. Had to use 2 to dry myself after shower. Sink to small in bathroom.
Hotel handy for restaurants in Italian Lygon Street area of Melbourne but Restaurant and bar in hotel closed Friday and Saturdays. Think they are missing a trick here especially when 2 coach loads of tourists arrive on a Friday evening.
I felt sorry for the only receptionist having to deal with the incoming number of people arriving at the same time. Management ort to get there act together and cater for that number. AND open your BAR & Restaurant. I think you will be suprised how many trippers would use it!!!
Because of this it's proberbly the worst Best Weston I have been in. Sorry!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Firstly thank you for your feedback and we are vdery disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are very sorry that you did not find our hotel to be of the highest standards in which we pride ourselves on. Upon arrival you noticed 2 tour groups and only 1 receptionist on duty, this is not the normal practice for our hotel. It had been previously arranged by Tour East that the 2 groups would be arriving 2 hours apart from each other, giving both the receptionist and our porter enough time between groups to get everyone sorted. Unfortunately due to mis communication with the tour operator, tour east and the bus company both groups arrived at the same time, which was a VERY big surprise to the receptionist on duty. This mishap was out of our hands as our understanding was that both groups again would arrive 2hrs apart, or we would have had more than 1 staff member on duty! Our receptionist and porter handled the situation to the best of their ability and we are very sorry that this error made for a very long check in for you, but as previously stated what had been discussed by your tour company and the hotel was not what happened. Unfortunately with the keys being all electornic, it was a case of technology not co-operating and again out of our control.
In terms of our restaurant not being open on a Friday and Saturday, this has not always been the case. the hotel used to open the restaurant daily but found on the weekends alot of our guests would not utilise this facility being so close to Lygon street we found it cost us more to stay open on the weekend than we actually made, hence the reason we close on a Friday and Saturday. Our helpful reception staff would have gladly recommended any number of places on Lygon street to enjoy a wonderful meal.

Again we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Travel Inn but please be assured this was a once of occurance and not our normal practice. With the miscommunication and technological failure it proved to be quite chaotic and we apologise. In cases like this we ask for your patience and understanding as there are circumstance outside of our control that does hinder the proper and efficient running of our hotel.

Many Thanks,
Kali Naivalu
Front Office Supervisor and Groups Co-Ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Address: Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Carlton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.