We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Lygon Street | corner of Lygon Street and Queensbury Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Carlton)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #39 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Always a great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great place to stay in Melbourne being in Lygon ST with the scrumptious variety ( but mainly Italian) restaurants. Friendly knowledgeable service , mainly a clean room but the crucial part of the room is the bathroom shower .. It's a shower over the bath BUT the base was brown and stained and a ring around the bath , I really didn't want to shower in it but I ended up standing on a towel to shower .
Comfy bed, spacious room , mini bar , table with 2 chairs , good menu but too much is on offer with all the other restaurants around.

Don't get me wrong - Great Hotel and value for money and location location location ...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Kyzafletch,

Thank you for you feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that the bathroom was not our usual high standard and I have followed up your comments with our housekeepers to ensure your concerns have been addressed. I am pleased that the rest of your stay was comfortable and my team were friendly.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    151
    40
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
91
25
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night recently and it was so convenient for restaurants around the Chinatown area in Little Bourke Street. We had a king spa room which was clean and all that we needed; on the smallish side but we got a great deal through booking.com so that was fine.
Downside: the room was directly opposite the lifts so it didn't feel particularly private and we could hear people chatting while waiting for the lifts. The spa was in the small bathtub which was explained on the hotel site and perfectly okay but you really need to be careful of the step in and out of the bath - I nearly fell.
Upside: location is ridiculously good for shopping, eating and entertainment. Loved thqt we could open the windows and get fresh air.
Staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: Steer clear of the rooms opposite the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Ally P,

I am pleased you found the hotel well located, and my team pleasant to deal with. I am sorry the noise from people waiting for the lift was disturbing; on your next visit please ask the receptionist to allocate you a room a little further away.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I travelled with a colleague to Melbourne and the Downtowner proved to be an excellent choice: clean, comfy bed, big bathroom with a magnifying make-up mirror- very handy! The TV didn't seem to be operating but it was of no concern to us so didn't contact the front desk. When we arrived the service at the front desk was friendly however the WiFi was not free (:. It is well positioned in Lygon St with a very easy walk to shopping, restaurants etc. We did not use public transport so can't comment re the ease of transport there but we were able to walk to our work conference near Walter & Eliza Hall Institute. Didn't eat breakfast there but rather chose to eat in Lygon St. While I would not stay at the Downtowner if I was looking for a luxurious holiday for a business trip it was very good.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor - I didn't find it very noisy but my colleague did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Jan D,

Many of our regular corporate clients, have very similar feedback, and I am pleased you found us to be a good place to stay whilst on business in Melbourne. For future trips, public transport is easily accessible with trams less than 5 minutes from our door and Melbourne central station only 7 minutes walk away.

On your next stay try our breakfast offering, which can be included in your room rate for reduced price.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent location near CBD and wonderful restaurants. Good facilities and good service. Breakfasts in the dinning room was very good. The room was spacious and well designed, although it is a pity that people walk right past the window and so you need to keep the blinds down. The broadband was expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Graeme N,

Thank you for your comments on our hotel and team. I am pleased you enjoyed our buffet breakfast, and hope that you took up special offer of 33% off for prebooking.

I agree with your point about our WiFi, which whilst has good bandwidth and strong signal is charged by a 3rd party provider- I am looking at options at reducing the cost this with our current supplier.

We do however offer complimentary broadband access in our executive rooms which is unlimited, so please ask my team for an upgrade to one of these rooms.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colac, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Room was clean ..bed fantastic..was ofered up grade for breakfast for $20.00 for the two of us..
when we went to eat...there was pretty much NO food left @ 9.00am. a couple of peices for dry bacon..and scramble eggs othe than ceral ect..all other hot food on the smoragboard was empty..numerouse others walked out....Not even Coffee we were told we would have to wait 10min for a coffee ..(the coffee in room was bitter and not drinkable)..when l went to pay on check out we were charged $20.00 EACH for a breakfast ...grr we then went else where to have some coffee and food. :( l would stay again for the comfort and quietness but not for breakfast..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Donna,

Good afternoon.
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Downtowner on Lygon Hotel whilst in Melbourne.
It was our pleasure to host you however, we are disappointed to hear about your breakfast experience and that the quality of the food was far from our usual high standard.

Our hot buffet breakfast is $30.00 per person however we have a special offer if pre-booked at $20.00 per person, on a Sunday morning service is from 7am-10.00am. I apologize that this was not clearly explained to you.

On you next stay at The Downtowner on Lygon Hotel, I would like to offer two hot breakfasts in the hotel restaurant complimentary and also a complimentary room upgrade, subject to availability. Please contact me directly when you wish to make a reservation.
If I can be of any other assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Warm regards,
Lynne Chepanidis
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have stayed at this motel/hotel on many occasions, approx 8. We book the same time every year as we go on a shopping trip at the outlets in Melbourne. The motel allow us to park our cars when we get there 1st thing in the morning, as we come from the country, and then book in when we get back from our shopping. It is a short stroll, hop skip jump, to Lygon st great food restaurants. And Vic market is just down the road, not far at all. The staff are friendly and polite and are more than willing to help us out if needed. We dont fird it noisy either but we arent there for relaxation or peaceful rest. The bed is a little hard, only bad comment really, Great pricing as well. Laurene.

Room Tip: We have always had the family room, so cant comment on any other rooms or positions. If you have alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Laurene E,

I am really pleased to see you have stayed with us on number of occasions and enjoy doing so.

We look forward to seeing you on your next shopping trip to Melbourne, but hope it will be before Christmas next year...Melbourne is a great place to shop for friends and family birthdays throughout the year too!

Thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I chose this hotels 'romance package' to celebrate our anniversary last week. We had a spa king room which consisted of a king size bed in a small, extremily noisy room with a tiny spa that could barely squeeze in one person comfortably.
The best thing that this hotel has going for it, its location, is also its downfall, as trying to sleep with the constant traffic noise and car horns etc will keep you awake all night.
After a restless night we were very much looking forward to a nice quiet sleep in in the morning - this was ruined when we were woken by housekeeping coming into our room at 8:00 in the morning!
For our $239 we also received champagne & chocolates on arrival & breakfast delivered to the room in the morning. Despite this we left the hotel tired & disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sime159,

I was equally disappointed reading your review, as we obviously got it wrong on this occasion, and I am sorry we did not deliver the level of service to you which we are renowned for.

I am sorry too that you found the room noisy; as you noted the downside to having such a great location in a cosmopolitan part of Melbourne, is that the festivities on Lygon street can be distracting. I have also spoken to my head housekeeper and she joins me in apologising for the disturbance so early the following morning.

You deserve better from us, and I would really like the opportunity to try and address your concerns, and would appreciate it if you could get in touch with me directly to see if there is something we can do on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Address: 66 Lygon Street | corner of Lygon Street and Queensbury Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Carlton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon – Melbourne's reputable, premier 4* hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail bar and a choice of on-site function facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.