We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Carlton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very handy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel when visiting my daughter at Melbourne University. Although not very plush, it's clean, has everything I need and the best part is that it is a great location. Only 1 min walk to Lygon St with plenty cafes, and about 5 min walk to the University. A casual walk will get you into the City in about 20 mins and it's close to Exhibition Hall and the Museum, and after that Brunswick & Gertrude Streets. Easy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the pool if you want to have a lie in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran F, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay with. We hope that if you find your self in Melbourne again that you will visit us again. Please give us a call or send us an email when planning your next trip to Melbourne and we will be happy to offer you the best available price or deal.

Many Thanks,
Kali Baravi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    62
    45
    11
    9
See reviews for
24
39
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great value! A special deal including carparking and full cooked breakfast with a room for 3, 1 Queen and 1 Single($185) was perfect for our little clan. The rooms are very space conscious, but comfortable and well appointed. We could have asked for an upgrade for minimal extra cost, however we were out most of the time. Everything was spotlessly clean. The beds were comfortable and fitted with good quality linen and the cooked breakfast was made to order - fresh, generous and tasty. The carpark was a bit challenging for a large 4WD and getting out took many manoeuvres, however we would be most happy to return. Great location, friendly staff and great value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran F, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Firstly let me say thank your for your positve feedback. We try our best to always pffer the best service and value for money and we are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please if you are planning a trip to Melbourne keep us in mind and we hope to see you again soon. Give us a call or shoot us off an email for the best prices and special deals.

Many Thanks,
Kali Baravi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and i stayed for one night on fri 13th July after booking on expedia and was given to believe we got a super doper deal of $126 was unsure if parking was included so called in the Hotel to check, firstly was told we didn't have a booking, secondly was told had to pay an extra $15 for the parking, so in order to save money rode our scooter in. When we checked in at 2pm was told yes we can use the car park, told them we called first the staff member said we don't have to pay it was included, which was not of benefit to us as we were told a complete different story. On top of that was given a room that was still not cleaned as yet, so they gave us another room facing the side overlooking the car park and rubbish bins,with no view. When we went out in the evening for dinner and returned to our room the card didn't open the door, went to reception and overheard the staff say that they gave the room to another person and then realised they had to re program the card for us to enter our room. What a mess, we were not happy that someone entered our room to see it was already occupied. Not happy left rather upset and disappointed, will not be returning do to incompetence staff and service and the bad deal offered by expedia.

Room Tip: Dont go to the rooms on second floor on the low 200 numbers as it faces the back of very noisy rente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran F, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I am very sorry that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations or was not as pleasant as you would have liked or what we endeavour to provide. I am sorry with the confusion on your booking but as explained it was a fault more so through the booking agent rather than the hotel staff. We hope that you would give us another chance if ever in Carlton again as we would very much like to try and redeem ourselves.
Many Thanks,
Kali Baravi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at short notice and got a top deal at 155 per night for two including parking and breakfast. It was school holidays as well so expected crowds, however apart from a tour group whom they kept on the bottom level it was super quiet. There is a pool in the centre of the complex that I imagine could be noisy in the warmer months. We will defiantly be staying at this place next time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for poviding feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your comments are much appreciated and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0393477922.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Arran Fraser
front office manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Travel Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I travel all the time and found the staff at reception on arrival and departure to be rude and could not give a stuff. Will never stay again at this motel and will make an effort to tell everyone not to stay at the Travel Inn, Carlton. Rooms are also very small.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
I apologise if you found us rude. this is not our usual hospitality.
If you are in two again please give us another go. At this time we would be more
than happy to extend an upgrade to you.

Regards
Helen Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The location is superb. The room was adequate. The beds were very comfy. The car park was problematic as it is small so we had to leave the keys with the front desk and double park. Overall, I would go back, but without a car.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Had the unfortunate experience of using the restaurant where the chief matredre made Basil Faulty look first rate. We walked out due to the rudeness of "Sue" . She needs to remember that she is in the hospitally industry. I'm the owner of a large firm who have a lot of employees travelling, it's because of this we will never use them again. Although the position is fantastic for our business we will now use alternative accomadation

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Address: Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Carlton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.