We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Lygon Street | corner of Lygon Street and Queensbury Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Carlton)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #42 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My recent stay was excellent and staff, including cleaning staff, were very helpful. Will definitely stay there again. Close to Melb city, trams & eating places. Even though they did not charge for car parking previously, the fee of $5.00 per night is very reasonable

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Christine W,

Thank you for your review on hotel.

I appreciate your comments on the $5 car parking, but as you point out it is very good value for the added security of being off the street and the convenience of parking close to your room.

Please come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    158
    47
    4
    5
See reviews for
59
96
28
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel was clean and adequately appointed more like a motel than a hotel but very well priced. Staff very helpful. The crowning glory however is the location - literally within walking distance of everywhere. Very happy and we keep going back there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Tony M,

I was pleased to read your comments on our team and that you enjoyed our location. Also really pleased to hear you will be a returning customer- don't leave it too long though and come and see us again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Booked on line and not disappointed. One night stay before flying out, great room, great helpful reservation staff. Quiet, little traffic noise, metres from Lygon Street restaurants, what more could we want. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear mamiab,

Thanks for the perfect score- really pleased we were able to look after you on your last stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Excellent room with all facilities - comfortable bed. Handy location for sight seeing (museum, old gaol, tourist bus, metro station) and restaurants. Excellent cooked breakfast. Covered walkway/balcony for smoking. Air conditioning appreciated on 40 degree C. day! Great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear shewry26,

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you found us well located for all the top Melbourne attractions. Also pleased to read you enjoyed our renowned breakfast and the room was comfortable.

Please stay with us again on your next visit to our fantastic city.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Entrance, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I attended a conference that was held at the Downtowner in December 2013. Check in was smooth, and friendly, and the room was quite large, clean and tidy, although a little dated. Bed was very comfy, and everything in the room worked well. The bathroom is able to be closed off by a sliding door, which blocked most of the noise that was coming from Lygon Street. The conference facilities were good, with everything we needed, lunch, morning and afternoon teas were also good. Hot breakfast is cooked to order, which is so much better than the usual buffet.
Location is fantastic, easy walking distance to lots of restaurants and the Lygon Street night life.
I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure that you don't have a room facing Lygon Street, which is busy 24/7 with traffic and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear pp1979,

Thank you for your comments about your conference at the hotel and our suitability for business travelers. We have many corporate guests who stay with us regularly for exactly what you mention as well as the on site car parking and Free WIFI.

All our conference rooms have lots of natural and include modern audio visual equipment as standard, as well as a range of catering packages which you mention.

Please use us again for your next conference or event in Melbourne, and please contact me directly if you would like to arrange discounted corporate rates for your company.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3-4 nights and was pleasantly surprised. Staff were friendly and very helpful and the hotel including the rooms were of a very good standard. To get to the CBD involves approx a 10-15 min walk. Buffet breakfast was decent, can't remember the price though although I remember it not being too pricey.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear dotbd,

Thank you for your kind words about our team.

Our breakfast is only $20 if booked as part of your stay and includes a wide slection of continental dishes including charcuterie; cheese selection; fresh fruits and juices and bakers corner...in addition it also includes all hot food cooked to order from our a la carte menu- a good value proposition.

Please try our a la carte dinner menu as well on your next visit to our shores

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this property, the rooms are very bright and airy, and spacious.
it is well located at the beginning of the restaurant strip of Lygon Street, but still a short stroll the the CBD, making it a handy spot of a weekend in Melbourne.
The bathroom was very light and roomy with a nice big walk in shower and decent size towels, they offered both cups and mugs in their coffee making facilities which I appreciate and biscuits (These are little things that make a difference).
My only negative is that the room gets very light in the morning, so take your eye shades, but otherwise it is very good value and I would stay there again. Note they do charge $5 a night for parking, but it is offstreet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear AussieSharon,

Thank you for your feedback and it is good to hear you enjoyed our bright airy bathrooms and extra large bath towels- a real point of difference for us from many hotels. I am also pleased the combination of all the little extras, which I agree is what make a big difference, enhanced your stay.

Come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Address: 66 Lygon Street | corner of Lygon Street and Queensbury Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Carlton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon - Melbourne's reputable, premier midscale hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail lounge and a choice of on-site event facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.