We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good business traveller's hotel in Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Lygon Street | corner of Lygon Street and Queensbury Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Carlton)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #40 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A good business traveller's hotel in Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

A convnenient place for the business traveller to Melbourne. Walking distance to the CBD and right on Lygon Street where lots of restaurants are for entertinment. Rooms are clean and spacious, although promimity to the streets can mean noise from those pesky exhausts on cars/bikes tearing down the streets.
Staff are generally friendly and checking in and out was a breeze. The premises was buildt like a motel but has been refurbished to a higher standard. Parking available for a fee and I had no problem securing a space the period I was there. Internet was also chargeable, speed was tolerable.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor (3rd) but just can't escape from those streetnoise from the souped up exha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear rynwong,

We are a popular business travel hotel and our location makes for easy access to the city and surrounds.

If your company are sending people to Melbourne regularly, please contact us to discuss a corporate rate plan.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    145
    40
    3
    4
See reviews for
54
90
23
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were welcomed with a warm and friendly service from reception who were very helpful. We drove straight into the free car park and unpacked. The motel complex isn't too big, so unpacking the car was easy. The room was bright, fresh and immaculate. The bed was comfortable and so were the amenities. The room was quiet and spacious. It is in a perfect location being on Lygon St, with plenty of restaurants on your doorstep. Trams were handy but we just walked around the city - even down to Southbank. We booked breakfast as we had an early start to the next day. Breakfast was cooked and buffet style in their restaurant. We will be booking Downtowner for our next Melbourne Trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Ninbee,

Thanks for the great feedback and perfect score!

I am pleased you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here recently and it is very handy for the Queen Victoria building. The hotel is good you get what you pay for. The staff are friendly but you have to pay for internet. Breakfast is reasonable but for the price only ok. All up a fair hotel 15 dollars cab ride from federation square.

Room Tip: All rooms seem the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear karen M,

I often enjoy going down to Queen Vic market on the weekend as it is so close. I appreciate your comments regarding our WIFI and breakfast.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is an ok place for one night. It is more a motel than a hotel. We booked a Spa room for three people over the phone and were not advised that the room only had one bed, so we were disappointed to have to get out the sofa bed for our 14 year old son.

However when we complained about it the hotel were good enough to offer us a complimentary breakfast and it was very good with big portions and freshly cooked not the usual buffet you might expect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Chris D,

Thank you for your review and my apologies that we did not explain that our triple rooms included a sofa bed.

We have recently made some changes to our a la carte breakfast and am pleased you and your family were able to enjoy it.

Please come and stay again, and I may suggest either a 2 bedroom apartment or family suite with interconnecting doors as a suitable alternative.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Downtowner over the weekend as a late Valentine's celebration. Staff at reception could have been more friendly, car park while on site had very small spaces so you need to be careful if you have a bigger car. Rooms are basic but clean, the blinds are a nice touch. Very convenient location for what we needed and all that Lygon Street has to offer. Over all it was good but wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Koukli86,

I am sorry to read that despite a good stay overall you do not wish to return.

As you mentioned our location is very convenient and car parking in Melbourne is like gold dust.

I do appreciate the feedback, but hope you reconsider and stay with us again for your next trip.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolli Creek, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

lve been staying at the Downtowner for over 15 years and l love it. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the location is fantastic.
The only downturn this trip was a meal at the hotels restrauant it was very average plus they forgot my entree and also they charged me for the saturday paper which they have never done before. I will stay there again with no hesitation

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Ken D,

I was sorry to hear about the issues on your last stay, but appreciate as a long time client you know this is not our usual standard. Our restaurant has gone through some changes recently and am sure you will enjoy these on your next visit.

Thank you letting me know about your stay.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I only stayed for one night last week. This was a business trip, so all I was looking for was a clean comfortable room, near to restaurants and shops. This is exactly what I got.

The room was clean, with a good bed (two singles). The bathroom had sufficient toiletries provided, and was clean and accomodating. There was plenty of storage for my toiletries and the cupboard was fine for clothes. There was a iron in the room, and a good desk to work on. Most importantly the power outlets were accessible and I did not have to crawl around on the floor trying to find them. As usual in Australia, the internet was a user pay service by a 3rd party provider. I had my own mobile internet, so i did not check pricing.

I had a hire car, and parking was no problem on site. I was there for a Monday night, and the hotel bar was shut. However with that location, there are any number of places to get a drink if you wish. The hotel is surrounded by convenience stores too, so you have easy access to all your needs.

The room was comfortable, though a little traffic noisy at night. But then it is Lygon street in Melbourne, so this was expected.

Check in/out was polite and efficient.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for business travellers. I would not see it as a destination for the family, but it is well located and so probably a good base to explore the area. At $157 for the night it was reasonable, although a bit on the high side for a simple facility like this. But it is in the general price bracket for that area.

Room Tip: No real tip for the hotel, but Souvlaki shop over the road "Lambs", had really good food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Tekweni_Wayne,

Thank you for your detailed and enlightening review.

I am pleased you found us suitable hotel for a business traveler. We have large base of repeat corporate guests who enjoy many of the same things which you highlighted like the car park. We are also in great location for leisure guests with many attractions within a 5 minute stroll and easy access to public transport for those further afield.

Please come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Address: 66 Lygon Street | corner of Lygon Street and Queensbury Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Carlton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon – Melbourne's reputable, premier 4* hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail bar and a choice of on-site function facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.