We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location but time for an upgrade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic location but time for an upgrade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have just stayed at the Travel Inn in Carlton, a hotel I have stayed at regularly over the past five years. The location of this hotel is simply superb. Running parallel to Lygon street, there is ready access to fabulous restaurants, cafes, bookshops and clothes stores. It is close to Melbourne Uni and easy tram access to the city. Something is clearly right in the management of the place as it seems to me that there has been the same reception and restaurant staff there for at least five years. The staff are helpful,and know their stuff, and Sue - the maitre de of the breakfast room - makes everyone at home. The rooms are a good size though basic for a four star.
Though comfy and well located, the hotel is getting a little rundown, with, for example slightly worn carpets and only one very slow lift for the entire hotel. Like other Aussie hotels, the internet is expensive and it is disappointing that you can only download things like flight tickets by paying for one hour of Internet time. The place offers reasonable value for money and good choice for those wanting a little oasis in the centre of bustling Carlton.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    67
    55
    12
    9
See reviews for
27
48
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Bolac
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

First stayed at this motel back in the early eighties and it still delivers.
Situated in the midst of cosmopolitan Carlton, it is close to the Lygon Street restaurant strip yet in quieter Drummond Street where street noise was not a problem
We had a standard twin room which, although a little on the small side, was very well equipped and comfortable.Entry to the compact bathroom is through a sliding glass door which is not as totally private as some would like
The room had a fine air conditioner, but openable windows as well which is a plus.
Excellent bedding was appreciated.
Breakfast consists of fresh fruit, cereal,toasts, and a choice of ordered to cook dishes. Best omelet I've had in years . It was just so much better than the usual bain- marie overcooked stuff served up at most places these days
Service both at the breakfast and reception desk was friendly and efficient
Easy transport access in to the city proper make this my choice in Melbourne

Room Tip: Overlooking pool could be noisy perhaps
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have been staying at the Travel Inn a couple of times a year since the mid 1980s and over that time have never been disappointed. The hotel has been refurbished during that time but has always been comfortable and conveniently located. Have never had a problem at checkin even when arriving early. On those occasions luggage is secured and you can go about your day in the knowledge that a room will be ready upon your return.

Room Tip: For a really good night's sleep request a room at the back of the building although street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have reviewed this hotel before on my previous visit and upon my return some 3 years later it is stll as lovely as ever. The hotel is ideally situated just around the corner from Lygon Street with all its restaurants and a vibrant cafe society and yet it is a quiet Oasis which belies it close proximity the the hustle and bustle. The staff are very friendly and I was given at late checkout for 12 noon at no extra cost. I highly recommend this hotel and will be staying there again on my next visit to Australia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Arrived Friday night with Tour group of 34 poeple only to be joined at the same time as another travelsphere group of around 30 people. Utter Chaos at reception!!!! Only 1 receptionist on duty, no manager. Door keys not working for majority of people. Majority of door keys had to be reprogrammed by receptionist again.
One couple complaining to receptionist about room location to smoking are asked to speak on the phone with the unavailable manager only to be told he would not want to speak to them!
Rooms pokey (small). Had to pay 10 Australian dollars to use room safe. Towels to small, more like hand towels. Had to use 2 to dry myself after shower. Sink to small in bathroom.
Hotel handy for restaurants in Italian Lygon Street area of Melbourne but Restaurant and bar in hotel closed Friday and Saturdays. Think they are missing a trick here especially when 2 coach loads of tourists arrive on a Friday evening.
I felt sorry for the only receptionist having to deal with the incoming number of people arriving at the same time. Management ort to get there act together and cater for that number. AND open your BAR & Restaurant. I think you will be suprised how many trippers would use it!!!
Because of this it's proberbly the worst Best Weston I have been in. Sorry!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Firstly thank you for your feedback and we are vdery disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are very sorry that you did not find our hotel to be of the highest standards in which we pride ourselves on. Upon arrival you noticed 2 tour groups and only 1 receptionist on duty, this is not the normal practice for our hotel. It had been previously arranged by Tour East that the 2 groups would be arriving 2 hours apart from each other, giving both the receptionist and our porter enough time between groups to get everyone sorted. Unfortunately due to mis communication with the tour operator, tour east and the bus company both groups arrived at the same time, which was a VERY big surprise to the receptionist on duty. This mishap was out of our hands as our understanding was that both groups again would arrive 2hrs apart, or we would have had more than 1 staff member on duty! Our receptionist and porter handled the situation to the best of their ability and we are very sorry that this error made for a very long check in for you, but as previously stated what had been discussed by your tour company and the hotel was not what happened. Unfortunately with the keys being all electornic, it was a case of technology not co-operating and again out of our control.
In terms of our restaurant not being open on a Friday and Saturday, this has not always been the case. the hotel used to open the restaurant daily but found on the weekends alot of our guests would not utilise this facility being so close to Lygon street we found it cost us more to stay open on the weekend than we actually made, hence the reason we close on a Friday and Saturday. Our helpful reception staff would have gladly recommended any number of places on Lygon street to enjoy a wonderful meal.

Again we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Travel Inn but please be assured this was a once of occurance and not our normal practice. With the miscommunication and technological failure it proved to be quite chaotic and we apologise. In cases like this we ask for your patience and understanding as there are circumstance outside of our control that does hinder the proper and efficient running of our hotel.

Many Thanks,
Kali Naivalu
Front Office Supervisor and Groups Co-Ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
467 helpful votes 467 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We could have stayed elsewhere for less but the rate included WiFi, breakfast & free parking so we thought we would give it a go.
What a good call - this is an example of what you can do with some effort & staff training. One of the nicest, friendliest check ins ever.
11.00am checkout as standard ( look & learn Australia) extended to noon with a smile . The room was fine, the bed comfortable & the breakfast - now served til 10.00 on a Saturday - was excellent & served by happy,helpful staff .
Its a great location of course - walking distance of the city & Lygon Street - but the stand out features for me apart from value for money was the friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff were good, rooms were okay (clean and a good sized bed) and the location is great if you want to spend some time in and around Lygon Street, Carlton. The city is an easy tram ride from nearby Swanston Street, but if you haven't bought a travel card, take coins as notes are not accepted. Melbourne University is also close. If you have a vehicle, the underground carpark is tight and difficult. However, when we checked out, we were told that if you book your stay directly with the hotel, as we did, there's no charge. We have stayed at this hotel several times before and return to it when we stay in Melbourne. We will stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Address: Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.