We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, quality and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Lygon Street | corner of Lygon Street and Queensbury Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good value, quality and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stay at the Downtowner regularly for work. Location is amazing and so close to all of Lygon Street's fantastic eateries. Rooms are lovely, I enjoy the king size beds! While many of them face onto the road I have no problems here with noise as the rooms are designed in such a way that the bathrooms are closest to the street, therefore if you shut the bathroom door you've got a closed room between you and the street and hey presto, minimal road noise! The bar has great cocktail specials during the week and I've always found the breakfasts to be really nice and good value. Onsite parking also makes this a convenient stay. All staff that I have encountered here have been friendly and courteous. One went well out of her way when I came in one day after making the mistake of walking from Spring St to Lygon St, during which it started bucketing down rain... I should know better, it's Melbourne after all!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Servicewithasmile83,

As a regular client of the hotel, it was good to see your comments and know you enjoying staying with us.

I am also pleased you take advantage of the great deals we do in our cocktail lounge and with the winter menu we launched last week, please try the chefs tasting plate when you next come in for a drink.

If you are planning to step out in our glorious weather, please dont forget to ask one of my team for a complimentary umbrella...

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    202
    63
    6
    6
See reviews for
73
135
37
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at the Downtowner with a friend for a training workshop located in Carlton and was really happy with my decision. The hotel itself is quite quirky as it's obviously an old-school motor inn that has been refurbished and upgraded. The rooms are definitely small, but there was space for a table, new TV, and a generous sized bathroom. Complimentary tea and coffee facilities were available, and while the mini-bar was expensive, it was not unusually extortionate (I think I paid $3.50 for a bottle of water, which actually isn't too crazy in the scheme of things). Our room faced onto Queensbury Street and my friend found that quite noisy - we had to keep the bathroom door closed in order to dampen the noise a little. On the Friday morning a road work crew turned up outside our window and it sounded like they were in the room with us! However, that's really not the hotel's fault. I loved the fact that the room temperature could be controlled individually (rather than just putting up with a central control) so we could warm up the room when we came in from the cold, but then put the heating on low during the evening when we went to sleep. The location is tops b/c the hotel is situated between all the fantastic Lygon St restaurants on one side and the CBD / shopping areas on the other side- everything is in walking distance, which was great for us. We didn't really have much to do with the staff except for check in / check out and also at the bar in the early evening when we stopped in for our pre-dinner champagne- all the staff members were very polite and most were also very friendly. Initially we were attracted to the bar because of the $5 cocktails served between 5pm and 7pm, however, we didn't like the selection so decided on some champagne instead, which was reasonably priced and lovely. Although the Skybus was available, we decided to get a taxi to and from the airport and it wasn't too bad - $43 on the way there and $50 on the way home. All in all a good experience, I would definitely 100% stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear drtuffy,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback, it was a pleasure to read your personal insights, and I am pleased that the overall experience was not detracted from by the road crew last week.

Our location is a great advantage, and having the choice of restaurants, the museum and parks around the top end of the CBD, really makes us a unique place to stay.I also noted you enjoyed our cocktail lounge, and hope on your next stay you try our restaurant - we have just launched on winter menu.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights with our 6 year old son in the King Spa Suite at Downtowner on Lygon on a Sat and Sun night in June 2012. We LOVED it. The parking on site and buffet breakfast were absolutely fantastic. The staff were FABULOUS. The room was great! It was lovely to be able to just walk to restaurants in Lygon Street. Nice and quite too, despite being a long weekend and a Sat and Sun. night. Great people, great service! Will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownerGM, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear RubyRedS0x,

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased you found us a comfortable hotel for your family.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Room clean, large comfy bed, large bathroom/ensuite, friendly helpfull staff (organised a microwave to be brought up to our room on request), great location easy walk to restaurants and cbd, on site car parking, competitive price. Will happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownerGM, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Jen4993,

Thank you for your feeback, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

recently stayed for a couple of nights and had a fabulous time...this hotel is very smartly furnished, large well designed bathroom and even though on a very very busy location was quiet and didn't really hear any traffic through the night.

great bar open to enjoy a cocktail in the evening..

the location is the best asset, easy walk to the city, fantastic restaurants a block away and also great shopping on lygon st..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownerGM, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear cougs01,

I enjoyed reading your review and am pleased you had a good time whilst our guest.

As you said, the bar is a very comfortable venue for a cocktail, and i hope you came in before 7pm and tried one of the $5 cocktails during happy hour. It is also a great place to meet friends before heading off to one the many top restaurants on Lygon Street.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The downtowner is is a great location that is easy to find and easy to get to from the airport. The onsite free parking is a real bonus. Close to shopping and bars/restaurants on Lygon St and only a stones throw to trendy Fitzroy. Maybe not ideal if you are working in the CBD, but great for what we needed it for.

We recently stayed for two nights - we weren't expecting 5* for the price but were pleasantly surprised.

Rooms are basic but very clean and have good TV and spacious bathroom. I found the room a little noisy so request a quiet room if you are sensitive to noise. It didn't bother us too much.

Bed was comfy, which is a real plus compared to most rock-hard hotel beds you get these days.

We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment on that but all-considered I thought it was great value and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownerGM, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Bluenose_Sydney,

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our service and facilities to your liking.

We recently refurbished all our rooms which included the beds and matarasses you mention, and it is regularly commented on how comfortable they are.

I hope on your next visit you try out our restaurant or the cocktail list in the lounge. We are about to launch the winter menu, and I would be interested to hear your thoughts on any of the seasonal dishes.

Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed 3 nights and have stayed there before due to the good location. Sufficiently comfortable, clean and well maintained however disappointed in a couple of aspects. Firstly the wi-fi didn't work and had to have the IT support people involved. Lost a day of staying in touch with business. They have Foxtel but no Foxtel footy! Needless to say unable to watch the sport I love. Minor points but enough to frustrate one's stay. Other than that comfortable, good location, friendly and attentive staff and not expensive. Will I be back? Probably yes but I will be looking at alternatives.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownerGM, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear gmb27,

Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry to hear about the issues during your stay.

We use a 3rd party wi-fi provider, who offer relatively quick service, whilst admittedly rather pricey tend to deliver good value. We are looking at alternaitves to this, and at the very least reducing the cost to our customers.

I am also sorry the sports packages did not cover the footy you were looking for - we have 3 fox sports channels available.

I am pleased that you also found our team friendly and location convenient, and do sincerely hope you continue to stay with us whilst in Melbourne.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Address: 66 Lygon Street | corner of Lygon Street and Queensbury Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon - Melbourne's reputable, premier midscale hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail lounge and a choice of on-site event facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.